Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-08, 09:03 AM   #1
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Unhappy MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

Hi,

I have recently purchased a brand new MSI P7N diamond mobo that i paired with a Q6600 and 2x2gb of G.Skill DDR2 1000 sticks.

The problem is that i get to install Windows xp 64 and everything runs fine, but when i try to install Vista 64 and I get past the first installation reset after having decompressed all the files and the os is starting I get always a BSOD, the cpu seems to be ok and doesn't seem to be overheating, but I can't be sure as i can't enter XP 64 anymore as i was doing a dual boot with boot OSes and now I don't know how to get into booting XP 64 as i always get the Vista boot (probbly at that phase of the install it hadn't yet created the dual boot menu).

Is there a way to go back and still use XP 64?

I did the complete (almost 1 hour) mem test with the latest ver of memtest86 and the memory is in perfect shape, no errors. The mobo still has the original release BIOS from January of this year.

What's wrong?

Thanks a lot!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-08, 09:32 AM   #2
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

I think it's the 4gb issue... Try installing with only one stick of memory, or find a copy of vista with SP1 slipstreamed...

If you install with 2gb, patch with the following and then install the other 2gb...
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929777
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-08, 09:34 AM   #3
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Default Re: MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

Thanks, I'll try that!!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-08, 03:10 PM   #4
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Default Re: MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

Took the second module out and is workibg like a charm!! I have already installed Vista, now I only need to install the update and done!

Thanks!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-08, 02:23 AM   #5
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

Glad you sorted it out...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-08, 04:02 AM   #6
litri
Update Machine
 
litri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 106
Default Re: MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

Lfctony, now that I see your signature, you have oclocked your q6600 to 3ghz. I'm new on overclocking quad cores and dealing with all the 780i sli settings of my mobo...

I know it's not the topic but...

How should i oclock my CPU? I've heard about linked/unlinked ratios and lots of stuff, but i want to be careful while doing it.

My heatsink and 2x500 rpm scythe fans should be able to take it, isn't it? Do you know of a reliable guide for 780i overcloking?

Thanks again, dude!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @3,6ghz
Noctua NH-D14
8GB Geil Dragon Quadkit (800mhz) 5-5-5-13
Asus M4A79 Deluxe
2x VTX3D 4850 1GB
1x WD Raptor 450 GB
1x WD Raptor 300 GB
1x WD Caviar se 160 GB
1x Plextor Premium CD-R\RW 52x/32x/52x
1x Plextor DVD-R\RW PX-760SA
Coolermaster CM690-II Advanced
Super Flower SF-1000P14HE Amazon 80plus
litri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-08, 11:27 PM   #7
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: MSI P7N Diamond and Vista 64 ultimate probs

Well, yours is the B3, which runs a bit hotter, but can also operate in a lower temp. Your ram is fast, so I'm guessing you can work in Linked mode. Here's a good guide. Read it, take everything slowly, one thing at a time.
http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=61146&mpage=1&key=

It's for the 680i but the boards and bios are nearly identical. Unfortunately you will have to run diagnostics for hours after overclocking, just to make sure that your selected settings are stable.

Tony.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.