Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-08, 10:01 PM   #13
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Prime View Post
Its it in an oven? Its not a cake you know.
lol

I blame global warming
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-08, 11:15 PM   #14
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
That sounds high Shocky. Has anyone else reported such high temps?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=114925

Overheating cards, dead cards... You call it...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 07:24 AM   #15
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

same as shocky..

idle 45c

load 105c (throttles at that)

case is at about 26c
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 07:48 AM   #16
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

I think it's safe to say that cards reaching 115C within seconds have something faulty. No matter how terrible the cooling, a card needs some time to reach 115c. 115c can be explained by a. a faulty sensor or b.bad heatsink contact or c.faulty GPU. I don't think the problem lies with software because the sensor is in the chip itself and the fan controlling/temp monitoring/throttling happens within the chip. All that software does is report the sensor readings. Throttling and all that stuff happens on the hardware level...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 07:54 AM   #17
DHP
Graph-X-Freak
 
DHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 347
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

My cards are 85C max. Depends on the game. In Grid they are 75C, in Crysis 85.
__________________
Lian Li PC-A71A | ASUS P6T Deluxe | Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz 1,25V | Thermalright Ultra 120 + Scythe S-Flex 1200
HD5870 1GB Crossfire | 3 x 2GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
2x Intel X25M 80GB @ RAID0 | 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB RAID0 | 1 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB | 1x Western Digital Caviar GP 1TB
Cooler Master Real Power M1000 | Samsung 245B 24" Widescreen LCD
DHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 08:32 AM   #18
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

My card is running idle at 42 and under load in Crysis it hit 73. Fan is default... I do have two standard case fans in the front pulling in air and it happens that they both blow right over the card. I think this helps...
__________________
MSI P67GD55
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz 1.35v, 1.40v full load
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Gigabyte 580 @945/2232
4 Gigs Ripjaw @ 1600
Antec (a good one) 650w
A Partridge in a pear tree.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 08:33 AM   #19
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
I think it's safe to say that cards reaching 115C within seconds have something faulty. No matter how terrible the cooling, a card needs some time to reach 115c. 115c can be explained by a. a faulty sensor or b.bad heatsink contact or c.faulty GPU. I don't think the problem lies with software because the sensor is in the chip itself and the fan controlling/temp monitoring/throttling happens within the chip. All that software does is report the sensor readings. Throttling and all that stuff happens on the hardware level...
yes I suspect my sensor is faulty really..
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 10:16 AM   #20
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

In games anywhere from 60c to 75c , under furry donut stress test up to 95c , i made small modification to the case to create wind tunnel effect and temps dropped by 10c , so yeah they don't like hot air sitting around
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-20-08, 10:56 AM   #21
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Strange today the load temp is only 83C in crysis and i've changed nothing, so any ideas what causing jumps too 105C? I don't see how it's the cooler as you can hear it working, it's damn loud when it hits 105C
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 11:01 AM   #22
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shocky View Post
Strange today the load temp is only 83C in crysis and i've changed nothing, so any ideas what causing jumps too 105C? I don't see how it's the cooler as you can hear it working, it's damn loud when it hits 105C
It's probably a bug with the sensor. But... can it be fixed? Will all cards suffer from it from time to time? Is it something that can be fixed with a simple bios flash or we'd have to RMA all cards suffering from it? Also, since this happens randomly for some people, it looks like it can pass through QA... I mean if you RMA the card and it shows no problem when say BFG test it... Or they test the new card and it doesn't happen but happens to you when you plug it in at home... The plot thickens!
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 11:07 AM   #23
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
It's probably a bug with the sensor. But... can it be fixed? Will all cards suffer from it from time to time? Is it something that can be fixed with a simple bios flash or we'd have to RMA all cards suffering from it? Also, since this happens randomly for some people, it looks like it can pass through QA... I mean if you RMA the card and it shows no problem when say BFG test it... Or they test the new card and it doesn't happen but happens to you when you plug it in at home... The plot thickens!
I'm not sure about that, Crysis when at 105C stuttered quite a bit, I can't imagine it doing that just with a false readings and increased fanspeed.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-08, 11:11 AM   #24
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: GeForce GTX 280 owners: What are your core temps under load?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shocky View Post
I'm not sure about that, Crysis when at 105C stuttered quite a bit, I can't imagine it doing that just with a false readings and increased fanspeed.
The card could have been throttling, but not because it was really overheating but from what a faulty sensor was reporting...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
MSI GeForce GTX 670 Reference and OC Edition Compared ' Overclocked Variants based News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.