Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-08, 05:29 AM   #13
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

If you just want I nice, low-ish volt OC, I would go with 8x400 = 3.2Ghz. Over that and the volts need to go up quite a bit.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-08, 03:34 PM   #14
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
If you just want I nice, low-ish volt OC, I would go with 8x400 = 3.2Ghz. Over that and the volts need to go up quite a bit.
I tried that, but for some reason it's not stable. I even had the memory at a 1:1 ratio. I think, and this is pure speculation, that it has something to do with my Northbridge temp (no fan, just a heatsink) or my PSU. I don't know why I think that, just a hunch. Well, until I can get a fan on that NB and/or a new PSU it looks like 3.0GHz (333x9) is going to have to do, plus my memory is running at it's actual speed of 1066 this way, too. Thanks for your input, Revs.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-08, 05:31 PM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLippe View Post
Yeah, for some reason I haven't had much luck with 3.2GHz, but I may toy with it some more. I'm 100% stable at 3.0GHz, but for some reason CPUz is showing my voltage at 1.312, which is weird, because in the BIOS I have it set at 1.35v. I better have a look, again...
That is probably due to what people call vdroop.

The cpu voltage drops under load. I think its some sort of thermal or safety feature. It can be annoying while overclocking but its probably why our CPUs can take 1Ghz + overclocks 24\7 for years without failing.

Basically, you'll have to bump the voltage up more to compensate, and its up to you if you think its worth it. You'll get more heat (since the voltage will be higher at idle too), but you'll also get more overclocking head room. Since you're using a tuniq tower, you can probably go for it. Just watch your temps and use coretemp to monitor during testing. Most other programs don't report the correct temps.

I have my voltage set to 1.5v, which is pretty damned high, and under full load my CPU drops to around 1.44v. Thanks to the big ass cooler I'm using, the system has been rock solid for almost a year now. These chips are amazing.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-08, 03:26 AM   #16
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Teh Capt's right SLippe, more vCore needed. My old Striker seemed to need alot of volts, I had it at 1.5v @ 3.36Ghz.

400Mhz FSB is a good OC cos like you said, you can run your memory at a 1:1 ratio. I would try again with higher vCore, 1.45v ish, if it's stable at that clock, drop the vCore to find the minimum vCore for that speed.

Have you disabled the 'spread spectrum' options, that usually helps. The P35 chipset can generally get well over 450Mhz.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 01:35 PM   #17
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
That is probably due to what people call vdroop.

The cpu voltage drops under load. I think its some sort of thermal or safety feature. It can be annoying while overclocking but its probably why our CPUs can take 1Ghz + overclocks 24\7 for years without failing.

Basically, you'll have to bump the voltage up more to compensate, and its up to you if you think its worth it. You'll get more heat (since the voltage will be higher at idle too), but you'll also get more overclocking head room. Since you're using a tuniq tower, you can probably go for it. Just watch your temps and use coretemp to monitor during testing. Most other programs don't report the correct temps.

I have my voltage set to 1.5v, which is pretty damned high, and under full load my CPU drops to around 1.44v. Thanks to the big ass cooler I'm using, the system has been rock solid for almost a year now. These chips are amazing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Teh Capt's right SLippe, more vCore needed. My old Striker seemed to need alot of volts, I had it at 1.5v @ 3.36Ghz.

400Mhz FSB is a good OC cos like you said, you can run your memory at a 1:1 ratio. I would try again with higher vCore, 1.45v ish, if it's stable at that clock, drop the vCore to find the minimum vCore for that speed.

Have you disabled the 'spread spectrum' options, that usually helps. The P35 chipset can generally get well over 450Mhz.
Thanks, fellas. I'll mess with it more this weekend. I start my "vacation" on Sunday, so I'll have like 10 days off to mess with it. My temps have been really good, so far, so I don't think 1.45v or whatever will be too bad. I'll report back in a few days. Thanks, again.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-08, 02:20 PM   #18
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Steady at 3.2GHz (8x400) 1.475v. What's weird is when I run Orthos, the VCore drops under 1.4 (barely). Here's what it looks like under CPU-z with nothing running, except Firefox.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3.2ghz_1.475v_oc.jpg
Views:	1641
Size:	231.2 KB
ID:	32345  
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-08, 02:24 PM   #19
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

1.475v?? that seems awfully high
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-08, 02:30 PM   #20
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
1.475v?? that seems awfully high
That's what I have it set at in the BIOS, but for some reason all monitoring software never shows it at that setting and it even drops below what is in that screenshot sometimes. Probably could get away with 1.45v. *shrugs* Temps are good either way.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-20-08, 02:33 PM   #21
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLippe View Post
That's what I have it set at in the BIOS, but for some reason all monitoring software never shows it at that setting and it even drops below what is in that screenshot sometimes. Probably could get away with 1.45v. *shrugs* Temps are good either way.
Yeah, I think that's the "vdroop" people refer to. I think I run mine at 1.4 for 3.2GHz
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 01:58 AM   #22
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

I just upped my vcore to 1.5v in BIOS, CPUz shows 1.45v. Bus is now @ 425 which puts me @ 3.4GHz with rated FSB @ 1700MHz while using a 2.5:1 (or whatever) ratio to put my RAM at 1063, just below normal speed of 1066.



Now, let's see if I can run CoD4 for any amount of time...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	34GHz_overclock.jpg
Views:	1601
Size:	47.4 KB
ID:	32973  
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 02:31 AM   #23
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Okay, that was a big no-no.

Back to 3.2GHz (400x8) with 1:1 ratio.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-08, 03:02 AM   #24
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Overclocking Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz/1066

Hiya SLippe. What's your temps like?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.