Go Back   nV News Forums > Website Related > Feedback Forum

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-08, 02:57 PM   #1
TheOneAndOnly
 
TheOneAndOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 118
Default Circuit City Banner Ad

Can anyone please get rid of that ****ing banner ad? Anytime you move your mouse past it to access some function your browser, it takes over so you have to either click on it, or click close.

Whoever the ****ing genius is who came up with that crap should rot in hell. Seriously.

And yes, I'm cranky. 1st couple of times I can tolerate. After that, it's friggen annoying... :
TheOneAndOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 04:06 PM   #2
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

how many threads do we need on this topic?

it's not like anyone here pays to use the site, so ads are to be expected.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 04:21 PM   #3
top3koms
Registered User
 
top3koms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 283
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

You could use Firefox with the ad-block plus extension.I never see any banner ads when visiting this site.
__________________
Asus Rampage III Extreme/Intel Core i7 960/Corsair H70
Corsair Dominator Gt DDR3 1600 (7,7,7,20)
EVGA GTX 580 SLI/ Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Intel X25-M 80Gb SSD - WD Black 500Gb /LG DVD-RW
Silverstone DA1000 / Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Coolermaster Stacker 830 / Alienware AW2310
NVIDIA 3D Vision
top3koms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 04:25 PM   #4
TheOneAndOnly
 
TheOneAndOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 118
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by top3koms View Post
You could use Firefox with the ad-block plus extension.I never see any banner ads when visiting this site.
Ok thanks!

Sorry if I was cranky about it. I just can't stand ads that constantly mess with your browser.
TheOneAndOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 04:43 PM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by top3koms View Post
You could use Firefox with the ad-block plus extension.I never see any banner ads when visiting this site.
Thank you got supporting the site, we really appreciate it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 04:58 PM   #6
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Thank you got supporting the site, we really appreciate it.
Do you buy things via those Ads? If not, then how is blocking them not supporting the site?
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 05:08 PM   #7
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLippe View Post
Do you buy things via those Ads? If not, then how is blocking them not supporting the site?
I dout he makes revenue only from people who purchase things from the link on the ad. If he did he would make almost nothing from them. These ads are probably off of views insted of clicks. Google's ads are based off clicks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 05:19 PM   #8
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
I dout he makes revenue only from people who purchase things from the link on the ad. If he did he would make almost nothing from them. These ads are probably off of views insted of clicks. Google's ads are based off clicks.
Do this, go to the Main nVNews page and look in the upper-left corner and you'll see where it says Shop Online. Then put your cursor over the the little 120x120 picture ad/link and at the bottom of your browser in the link that it displays you'll see nVNews' MasterID number. If you were to click on that Ad and purchase the video card or whatever Ad happens to be there, he'd get revenue back. You can click on the Ad and not buy it and he won't get a dime. Look at any of nVNews Pricegrabber links and you'll see the same thing.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-18-08, 05:21 PM   #9
top3koms
Registered User
 
top3koms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mid-Atlantic Region
Posts: 283
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOneAndOnly View Post
Ok thanks!

Sorry if I was cranky about it. I just can't stand ads that constantly mess with your browser.
Your very welcome ,glad to be able to help.
__________________
Asus Rampage III Extreme/Intel Core i7 960/Corsair H70
Corsair Dominator Gt DDR3 1600 (7,7,7,20)
EVGA GTX 580 SLI/ Soundblaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Intel X25-M 80Gb SSD - WD Black 500Gb /LG DVD-RW
Silverstone DA1000 / Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Coolermaster Stacker 830 / Alienware AW2310
NVIDIA 3D Vision
top3koms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-08, 08:57 PM   #10
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

I hate this add as well, tired of it, makes me not want to visit the site much sense it's hard to navigate having that crap pop down and cover the screen.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-08, 09:14 PM   #11
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

my merwang supports this site...
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-08, 10:16 PM   #12
Tomato
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 75
Default Re: Circuit City Banner Ad

It did it again when I was typing. This god forsaken ad needs to go. It pops up all over the place. It is even annoying on my 30" monitor.

Tell Circuit city I will never shop there because this is shameless.
Tomato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now Available - Gotham City Impostors DLCs News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 02:00 PM
New DLC Available - Batman Arkham City: Harley's Revenge News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 05:00 AM
Now Available - Gotham City Imposters DLCs News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 04:10 AM
Cash, and Time, Runs Out for Afghanistan's Wi-Fi City News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 09:00 AM
Random loot packs are the best-selling item in free-to-play City of Heroes News Archived News Items 0 05-06-12 12:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.