Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-08, 12:12 PM   #1
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default SLI clock speeds

I am a bit puzzled - Got my RMA back from BFG so now I have 2 GTX280 and an EVGA 750i FTW motherboard. I am powering the system with a Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W, which has 8pin and 6pin connectors on different rails for each of the graphics cards.

I have done a fresh install of Vista64 and am using nvidia driver 177.41 - I am using rivatuner to monitor clock speeds of the graphics cards.

If I run in single card mode (with either card - i swapped em around) the card runs at the full 3d clock speed in games..

If I put the system in SLI mode and start a game, the clocks jump up to the full (600Mhz+) level when the game starts.. but after about 20 sec (it is always a similar length of time) the clocks are reduced to low power 3d mode (ie 400mhz). The cards are running at 70c or so.

I tried unplugging as many powered devices as I could and it made no difference. I tried reinstalling driver/rivatuner/nforce driver - I tried using 177.39 driver. I updated to the (beta) F bios. I put my system back to standard clocks - I tried less/more voltage to northbridge. I am stuck....

anyone have an idea? :/
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 12:23 PM   #2
spajdr
Registered User
 
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 347
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

How did you know it switching? game slowdown? you running game in windowed mode?
__________________
ASUS Rampage II GENE + Intel i7-920 @ 3.8 GHz + Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
6GB RAM OCZ Intel Extreme XMP 1600MHz / Gainward Geforce GTX470 SLI
1x30GB SSD OCZ Vertex Turbo (system) / 2x30GB SSD OCZ Vertex RAID 0 (games)
23.6" Acer GD245HQBID + 3D Vision / PSU Nexus RX-8500 850W / Asus OC STATION
spajdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 12:46 PM   #3
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

I can see the clockspeeds on my G15 keyboard - and yes, the games slow down..
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 12:58 PM   #4
heatlesssun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 141
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by pingu2 View Post
I can see the clockspeeds on my G15 keyboard - and yes, the games slow down..
What app are us using for the G15 to do this if I may ask cause I'd like to try it out? Thanks!
__________________

Main Rig - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM | Intel i7-980x@ 4.13 GHz (25 x 165 BCLK @ 1.365V) | Corsair H50 cooler | ASUS P6X58D Premium| eVGA GeForce GTX 480 2x SLI | Enermax EGX1000EWL Galaxy 1000W | Corsair XMS3 6GB DDR3| 2x WD 1002FBYS 1TB SATA 7200 RPM non-RAID | HP 1270dvd drive | Samsung S203N DVD drive | Lite On DH-4B1S SATA 4x BD Disc Triple Writer | Antec 1200 Full Tower Case | HP w2408h 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor | Westinghouse M2401 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor
heatlesssun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 01:04 PM   #5
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

rivatuner
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 01:18 PM   #6
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

Force full clock speed through nvidia control panel or in worst case scenario edit bios so it's always working in full speed.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 01:21 PM   #7
heatlesssun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 141
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by pingu2 View Post
rivatuner
Thanks!
__________________

Main Rig - Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RTM | Intel i7-980x@ 4.13 GHz (25 x 165 BCLK @ 1.365V) | Corsair H50 cooler | ASUS P6X58D Premium| eVGA GeForce GTX 480 2x SLI | Enermax EGX1000EWL Galaxy 1000W | Corsair XMS3 6GB DDR3| 2x WD 1002FBYS 1TB SATA 7200 RPM non-RAID | HP 1270dvd drive | Samsung S203N DVD drive | Lite On DH-4B1S SATA 4x BD Disc Triple Writer | Antec 1200 Full Tower Case | HP w2408h 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor | Westinghouse M2401 24" 1920x1200 LCD Monitor
heatlesssun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 06:24 PM   #8
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

I'm not sure you can force full clock speed through control panel? I mean - clocks you set in control panel are for the full 3d - you can't set 3d low power clocks there?

and I don't really want to edit the bios on 2 rather expensive cards!

I assume it's a driver bug..
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-05-08, 06:46 PM   #9
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

I found that you can force the cards to remain in "3d performance mode" with rivatuner - I will do that for now.. obviously its not ideal as my cards are now running at high speed at windows desktop but at least my games run properly now in SLI.

Hope a future driver update can fix the various problems people have with clock and fan speeds... can't believe this stuff passed QC really :/
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 06:52 PM   #10
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

Why not set up two profiles, and use the full 3d only when you game to save power
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 07:38 PM   #11
pingu2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 229
Default Re: SLI clock speeds

because I will forget to swap between them!

I will just run full speed 'til they fix the drivers.. so happy to have age of conan running at a well at last!
pingu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allow pixel clock > 400MHz waperboy NVIDIA Linux 16 05-08-13 09:44 PM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 12:23 PM
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 04:34 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II Top Unveiled Features 1137MHz Boost Clock (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.