Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-08, 05:16 PM   #1
Chu-Dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Default Same Old Story

Hello folks.
Years have gone by now and I am still suffering from the snap crackle and pop that SLI brings to my 3d gaming. I gone through many iterations of chip sets and graphics cards from NVidia.
The equation for me since SLI and the X-FI has been introduced has gone like this:
Sli Nforce Chipset + 2x Top End Nvidia Cards in SLI + Creative X-FI = HORRIBLE SOUND.
Under heaving 3d gaming, the sound crackles to no end.
The "fix" I can use really sucks when you shell out the dough for a system like this:
Disable SLI.
Disabling SLI, of course renders the second card in the case useless, but also lets the Creative X-FI card sound great and crystal clear.
Even light 3d games like WoW gets the snappy crackly treatment with SLI enabled. Forget about World in Conflict or Crysis.
Man is there no official fix to this? I want fast graphics and good sound, I cant seem to get both no matter how much money I throw at it.

So before folks let me know the usual "fixes", heres a run down on parts and what I've done:
-790i Ultra from EVGA (Latest BIOS, Latest Chipset Drivers)
-2x EVGA GTX 280 in SLI (Latest drivers)
-X-FI Elite Pro (Latest non-beta Drivers)
-Power Supply is Silverstone 1Kw
-OS is fresh Vista 64 install (fully updated)
-Memory is 4gb Corsair DDR3 1600 (fully tested with Memtest)
-CPU is QX9650 mildly overcloked to to 3.5 stable

Im sure my system is very similar to many other readers here.
If there is a fix out there that does not involve Disabling SLI via the driver, I will be forever gracious.
- Chris
__________________
Intel QX9650 (3.5)-
Evga 790i
-dual Evga GTX280-
X-Fi Platinum-Silverstone Strider 1KW PSU-4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 C7-
Silverstone TJ09 (black)
Chu-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-08, 06:12 PM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Same Old Story

There is a quick fix ... gimme one of those 280's & you're done!


seriously though this is the first time i hear about this issue.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-08, 06:22 PM   #3
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Same Old Story

Try switching from gaming mode to creation mode or entertainment mode. Also, if you have the crystallizer on, try turning that down or even off.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-08, 06:55 PM   #4
Chu-Dog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 45
Default Re: Same Old Story

thanks for the quick response. the crystallizer fix doesnt work tho.
__________________
Intel QX9650 (3.5)-
Evga 790i
-dual Evga GTX280-
X-Fi Platinum-Silverstone Strider 1KW PSU-4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 C7-
Silverstone TJ09 (black)
Chu-Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-08, 08:11 PM   #5
XMAN52373
Registered User
 
XMAN52373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 534
Default Re: Same Old Story

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chu-Dog View Post
thanks for the quick response. the crystallizer fix doesnt work tho.
Some guy named Dave something or other fix the X-Fi drivers better than creative could ever hope to. So good in fact, his rehashed X-Fi drivers fix and reenable more than creative has "been" able to do since they released the card. piratebay.org has them available for download but ferget the name of the files.
__________________
C2Q6600@3.3
ASUS GTX570
eVGA 780i SLi AR
8GB DDR2 PC8500
Windows 7 U x64
XMAN52373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-08, 12:43 AM   #6
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,958
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Same Old Story

I use to bitch alot about this and now its good and i use 2 top end 280's and Xfi Platium Fatility and 8 gigs of ram and no pops but i went to an Intel chipset and i still use the 790 and 590 but i have asus cards in those that sound better anyway.

Its something to do with how the pci bus handles latencies and its more in the timings in the drivers that Creative is so stupid to fix but pci has devices that do things in realtime and there are timings and latencies that nned to be addressed in order to fix thin and yea some people had thing with older intel chipsets but those who use x38 and newer should be fine.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 02:20 AM
Tweakmonster Shim Contest pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 47 11-19-02 03:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.