Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-08, 10:19 PM   #1
Igor01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Replaced my 8800 GTX with a 280 - no go. The CPU fan and the case fans won't even spin when both the 6-pin and the 8-pin connectors are plugged into the 280. Wattage should be no problem - my power supply is a Seasonic S12 600 Watts, the CPU is a E6600 @3.4, only 2x1GB RAM at default voltage, 4x harddrives and a DVD burner. From my research, the PSU should have no trouble driving such and even higher system (never had any problems while running the computer with the 8800 GTX).

The funny thing is that when I tried to boot up without the 8-pin connector plugged in (just for ****z and giggles), the CPU and the case fans come to life, but of course the system never fully boots, so I suspect either the 8-pin EPS is not working properly. Or the 280 could be DOA.

Any thoughts/suggestions/insights would be appreciated.
__________________
My Heatware
My "almost silent" PC
Antec P180 Black case | Intel E6600 @3.4 | ASUS P5W DH | 2x1GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 XTC
NVIDIA GTX 280 | Dell 30" LCD | 7.something TB storage
Creative X-Fi | Klipsch Pro-Media 4.1 speakers
Igor01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 10:26 PM   #2
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

I'd recommend trying to boot up with the 280 plugged in but unplug 3 of the 4 hard drives and anything else you can spare. If it boots up with all nonessential peripherals then you have a pretty good idea that your PSU just isn't up to the task.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 10:31 PM   #3
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Get a new PSU -- one that is up to the challenge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 10:34 PM   #4
Igor01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady View Post
I'd recommend trying to boot up with the 280 plugged in but unplug 3 of the 4 hard drives and anything else you can spare. If it boots up with all nonessential peripherals then you have a pretty good idea that your PSU just isn't up to the task.
Thanks, I've already tried that. As well as underclocking the CPU back to stock 2.6. No difference whatsoever. Can just the EPS 8-pin line go bad? All the other connectors seem to be pumping juice just fine.

Assuming I need a new PSU, what should I get considering the fact that I likely need 700+ Watt output, plenty of connectors with decent length cables, and last but not least - very low noise?
__________________
My Heatware
My "almost silent" PC
Antec P180 Black case | Intel E6600 @3.4 | ASUS P5W DH | 2x1GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 XTC
NVIDIA GTX 280 | Dell 30" LCD | 7.something TB storage
Creative X-Fi | Klipsch Pro-Media 4.1 speakers
Igor01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 11:04 PM   #5
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

failure rate on the 280s seems to be quite high.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 11:46 PM   #6
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Man, the EPS 8-Pin cable is for the motherboard if it needs it. Video cards need a different 8-pin cable... You probably killed the card too...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 06:22 AM   #7
Igor01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Man, the EPS 8-Pin cable is for the motherboard if it needs it. Video cards need a different 8-pin cable... You probably killed the card too...
Could you elaborate please? What kind of other 8-pin EPS cable is needed? My PSU is 2 years old Seasonic S12 600 Watt. Which PSU should I get that has the right connector?
__________________
My Heatware
My "almost silent" PC
Antec P180 Black case | Intel E6600 @3.4 | ASUS P5W DH | 2x1GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 XTC
NVIDIA GTX 280 | Dell 30" LCD | 7.something TB storage
Creative X-Fi | Klipsch Pro-Media 4.1 speakers
Igor01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 06:30 AM   #8
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

There are 2 types of 8-pin cables AFAIK. One is for certain motherboards and the other is for newer video cards. Only recently have PSUs started to carry the PCIe 8-Pin connector. So I guess that since you got your PSU 2 years ago, it doesn't have the correct connector...

http://www.theinquirer.net/en/inquir...nector-updated

The left 8-Pin is the motherboard one, the right one is the graphics card one.


You need a PSU that says "Pci Express 8-Pin" or "6+2 Pin" on the specs...


This is the newer M12II PSU
http://www.seasonicusa.com/M12II.htm

Notice at the wires the 6+2 Connector.

Your PSU only has the 6P connector, and the normal EPS 8P which is not for video cards...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-08, 07:13 AM   #9
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Lets hope your Video card is ok.

Shouldn't there be a 8-6 pin convector thing on the gpus? Or do you have to have a psu with a 8pin or 6+2?...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 07:16 AM   #10
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

There should be a converter inside, you need at least 2 6P connectors, some Psus only have one...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 08:24 AM   #11
Igor01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
There should be a converter inside, you need at least 2 6P connectors, some Psus only have one...
Thanks alot, I had no idea there are different 8-pin connectors. What is this converter you speak of, does it convert a 6-pin connector into a proper 8-pin PCI-e connector, or does it convert two 6-pin connectors into one 8-pin PCI-e? My PSU has two 6-pins and one 8-pin motherboard connector (the one I mistook for a PCI-e connector). And when you say "there should be a converter inside", what do you mean, the video card or the PSU? I didn't see it in either of the boxes. Or can be it be purchase separately?

Many thanks for your help guys.
__________________
My Heatware
My "almost silent" PC
Antec P180 Black case | Intel E6600 @3.4 | ASUS P5W DH | 2x1GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 XTC
NVIDIA GTX 280 | Dell 30" LCD | 7.something TB storage
Creative X-Fi | Klipsch Pro-Media 4.1 speakers
Igor01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 08:42 AM   #12
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Computer won't boot up with GTX 280

My BFG had one, Asus has one, Sparkle, Gigabyte. XFX doesn't include one, nor does MSI I think. Don't know about eVGA, they didn't offer one with the 9800GX2.

You can buy either type. There's 2. One is 2x6P into 1x8P and the other is a 6P -> 8P. If you get the 2x6P -> 8P, you'll need another converter for 2x4P -> 6P!
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 01:15 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.