Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-08, 06:04 PM   #37
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

iirc my system pulls about 28 FPS at 1920x1200 8xAF with a custom high/very high config in DX9... motion blur, dof are off... this wasnt at max clocks either
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 07:47 PM   #38
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

*snore*........
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-08, 11:48 PM   #39
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
Crysis is crappy coded game...and we wont see a single game running on that engine.

I'm more interested to see how new card runs UT3 engine...
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 04:37 AM   #40
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Post Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Two GTX 280 are enough for Crysis

http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...=7837&Itemid=1

Quote:
At 2560x1600 2X AA


If you are hoping that a single GTX 280 will get you to more than 1920x1200, don't kill the messenger as I have to regrettably disappoint you.

Nvidia claims that a single GTX 280 will be enough for Crysis at 1920x1200 that is a standard resolution for most of the 24 inch LCD's.

If you have 30 inch display that supports 2560x1600 you will need two GTX 280 but again we heavily suspect that you won't be able to play with FSAA 4X enabled.

This would be too much even for two GTX 280 cards. It becomes ridiculous as two of these cards combined have 2.8 billion transistors and they will still not be able to bring Crysis to its knees. The best you can hope at 2560x1600 is 2X FSAA with these two cards.

We’ve had a chance to play Crysis with a single card and we can tell that 1920x1200 FSAA 4X with beta drives bring the card to its knees. Ouch, isn’t it.
As expected, 1 card isn't enough to run it with 4xAA. Bandwidth matters.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 04:42 AM   #41
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Quote:
Originally Posted by walterman View Post
Two GTX 280 are enough for Crysis

http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...=7837&Itemid=1



As expected, 1 card isn't enough to run it with 4xAA. Bandwidth matters.
Are you sure its the bandwidth limitations because hell_of_doom227 says its the crappy coding of the game ..
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 05:29 AM   #42
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
Are you sure its the bandwidth limitations because hell_of_doom227 says its the crappy coding of the game ..
In this game, you need both (shading power & bw), cause the shader programs are very complex (check the shaders.pak file of the game).

It's like, rendering power = bandwidth / (number of shader instructions per fragment (or flops)).

When you raise the AA level, you need to render more fragments, so, you have more accesses to your memory. If you raise the AF level, you need to read more texels from your textures, to filter them, so, you need more TF units & more bandwidth.

You cannot raise only the shading power and expect the performance to be linear with it. If your memory cannot feed properly the data that your GPU needs, it will be stalled & idling till the data is ready.

This monster has almost 3x times the shading power of a G80, but only a 45% higher bandwidth. GDDR3 in this card is a mistake.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 09:41 AM   #43
heatlesssun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 141
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spajdr View Post
Because im in contact with guy who got GTX 280 already, also Radeon 4850
You will see when NDA ends, no point to lie to you or rest of people here.
This is NOT at all what Fudzilla is saying: http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...=7837&Itemid=1
__________________

Main Rig - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM | Intel i7-980x@ 4.13 GHz (25 x 165 BCLK @ 1.365V) | Corsair H50 cooler | ASUS P6X58D Premium| eVGA GeForce GTX 480 2x SLI | Enermax EGX1000EWL Galaxy 1000W | Corsair XMS3 6GB DDR3| 2x WD 1002FBYS 1TB SATA 7200 RPM non-RAID | HP 1270dvd drive | Samsung S203N DVD drive | Lite On DH-4B1S SATA 4x BD Disc Triple Writer | Antec 1200 Full Tower Case | HP w2408h 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor | Westinghouse M2401 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor
heatlesssun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 09:58 AM   #44
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

soo what in hells name is the point of this card then ??

if it can't even play crysis at slightly higher res. than we're used to, what a let down.

there's really no other reason for owning anything more powerful than an 8800
right now.

again, ati looks far more interesting this round.
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-08, 10:30 AM   #45
Destroy
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,994
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Really looking forward to the NDA lift. All these rumor and hearsay gets annoying after a while.

Bring on the benchies!!!
__________________

Vista64 Home Premium
Gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R
CPU E8500 with Corsair H50 cooler
HIS 6970, always 19x10res
Memory 8 Gig OCZ 1000@1024
Display Westinghouse 37" LVM-37w1 LCD monitor
Destroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 11:20 AM   #46
Ambrose
Registered User
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Why do people want to use AA anyway? It doesn't help that much and the trees and foliage still look awful.

Just use EdgeAA for virtually no performace hit and voila, you have great performace AND great FPS. Problem solved.
__________________
<Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case>
<EVGA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard>
<Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz>
<Evga 8800 GTX @ 630/1050>
<OCZ Flex XLC 2GB DDR2 800>
<Samsung 500GB 7200 RPM Sata Hard drive>

3DMark06 score: 12243
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...0&UID=11981243
Windows Vista Ultimate

Avid gamer, dedicated student (most of the time).
Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 11:21 AM   #47
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamingawake View Post
soo what in hells name is the point of this card then ??

if it can't even play crysis at slightly higher res. than we're used to, what a let down.

there's really no other reason for owning anything more powerful than an 8800
right now.

again, ati looks far more interesting this round.
As I said i just don't care about Crysis, played for 10 minutes and i will never play again. I want see these cards against UT3 engine cause every damn game is based on UT3.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-08, 11:25 AM   #48
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default Re: GTX280 CRYSIS 1920*1200 VH Average FPS Reached to 36.81!

Quote:
Originally Posted by heatlesssun View Post
This is NOT at all what Fudzilla is saying: http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?op...=7837&Itemid=1
Fudzilla is about as reliable as some random post on a forum.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.