Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-08, 11:48 PM   #25
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Hmm... I think I see what you're getting at. Not a bad idea. You gonna' be selling your big speakers then?
If I do, it might probably be pick up only. These things are like 4.5' tall.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
If you're building an HTPC I recommend getting a board using the Geforce 8200 chipset with hybrid power.

It'll disable your video card and use the onboard when you don't need the extra processing power. It'll make the system much quieter, cooler and energy efficient.

The 780G chipset looks fantastic and probably out performs the 8200 in gaming, but the 8200 hybrid power feature is impossible to beat if you're putting together an HTPC with a separate graphics card.

If I build an HTPC any time soon I'm probably going to use one of these.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128340
Is there a difference between using integrated graphics and a GPU for an HTPC?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 11:54 PM   #26
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
If I do, it might probably be pick up only. These things are like 4.5' tall.
Even if I paid for the shipping? *nudge, nudge*
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 12:02 AM   #27
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Even if I paid for the shipping? *nudge, nudge*
I'll have to see what's up. My mom bought it, I can probably convince her to let me sell the whole setup.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 12:06 AM   #28
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
I'll have to see what's up. My mom bought it, I can probably convince her to let me sell the whole setup.
Hmm... I really only need the two speakers... but I could find a use for the whole unit I'm sure.

Just let me know.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 12:17 AM   #29
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
If I do, it might probably be pick up only. These things are like 4.5' tall.



Is there a difference between using integrated graphics and a GPU for an HTPC?
As far as I know, the 8200 can do anything a separate graphics card can do as far as multimedia. They aren't as fast in gaming, but if you are using a graphics card, the integrated chip won't be used.

Basically, you plug your monitor into the motherboard rather than the graphics card and when you aren't doing anything too graphics-heavy it'll just use the onboard graphics. When you load up a game or something it'll turn on the card and you'll get better performance. In fact, you can have it use hybrid SLI to use the intergrated along with your dedicated card, but I don't think that really helps much at this point. Maybe drivers will improve this later on.

If you don't plan on doing any serious gaming on your HTPC, you don't really need a dedicated card and the 780G is probably better since it is faster than the 8200, but if there is any chance that you'll upgrade your HTPC with an nvidia graphics card in the future, I think it'll be worth it to save all that power, heat and noise with the 8200.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 01:25 AM   #30
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
As far as I know, the 8200 can do anything a separate graphics card can do as far as multimedia. They aren't as fast in gaming, but if you are using a graphics card, the integrated chip won't be used.

Basically, you plug your monitor into the motherboard rather than the graphics card and when you aren't doing anything too graphics-heavy it'll just use the onboard graphics. When you load up a game or something it'll turn on the card and you'll get better performance. In fact, you can have it use hybrid SLI to use the intergrated along with your dedicated card, but I don't think that really helps much at this point. Maybe drivers will improve this later on.

If you don't plan on doing any serious gaming on your HTPC, you don't really need a dedicated card and the 780G is probably better since it is faster than the 8200, but if there is any chance that you'll upgrade your HTPC with an nvidia graphics card in the future, I think it'll be worth it to save all that power, heat and noise with the 8200.
I read a review and a comparison of the 8200 and the 780G and the 82's power consumption is extremely low, but about 4-8 watts lower than the 780G. I won't do any serious gaming or any gaming at all on the HTPC. Although, I don't know what OS to use for the HTPC. I have a bunch of Ubuntu CD's I've been meaning to try .
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 03:04 AM   #31
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Would be difficult running the Z5500s into a CD/DVD changer, Tape deck, and PS3 all simultaneously I'd imagine. Unless the Z5500s have multiple component hook-ups like a reciever would.

Otherwise, I'd agree.
Not difficult. Cheap digital switchers are around, becuase it's digital you don't need to spend a lot due to the nature of digital.

5500Zs have 1 optical and on co-ax plus upto 3 analogue devices or 1 5.1 channel analogue source.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 12:09 PM   #32
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

I'll get the Z-5500's as a temporary solution, then. .

Redeemed, I'll keep you posted on the speakers.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-01-08, 12:38 PM   #33
BronzeGod
Kanye West is emo
 
BronzeGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,099
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zapablast05 View Post
Thread title: "I'm a noob at HT Audio"

BronzeFAIL.


.

Do you use Z-5500 speakers via optical?
I use it via analog for positional audio, since it's for my games and i love being accused of hacking for walling someone in Counter-Strike because I heard their footsteps. But I have hooked up a PS3 to it via optical, and it was simply amazing. I gotta upgrade to a DDL soundcard with optical though.

I recommend an Auzentech X-Fi, if you are looking into making an HTPC. Pair that with a Z-5500 via optical and you'll never leave your house.
__________________
>>>>In MikeC We Trust<<<<
BronzeGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 12:45 PM   #34
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by BronzeGod View Post
I use it via analog for positional audio, since it's for my games and i love being accused of hacking for walling someone in Counter-Strike because I heard their footsteps. But I have hooked up a PS3 to it via optical, and it was simply amazing. I gotta upgrade to a DDL soundcard with optical though.

I recommend an Auzentech X-Fi, if you are looking into making an HTPC. Pair that with a Z-5500 via optical and you'll never leave your house.
But since the motherboard of the HTPC has an HDMI output, is there a need for a PCI sound card? I was thinking about getting the AuzenTech Xplosion. What's better though, the C-Media CMI8770 chipset or the X-Fi chipset?
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 01:05 PM   #35
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

For gaming, the X-Fi will give you more features in games that support OpenAL and EAX. For an HTPC though, the CMI8770 is probably better since it has DDL and DTS Connect support. Also, the onboard HDMI is pretty much a requirement if you're going to be using any new home theater equipment.

If you aren't going to be doing much or any gaming, just stick with onboard everything. You shouldn't need any cards for a PC these days unless you're gaming.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 01:17 PM   #36
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: I'm a noob at HT Audio

The HTPC will experience no gaming at all, just HTPC. So will the CMI8770 will be good or will it be better to stick to onboard? Afterall, it's just for media. If using a sound card doesn't make a difference, I could just use that money to buy XPMC.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT: audio on TV with a DVI(PC) to HDMI(TV) cable? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 0 06-23-12 07:58 AM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
No HDMI audio on 302.07 fldc NVIDIA Linux 5 06-01-12 04:46 PM
nForce Audio pergamon NVIDIA Linux 6 12-25-02 11:38 PM
Bohooo HELP, new Nforce 1.13 Audio Utilities won INITIALIZE nanyangview CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-04-02 07:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.