Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-08, 07:29 PM   #1
Ambrose
Registered User
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 326
Default Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

I did a search but didn't find exactly what I was looking for. I know parallel occlusion mapping (POM) disables AF in game. I tried using the r_usePOM 0 to disable it and get AF working at Very High but this didn't work, and I don't want to drop shaders to High.

Anyone know what other command I need in addition to r_usePOM 0 to get AF to work? Thanks.
__________________
<Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case>
<EVGA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard>
<Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz>
<Evga 8800 GTX @ 630/1050>
<OCZ Flex XLC 2GB DDR2 800>
<Samsung 500GB 7200 RPM Sata Hard drive>

3DMark06 score: 12243
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...0&UID=11981243
Windows Vista Ultimate

Avid gamer, dedicated student (most of the time).
Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-08, 06:38 AM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

I wonder if the GTX280 will be able to run POM with AF ?!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-08, 08:51 AM   #3
Ambrose
Registered User
 
Ambrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
I wonder if the GTX280 will be able to run POM with AF ?!
No, you got my hopes up! I thought I had a reply with an answer.

But, it would be sweet if the POM issue (and, cross our fingers, the TSAA issue) was fixed with the new card.
__________________
<Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case>
<EVGA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard>
<Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.2GHz>
<Evga 8800 GTX @ 630/1050>
<OCZ Flex XLC 2GB DDR2 800>
<Samsung 500GB 7200 RPM Sata Hard drive>

3DMark06 score: 12243
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...0&UID=11981243
Windows Vista Ultimate

Avid gamer, dedicated student (most of the time).
Ambrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-08, 04:13 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Sorry .. i'm concerned about this issue too
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-08, 04:27 AM   #5
evox
:3
 
evox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: India
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Maybe Spoudazo can answer your question? He knows CE2 inside and out.
evox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-08, 10:45 AM   #6
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

I really doubt it's possible because it was done that way by design.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-08, 04:16 PM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Its too bad. The parallax map looks amazing up close but it gets so blurry and nasty looking at a short distance.

I wonder if drivers could ever enable some sort of AF for parallax mapped textures. It seems like it'd eat up a ton of performance.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 01:02 PM   #8
d2thez
Registered User
 
d2thez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 274
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

So let me get this straight, I currently run with everything on Very High except for shadows and particle and at 8x AF and 0AA. Does this mean that I am not getting any AF applied because I run my textures at Very High and this enaples Paralax Mapping?

Should I just turn off AF then?
__________________
Gaming Rig (Project: Sentinel Mark III)


Intel QX9770 @ 3.2Ghz | Thermalright SI-128SE | MSI P35 Neo2-FR (BIOS 1.C) | eVGA GTX 570 SuperClock | OCZ Reaper 4GB PC6400 | eVGA Killer Xeno Pro | Seagate 250GB HDD (OS and Apps) | Western Digital Raptor 36GB HDD (Game Installs) | Sound Blaster X-Fi X-treme Music | Thermaltake Toughpower 700w | Silverstone Raven RV01 | Logitech G5 Rev 2.0 Laser Mouse | Gateway FHD2400 24" LCD
d2thez is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-16-08, 01:27 PM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Quote:
Originally Posted by d2thez View Post
So let me get this straight, I currently run with everything on Very High except for shadows and particle and at 8x AF and 0AA. Does this mean that I am not getting any AF applied because I run my textures at Very High and this enaples Paralax Mapping?

Should I just turn off AF then?
The AF may still work on non-parallax mapped scenery object textures, but for the ground texture it won't do anything. Which sucks, because the parallax mapped textures look amazing up close but turn into a nasty multi-colored mess at a distance.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 02:37 PM   #10
d2thez
Registered User
 
d2thez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 274
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Perhaps that explains then what I have been seeing. The ground textures look beautiful for what is prolly 8-10 feet in front of your character, then it seems to become extremely blurry.

I always thought my AF wasn't working or perhaps Depth of Field was killing it, and I was soon going to look into whether or not DoF can be adjusted.

But instead it is just the by product of no AF working on parallax?
__________________
Gaming Rig (Project: Sentinel Mark III)


Intel QX9770 @ 3.2Ghz | Thermalright SI-128SE | MSI P35 Neo2-FR (BIOS 1.C) | eVGA GTX 570 SuperClock | OCZ Reaper 4GB PC6400 | eVGA Killer Xeno Pro | Seagate 250GB HDD (OS and Apps) | Western Digital Raptor 36GB HDD (Game Installs) | Sound Blaster X-Fi X-treme Music | Thermaltake Toughpower 700w | Silverstone Raven RV01 | Logitech G5 Rev 2.0 Laser Mouse | Gateway FHD2400 24" LCD
d2thez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 05:51 PM   #11
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Its too bad. The parallax map looks amazing up close but it gets so blurry and nasty looking at a short distance.

I wonder if drivers could ever enable some sort of AF for parallax mapped textures. It seems like it'd eat up a ton of performance.
This is the explanation of this issue told by a guy at Crytek:

"We chose to use a certain kind of texture lookup for performance Ė this lookup type does not support Anisotropic texture filtering. In most cases this should not be that much visible. We will discuss this here and maybe for a patch we consider to improve this for high quality settings. We just need to make sure we donít loose too much performance and at the same time we cannot afford too many shader variations on this"

Maybe we'll see this problem solved in Warhead, maybe in a future patch, maybe never...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-08, 08:01 PM   #12
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Getting Anistropic Filtering to Work with Very High

Bah... they aren't making any more patches for this game, so I guess we're stuck with it.

Too bad.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiseat X with two cards: used to work, now segfaulting Artefact2 NVIDIA Linux 10 06-26-12 05:22 PM
Video: High Schoolers Build Supercomputer in Ontario News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 12:10 PM
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 02:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.