Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-08, 11:16 PM   #97
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Jakup, sorry to hijack your thread, but your PM box is full...

Quote:
Hey Jacob. I would like some help please. I was having some problems with my GTX 280 so I had to send it back. Thing is, they might not replace it under warranty because I changed the TIM on the card... Anyway... I might have to order another card and I'm thinking about going with eVGA this time...

But, since I order from abroad, it's very difficult for me to exchange the card if it's faulty, and with this temperature bug going around, I'm thinking that I could order a pre-overclocked card that has been thoroughly tested, not so much for the overclocking but for working as it should.

So, what tests do the Supeclocked cards undergo before they're set at the higher speed? My only option is the plain SC card so I'm not so sure. I would prefer the SSC model which is likely to have received more testing than the SC models (which I guess don't receive much testing due to the small increase in clocks. My BFG was the OC model, which was probably never tested at the increased speeds, as they would have found the problem, most likely because the increases were very small)...

Thanks for your time,
Tony.
Thanks mate...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-08, 02:37 PM   #98
tdream
Registered User
 
tdream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 44
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Jakup, nice setup!

Do you have any stuttering/jerkiness?
tdream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-08, 04:00 PM   #99
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdream View Post
Jakup, nice setup!

Do you have any stuttering/jerkiness?
He'd never admit to it if he did. He "loved his" quad SLI and everyone that used even a single GX2 had micro stutter issues. As with any SLI / CF the frames can be rendered slightly off causing this micro stutter (google it there are many articles on it). It exists in all multi GPU setups.

So, yes, I'm sure it's there. But as an EVGA employee and Nvidia pimp he'd never admit it.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-08, 07:03 PM   #100
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
He'd never admit to it if he did. He "loved his" quad SLI and everyone that used even a single GX2 had micro stutter issues. As with any SLI / CF the frames can be rendered slightly off causing this micro stutter (google it there are many articles on it). It exists in all multi GPU setups.

So, yes, I'm sure it's there. But as an EVGA employee and Nvidia pimp he'd never admit it.
Thats true unfortunately , but whatcha gonna do ? business is business!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 12:57 PM   #101
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
He'd never admit to it if he did. He "loved his" quad SLI and everyone that used even a single GX2 had micro stutter issues. As with any SLI / CF the frames can be rendered slightly off causing this micro stutter (google it there are many articles on it). It exists in all multi GPU setups.

So, yes, I'm sure it's there. But as an EVGA employee and Nvidia pimp he'd never admit it.

I admitted to microstuttering on GX2, that is why I like this setup so much more.

Quad SLI was fast, but only with lower AA/AF, and some games didn't stutter at all for me.

For example, Crysis and WiC were pretty stuttery, but COD4 and AC didn't stutter much at all. If there is stuttering with 3x GTX 280's, I don't see it.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 01:00 PM   #102
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Jakup, sorry to hijack your thread, but your PM box is full...



Thanks mate...
Yes the OC models go through more strict QA, so you should be fine with any of them.

Truth is, they are all tested, but the OC models go through another layer of testing, especially the SSC and FTW models
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 01:18 PM   #103
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

I just want the card that I receive to be in working condition. Don't really care about pre-overclocked cards, it's just that I want something that received a bit of testing before it went in the box for sale, thus reducing the chances of me receiving another dud...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-08, 11:37 PM   #104
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Jakup have you actually thought of investing in a 30 inch monitor to give those cards a proper workout and get a bit of value for money? Rigs like yours deserve to have their games played at 2560 x 1600 which is the best.
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-08, 07:02 AM   #105
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

jAkUp, are you using the GPU benchmark .bat to bench Crysis? You posted these scores and I just want to be sure I'm testing under the same conditions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Crysis 1280x1024, Single Card, VH settings + 4xAA
25.29FPS
With my single 8800GTX I'm getting the following:

Vista x64, x64 exe, 1280x1024, DX10, VH +4xAA
19.05FPS

The 280 is performing 33% better than my 8800GTX under those conditions assuming we're using the same test.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-08, 06:43 AM   #106
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp View Post
I admitted to microstuttering on GX2, that is why I like this setup so much more.

Quad SLI was fast, but only with lower AA/AF, and some games didn't stutter at all for me.

For example, Crysis and WiC were pretty stuttery, but COD4 and AC didn't stutter much at all. If there is stuttering with 3x GTX 280's, I don't see it.
jAkUp you dont get any micro-stuttering due to the fact that 3xGTX280's can play any game out there smoothly including Crysis & WiC. (duh!)
CoD4 & AC OTOH are not that heavy for the GX2 setup.

i believe thats why.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-08, 08:10 AM   #107
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
jAkUp you dont get any micro-stuttering due to the fact that 3xGTX280's can play any game out there smoothly including Crysis & WiC. (duh!)
CoD4 & AC OTOH are not that heavy for the GX2 setup.

i believe thats why.
That's also why I knew I'd never downgrade from a 8800GTX to a card that only has 512MB memory

1GB texture memory FTW!!
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-08, 10:36 PM   #108
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: EVGA GTX 280

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64 View Post
jAkUp you dont get any micro-stuttering due to the fact that 3xGTX280's can play any game out there smoothly including Crysis & WiC. (duh!)
CoD4 & AC OTOH are not that heavy for the GX2 setup.

i believe thats why.
Yup, I think mainly texture hungry games.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 12:15 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.