Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-08, 10:52 AM   #13
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: New rig with 260 crashes....

Sounds like memory to me. It could be faulty or incorrect settings.

I'd google memtest86, a memory tester that tests RAM outside of any OS, it just makes a boot disk. Download it, follow the instructions to make a boot floppy or bootable CD, then run it...overnight should be enough. If you can any failures in the tests (takes hours), then revisit your memory settings. Corsair has the Memory man guy on the forums which can help with timings/voltage.

If all clear then maybe try a new bios, reset settings to default and test again. The OS doesn't strain the system that much, that's why it's not cracking up, try opening a large .zip file or copy large amounts of data between 2 drives if you can. That can also stress things and be an indicator.

Also, download a 3rd party tool to check your GPU and CPU temps.

It could also be your power supply feeding the card as well. I had a PSU test fine on a tester and even boot up a system fine but it caused all kinds of instability. Swapping it out with another one fixed the issue.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 10:00 PM   #14
grimreefer
Registered User
 
grimreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 549
Default Re: New rig with 260 crashes....

crashes every 15 min u say?
run memtest for 15 min to check the ram.
run prime95 for 15 min to test the cpu.
run furmark for 15 min to test the graphics card.
you should be able to rule out certain components at that point based on successful completion.
__________________
DFI P965-S...core 2 quad Q6600@ 3.2ghz...4gb ddr2 @ 800mhz cas 4...xfx gtx 260...silverstone op650...thermaltake xaser 3 case
grimreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-08, 11:29 PM   #15
Ironmonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: New rig with 260 crashes....

Update::

I just manually set the Dram voltage to 2.10 Volt like RAM GUY said in corsair forums. Been playing CoD4 for 4 hours straight, no crash!!!

Hopefully im not going to crash again :X
Ironmonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-08, 12:10 AM   #16
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: New rig with 260 crashes....

Cool. It's weird sometimes. My board for example detects my memory's default voltage at 1.9. They're rated at 1.8V. But I run them at 1.9V to be sure...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The PC Gamer Rig: New CPUs, motherboards and more News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 05:00 PM
Crashes now? Imperito NVIDIA Linux 4 10-09-02 11:23 PM
crashes and freezes Lethal Weapon NVIDIA Linux 9 09-27-02 08:23 PM
Mandrake 9.0 upgrade - x crashes gozilla NVIDIA Linux 2 09-27-02 10:04 AM
Crashes in Wolfenstein SP Demo Heulsuse NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 03:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.