Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-08, 03:53 AM   #1
Mikit0707
Registered User
 
Mikit0707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 17
Question PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

Hi everyone (hope I'm posting this thread in the correct section.... sorry if I'm not)

I have an LGL245WP monitor (HDMI X 1; VGA X 1; Component X 1). I'm trying to connect my PS3 and PC using the single HDMI input on my monitor. So I recently got Belkin PureAV 3 port HDMI switcher. It recognises the PS3 with no problem but puts the monitor into standby when I switch to PC (PC is using a DVI to HDMI cable; I have an 8800gtx in the PC; latest drivers, Vista Ultimate).

What I know so far is: at first it wouldn't sync the PC because my desktop was in 1920X1200 60Hrz refresh. So I dropped it to 1920X1080 at 50 Hrz and it synced... I happily switched between PC and PS3 no problems. Then I turned off my PC and the sync issue happened again. Upon plugging my PC directly into my monitor I saw that my graphics settings hadn't changed (still 1920X1080 at 50hrz) but the switcher wasn't picking it up until I swapped all the plugs around with everything on.

Any suggestions? Please help because owning an HDMI switcher is pointless if I still have to plug and unplug frikking cables to get it to sync. So POed right now.

THANKS!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850; 2 gigs DDR 2 800; Geforce 8800GTX; Audigy 2 ZS; 24" LG L245WP-BN; Xbox 360 Playstation 3
Mikit0707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-08, 01:25 PM   #2
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

Sounds like an issue with the switcher. I have one myself (though not by Belkin, just some no-name brand switcher from partsexpress.com), and I have my 360, PS3 and HD DVD player connected to it (3 to 1 automatic switch). Haven't tried 1080p signals on it yet though , but it claims to take 1080p 60hz and other stuff.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-08, 06:06 AM   #3
Mikit0707
Registered User
 
Mikit0707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 17
Default Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

Hmmmmm.... I think you may be right. It was working fine last night and I noticed the picture disappear when I accidentally bumped the switch; a jiggle of the cable brought it back. So either my cable or switch is faulty. Bugger.

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850; 2 gigs DDR 2 800; Geforce 8800GTX; Audigy 2 ZS; 24" LG L245WP-BN; Xbox 360 Playstation 3
Mikit0707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-08, 06:16 AM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

Probably the switch. I had the same sort of issues with a cheap HMDI switcher and my TV using it with my PS3, STB and PC. In the end I ditched the switcher and haven't had an issue since.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-08, 09:29 AM   #5
Libertysyclone
I Lie about MPG
 
Libertysyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 531
Send a message via MSN to Libertysyclone
Default Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Thats what I use and it works just fine with my 2407 Dell
__________________
System=
Q6600@3.8Ghz/ EVGA 790i Ultra/ EVGA 9800GX2/ and some H20
Libertysyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-08, 07:23 AM   #6
Mikit0707
Registered User
 
Mikit0707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 17
Default Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

Thanks for the advice on alternative switchers.... but unfortunately I live in South Africa and anything with an HDMI port is relatively new on the scene here. I had to import this switch from the UK so guess I'm not going to be swapping it out anytime soon. Oh well.

Thanks again.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850; 2 gigs DDR 2 800; Geforce 8800GTX; Audigy 2 ZS; 24" LG L245WP-BN; Xbox 360 Playstation 3
Mikit0707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-08, 09:08 AM   #7
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: PC + PS3 + HDMI Switcher = WTF? (ie Help me)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikit0707 View Post
Thanks for the advice on alternative switchers.... but unfortunately I live in South Africa and anything with an HDMI port is relatively new on the scene here. I had to import this switch from the UK so guess I'm not going to be swapping it out anytime soon. Oh well.

Thanks again.
Maybe the cable going out from the switcher to your TV or whatever you use (monitor) is faulty. Try using a different cable.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
How do I play PS3 on my Sony Vaio while using HDMI cable? AbbieJohnson Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 05:04 AM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
HDMI audio ELD weirdness RockHound NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 03:45 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.