Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-08, 05:10 PM   #25
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnKirk View Post
So it's good to go now?
Yep. My other motherboards don't undervolt like this one and when you request x voltage you normally get close to it.

As I said, with this one I have to run her up to 1.5v to get 1.46v. My Quad isn't orthos blend stable @ 3.6 with any less.

I had a moment where I remembered being in the BIOS when I was running it @ 3.0GHz and seeing 1.325v I had manually set and 1.28v in the right column. Heck my Quad won't do stock on that stable.

I haven't had problems with DDR3 1600 either on the latest BIOS. I put the ram in the black slots and relaxed it to Cas 9 Tras 24 2T.

My initial problems were from the poor shipping BIOS and my later crashing I was crying about was from an undervolted CPU. The repeated crashes caused the corruption. I was testing all sorts of settings, speeds and voltages. I probably forgot to set 1.5v instead of 1.46v when I returned to 3.6.

So far I've had an old E6320 up to 3.45GHz in this board and my Quad to 3.61GHz.

So ya' I'd recommend 790i if you use the latest BIOS and if you watch how much vcore your CPU is really getting. I should have been doing that and my Intel boards made me lazy

I initially went 790i for the option to use SLi and now I am actually starting to like the board. I am upset with myself for missing the too low vcore. That's a real noob mistake. Anyway, I am back on my game now.

Now that I am sure I am getting the required vcore everything seems gtg. Of course if things go to hell in a handbasket, I'll come back and cry some more.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 09:52 PM   #26
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
3 of my current boards plus one that is temporary off duty after 4 years, and will return to duty in 2-3 weeks disagree with you.
And thousands upon thousands of enthusiasts with their dead Nvidia chipsets piled in a garbage heap disagree with you.

Nvidia boards, on the whole, are crap compared to Intel's. No offense to those fortunate enough to have Nvidia boards that actually work longer than a few weeks. Count yourselves lucky.
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-08, 10:13 PM   #27
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

What he said
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-08, 12:40 AM   #28
Zapablast05
ZapaFAILmaster of Merwang
 
Zapablast05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Carson, CA
Posts: 3,133
Send a message via AIM to Zapablast05
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
And thousands upon thousands of enthusiasts with their dead Nvidia chipsets piled in a garbage heap disagree with you.

Nvidia boards, on the whole, are crap compared to Intel's. No offense to those fortunate enough to have Nvidia boards that actually work longer than a few weeks. Count yourselves lucky.
Mine's been working for roughly around 4 months. I've hearing a lot of negativity about the 780i/790i but not the 750i. Like seriously though, I don't need DDR3 or Tri-SLI, so the 750i is prefect for me; PCI-E 2.0 support, 45nm ready, and DDR2.
__________________

Xbox Live: Zapablast05 click!|3DMark06: 17,001|
PSN: Zapablast05
Originally Posted by crainger: "Come meet my son Zapablast05"
Originally Posted by crainger: A truck wont get the pussy zapa has become accustomed to.
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL: In fact, I measure years in BC and AC (before Camp0rz and after Camp0rz).
I don't want to get you drunk, but, ah, that's a very fine Chardonnay you're not drinking.
Zapablast05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-08, 06:42 PM   #29
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

So what's it been, about 7 days since my first post?

I pulled mine and went back to my ancient Intel board again. I started the 790i this morning and it went straight to an FF code and stayed there, no video signal, no nothing. It did not cycle through post codes to reach FF. I tried different ram, moving ram around, clearing the CMOS, clearing the CMOS with the battery out, unplugging it, unplugging the power from the mobo. No matter what I did when the board got power it would go straight to FF and give me no video and do nothing else. Whatever graphics card that was installed would just blast at 100% fan speed and do nothing.

Obviously I couldn't access the BIOS.

So yeah, I'm really done this time. It's just not worth it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-08, 09:41 PM   #30
Pixelsmack
Registered User
 
Pixelsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 194
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

I hadn't built a system in nearly three years. When I went to build the one that's my current sig, I went with straight forward simple and quality parts. Also stuck to INTEL based boards. For the first time in my life it booted and installed on the first attempt and I am still using that install. It's been 4 months and I've put this box through gaming hell.

I was impressed.

All the systems I built before were AMD or nvidia based mboards. Always had grief. Eventually got to work, but always grief.
__________________
Back Seat Racing

Coolermaster 690 case, i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, 2xEVGA GTX260-216 SC in SLI, EVGA X58 SLI, Tagan 700w PSU, 2TB RAID0 Seagate SATAIIs, Win7 Ult. 64bit.
Pixelsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-08, 09:53 PM   #31
Amuro
Newtype Ace
 
Amuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,206
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Nvidia chipsets seem to be a hit or miss. It's either workig great for some people or complelely not working for others.
__________________
Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80 Black | Intel Core i7-3960X @4.3Ghz | Asus Rampage IV Extreme | G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4 x 4GB @1866Mhz CL9 |eVGA GTX 690 Hydro Copper | Cruscial M4 512GB SATA III SSD | WD VelociRaptor 300GB | Samsung Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB | Pioneer BDR-205BK 12x Blu-ray Burner | Creative x-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Sound Card | Corsair A1200 1200W PSU

Water cooled by Koolance ERM-3K3UC Cooling System
Amuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-08, 10:37 AM   #32
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: 790i, I'm done

Well, I'm having general stability problems on my 750i. No lockups or anything. Just the nvkldmm error twice so far, and apparently memtest is still unstable, even at stock. Switched ram slots and ran the extended Windows Memory Tools twice with no errors so far... I messing with voltages and stuff, maybe the ram or the board is bad...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.