Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-03, 02:03 PM   #1
Bman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 40
Default How do I BOOT a ms dos boot disc?

How do I BOOT a ms dos boot disc? for windows ME
Bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-03, 02:05 PM   #2
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default Re: How do I BOOT a ms dos boot disc?

Quote:
Originally posted by Bman
How do I BOOT a ms dos boot disc? for windows ME
Put it in the floppy drive, make sure your "Seek floppy on boot" is enabled in your bios, and "badda-bing, badda-boom" you reboot and it should boot up on the floppy.

(DH too slow for ya? )
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-03, 02:06 PM   #3
Bman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 40
Default how do I seek floppy in my bios?

how do I seek floppy in my bios?
Bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-03, 02:12 PM   #4
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default Re: how do I seek floppy in my bios?

Quote:
Originally posted by Bman
how do I seek floppy in my bios?
Either look in your bios under "boot options" or "general options"
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-03, 02:14 PM   #5
Bman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 40
Default ??

how do I get to my bios in windows?
Bman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-03, 02:48 PM   #6
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 412
Default

digitalwanderer, that's not the option! That floppy seek only reads from the floppy/ies while in the POST, but has nothing to do with where to boot from.
The option varies from mobo to mobo, usually it's an option called "boot order" or something like that, where you choose "C, A", "A, C", "CDROM, C", and so on. So the option chosen should be anyone starting with "A". Other mobos have a list of usually 4 boot devices, and you choose their boot order.
ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-03, 08:23 PM   #7
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

When the comp starts up, hit del on the screen where it runs a mem check and detects your IDE devices. It should take you to your BIOS. Look through the menus (should be one on the left side) and find something called boot sequence. Make sure that A: Floppy is the first, and then just restart with the disk in.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-03, 04:17 AM   #8
eL_PuSHeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Motril, Granada, SPAIN
Posts: 278
Lightbulb

Sometimes is called First Boot Device, Second Boot Device and so on.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
ASUS A7V333
1GB 266Mhz DDR SDRAM
Creative GeForce4 Ti4200
Integrated CMI8738 audio

Last edited by eL_PuSHeR; 08-03-03 at 04:21 AM.
eL_PuSHeR is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora could seek Microsoft code signing to contend with secure boot News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 04:10 PM
Nvidia driver stopped working after X restart and Kernel taint msgs during boot mikejuni NVIDIA Linux 10 05-21-12 08:30 PM
Install MDK9.0 on Asus a7n266-vm succeds but won't boot fierywizard NVIDIA Linux 2 10-06-02 05:53 PM
NTFS DOS boot disk Kruno Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 5 09-22-02 04:24 AM
Need a truly DOS compatible sound card. Switch General Hardware 11 09-06-02 10:35 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.