Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-01-08, 11:25 PM   #25
ClosetFanBoy
Thorazine shuffle
 
ClosetFanBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Elk Grove Ca.
Posts: 829
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Quote:
Development of Doom 4 will be short, as very little of the id Tech 5 engine will be changed in the transition from Rage. The game will feature at least one "graphical hook," and should have three times the graphical fidelity of Rage due to a lower target framerate.
http://www.shacknews.com/featuredarticle.x?id=956

Sounds like some of you guys and your Doom 2 prayers have been answered...

Quote:
When asked whether the game will be rooted in the horror genre, Carmack indicated that it will instead focus more on pure action elements a la Doom 2.
__________________
In order to find his equal a man is forced to converse with God.

iPhone junkie...
ClosetFanBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 04:53 AM   #26
Pafet
GeForce 7900GT
 
Pafet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 430
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClosetFanBoy View Post
http://www.shacknews.com/featuredarticle.x?id=956

Sounds like some of you guys and your Doom 2 prayers have been answered...
Best news EVER! Thanks for that!
Pafet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 08:14 AM   #27
iwbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

I think u guys misunderstood them. They mean Doom4 is target at around 30 fps with high-end config while rage is at ~60 fps, that doesn't mean the game is capped at 30
iwbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 08:27 AM   #28
Loreman
Shred Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

What is the deal with the PS3 not doing 1080p?

Anyone can link to an article about that?
__________________
Core 2 E6700
2 Gig Ram
Creative X-FI
2 x Leadtek 8800GTX SLI
Loreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 10:45 AM   #29
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Doom3 had a 30fps cap unless you ran the benchmark and no one whined about that??
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 11:04 AM   #30
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

No it didn't, it had a 60 fps cap
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 11:19 AM   #31
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
Doom3 had a 30fps cap unless you ran the benchmark and no one whined about that??
it had 60fps.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 11:32 AM   #32
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

ahh.. well that would make sense since a lot of lcd's refresh rate is 60hz
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-02-08, 01:48 PM   #33
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Any info on Doom 4 other than irrelavant framerate, resolution and other graphics twoddle?
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 01:56 PM   #34
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralinn View Post
Any info on Doom 4 other than irrelavant framerate, resolution and other graphics twoddle?
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...5&postcount=25



Quote:
When asked whether the game will be rooted in the horror genre, Carmack indicated that it will instead focus more on pure action elements a la Doom 2.
Sounds good to me.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 02:05 PM   #35
ralinn
Masters
 
ralinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK, England, Portsmouth
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Smarty pants!

Ok, must have missed that one, thank you
__________________
(CPU) Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz @ 1600MHz (ASUSTeK Computer INC. P6T DELUXE mainboard) (RAM) 3GB (HDD) 931GB
(GFX) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280 (1GB), 1680x1050x32, 59Hz (OS) Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium (SP1)

3Dmark06 Score: Who the **** actually cares?
360 & PSN ID: ralinn
ralinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-08, 03:11 PM   #36
Igor Vitaly
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Default Re: Doom 4 30FPS cap (?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sowk View Post
ID Software already confirmed it at 60Htz on PC. That is only for power limited consoles.

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/new..._30hz_consoles

Quote:
On PCs, however, Carmack believes Doom 4 will be able to run at 60Hz if you have state of art hardware
Also this... aint it a breeze to game on the PC?


Quake Con keynote

Quote:
7:25: "By the the time that DOOM 4 ships to consoles, PC will be light years ahead of current consoles. In this case, the PC version will support significant visual improvements over 360 or PS3 versions. Rage, on the other hand, will more or less look the same across all platforms it's available on."
Igor Vitaly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resurrection of Resurrection of Evil: Doom 3 BFG Date News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 02:40 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 06:40 AM
Comcast Suspends Data Cap Temporarily, Will Test New Overage Fees News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 04:10 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 10:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.