Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-08, 08:43 AM   #13
luigimita
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
great how everyone jumps to conclusions. maybe it is a bug, not some mass conspiracy.

or maybe just a feature that is not possible on intel chipsets.

probably is a bug of drivers as for the issue of fan speed.

obviously...Ati fans think always to conspiracy
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 6000+ , Asus M2N32SLI-Deluxe WiFi, 3 Gb DDR2-667 dual channel, PoV 280 GTX, SB Audigy SE, 2 x 160Gb SATA2 HD Raid-0, LC Power Hyperion 700 W
luigimita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 08:47 AM   #14
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Most 4850s also sit on a high 2d clock / low fan speed, causing them to run hot. I changed the BIOS on mine so that the fan runs more and it's at more acceptable levels. Initially I was hovering around 80 degrees idle, now I'm around 50.

This is what happens when things are rushed.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 09:01 AM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

damn 80c iddle is crazy
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-08, 09:08 AM   #16
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
damn 80c iddle is crazy
The fan was at like 20% duty cycle at 80. It hits about 80 at load now with around 50% duty cycle.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 10:24 AM   #17
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

My problem with this went away. Dont know why, dont care.. I reloaded 177.41, re-installed rivatuner and it was still fugged up. Then I notice over the last few days its fine. I think this is a bug.. AS long as the damn fan keeps spinning I dont really care.
__________________
MSI P67GD55
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz 1.35v, 1.40v full load
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Gigabyte 580 @945/2232
4 Gigs Ripjaw @ 1600
Antec (a good one) 650w
A Partridge in a pear tree.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-08, 04:56 PM   #18
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

This would explain why I haven'y suffered from this. I'm sure it will be fixed in a future driver update.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-08, 10:00 PM   #19
ekotan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
2). The GTX 200 series power saving features do NOT work on an Intel platform. Thatís right. I thought I was the odd one out when I saw countless other websites posting about the down-clocks and down-voltages, whereby the GPU settles at 300Mhz Memory to 100Mhz etc when no 3D app is running. What some of them failed to state was that they only achieved this on an Nvidia platform; while ALL the reviews out there failed to warn consumers that this does NOT work on an Intel platform at all. The writeups out there further confuse you by stating the downclocks are achieved in drivers, while only the full hybrid power features, i.e., shutting down the GPU and offloads 2D to the onboard IGP require an Nvidia platform. They just donít know what they are talking about.

This was confirmed after a 30 minute phone conversation with an XFX engineer, the manufacturer of my GTX 280.

What this translates to is that all the idle power consumption graphs you saw on reviews over the GTX 200 series do NOT apply to an Intel platform. Again, out of the 15 odd reviews out there, not one, I repeat, NOT A SINGLE ONE, bothered to state this clearly. Whats the user footprint in the real world with an Nvidia platform? 0.1% of the PC population?
I have an Intel 975 chipset mobo and my GTX 280 falls back correctly to 2D clocks after going full blast to run a 3D app.

What people are experiencing is more likely a driver bug which people have pounced on to weave new conspiracy theories.
__________________
I like Macs *and* PCs. Each to its own...

Notebook:Apple Macbook Pro Retina
Desktop: Custom-built Core i7 3770K @4 GHz + 16GB DDR3 RAM + GeForce GTX 680 + Crucial SSD + 10 TB RAID-6 + GigaByte Odin Pro 1200W PSU
ekotan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 03:05 PM   #20
LitHiuM
It is I!
 
LitHiuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 177
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

This very issue started happening to me today. No idea why. Clocks used to throttle back to 2D mode fine since I got the card until today

Intel X48 (Asus P5E3 Premium) btw..
LitHiuM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-08, 06:33 PM   #21
LitHiuM
It is I!
 
LitHiuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 177
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Well, I just discovered that if I have dual monitor set up then the card does not throttle back, but when I disable the second display it throttles back to normal 2D levels...

Interesting...

Surely a driver bug..

[EDIT]

Figured this because I received my 24" Samsung T240 today and figured it was worth a try...

[/EDIT]

Last edited by LitHiuM; 08-04-08 at 06:35 PM. Reason: more informations
LitHiuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 09:09 PM   #22
Xizorz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Same problem with my EVGA gtx260.

If I reboot, I get 2d clocks. It ramps up to 3d clocks when I load an application, but doesn't clock back down afterward.
Xizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-08, 11:57 PM   #23
DarkOneX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 327
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

My GTX was going down to 2D speeds after gaming for awhile, now it quit. Think it quit doing it after ramping up my overclocks.
__________________

Desktop - {i7-960 3.2Ghz} {Asus P6X58D-E} {24GB Corsair DDR3} {EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB} {Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD} {(3X) WD Black 1TB HDDs} {Seagate 750GB HDD} {WD 4TB external} {WD 2TB external} {20X DVD-RW} {X-Fi} {Corsair HX850 PSU} {CM690 II case} {24" Dell U2410 LCD} {20" Dell 2007FP LCD} {Logitech G500} {Logitech G710+} {Windows 7 64bit} {CP1500PFCLCD UPS

Laptop 1 - {Lenovo Ideapad Y400} {i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {GeForce GT750M 2GB} {1TB HDD + 16GB SSD} {14" Anti-Glare (1366x768)} {Windows 8 64bit

Laptop 2 - {HP DM4-3090se Beats Edition} {i5-2430M 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {Intel 3000 HD graphics} {500GB HDD} {14" LED Display (1366 x 768)} {Windows 8 64bit
DarkOneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 12:44 AM   #24
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

I have used a GTX280 on THREE Intel chipset boards and not one of them had a problem falling back to 2D speeds when not gaming... These stupid, jumping-to-conclusions people help no one...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Best Virtual Desktop: NVIDIA VGX & Windows RemoteFX News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 11:30 AM
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 08:09 PM
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 11:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.