Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-08, 11:55 PM   #13
XMAN52373
Registered User
 
XMAN52373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 534
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
Bullsh#&.
He never mentions resolution and 2x AA on the 280s is about the same as 2x on 8800gts 640 very very small performance hit.
__________________
C2Q6600@3.3
ASUS GTX570
eVGA 780i SLi AR
8GB DDR2 PC8500
Windows 7 U x64
XMAN52373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 12:12 AM   #14
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMAN52373 View Post
He never mentions resolution and 2x AA on the 280s is about the same as 2x on 8800gts 640 very very small performance hit.
It doesn't matter. He mentioned "very high", and that was enough.

Even a CrossfireX system with 2 4870X2's can't run that game on very high at a smooth framerate. Neither can 2 280's.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 12:23 AM   #15
particleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Well given how horribly 4870 crossfire scales in Crysis, 2 280GTXs outperforms 2 4870X2 in Crossfire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
It doesn't matter. He mentioned "very high", and that was enough.

Even a CrossfireX system with 2 4870X2's can't run that game on very high at a smooth framerate. Neither can 2 280's.
particleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 12:34 AM   #16
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
It doesn't matter. He mentioned "very high", and that was enough.

Even a CrossfireX system with 2 4870X2's can't run that game on very high at a smooth framerate. Neither can 2 280's.
That's not totally true mate. I'm playing it on Very High at 1680x1050. No AA, no AF... My minimum on the GPU test is 25FPS and the AVG is around 40... It's quite playable. During gameplay, I find that if I drop down the Shadows to medium, I get a large boost in-game (takes my slowish cpu out of the question I guess)... It's playable with everything on V.High, just plays better for me with shadows on medium.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 12:50 AM   #17
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Even with no AA Crysis plays at less than 30fps average on SLI'd 280's and drops to 13 fps in some places on "very high."

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/articl...50aHVzaWFzdA==

Unless he's playing at 1280x res, I don't buy it. Some guys have a different definition of "smooth", but they should be careful not to mislead people. Less than 30fps average is not "smooth" for most, I don't think.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 02:40 AM   #18
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

As I said, I play with 1680x1050, no AA/AF and the game plays fine. That graph is at a higher resolution with 16xAF, which incurs a big performance hit, at least in my case... I don't know what res HoD is using though...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 03:51 AM   #19
Blkout
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 144
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by particleman View Post
Much like the 8800GTX was faster than a 8800GT/GTS, I think the 280GTX is going to be faster than the die shrink. The main problem for nVidia with the 280GTX is the die size and how much it costs to produce, it is without question faster than a 4870 (I have owned 2 4870s and now 2 280GTXs). With the price of a 280GTX only @ 100 bucks more than a 4870, it is the better buy at the moment IMO. What you will most likely see with the refresh is a smaller chip that is cheaper to produce but not necessarily faster.
I disagree, for the simple fact that Nvidia had a sizeable lead on ATI at the time of the 8800GTX, but this is not the case this round. In fact, when the 4870X2 is released next wekk, Nividia will clearly be in second place and they know it. This is why the 280b or 290 is going to be more than just a die shrink. Nvidia doesn't like to be behind ATI. This round is much different than it was with the 8800GTX.
Blkout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 03:55 AM   #20
Blkout
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 144
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by particleman View Post
Well given how horribly 4870 crossfire scales in Crysis, 2 280GTXs outperforms 2 4870X2 in Crossfire.
Crossfire has nothing to do with scaling in Crysis and everything to do with the design of the card. The 4870 is never going to be faster than the 280 at Crysis regardless of driver releases. Nvidia spent a good deal of money optimizing the 280 design for Crysis and it shows...in Crysis. However, ATI has showed that the 4870's design is 90% as fast as the 280 in almost every other game. I think tha's a fair trade-off considering the selling price, especially since most people don't care about Crysis anyway. Crysis is a marketing tool for Nivida, a game to simply show of the abilities of the 280 and say, "We run it faster", but no one really cares which is why the 4870 is selling so well.
Blkout is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-06-08, 06:09 AM   #21
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
Some guys have a different definition of "smooth", but they should be careful not to mislead people. Less than 30fps average is not "smooth" for most, I don't think.
Yep. 60 fps MINIMUM = smooth to me
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 06:31 AM   #22
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blkout View Post
Crossfire has nothing to do with scaling in Crysis and everything to do with the design of the card. The 4870 is never going to be faster than the 280 at Crysis regardless of driver releases. Nvidia spent a good deal of money optimizing the 280 design for Crysis and it shows...in Crysis.
QFT.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 07:28 AM   #23
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blkout View Post
Nvidia spent a good deal of money optimizing the 280 design for Crysis and it shows...in Crysis.
It does? Really?

A single GTX280 CANT run V.High Crysis... Heck, 2 GTX280s can barely run it, and that's without any AA/AF... I imagine if they hadn't optimized the cards, as you claim...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 07:56 AM   #24
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: So I got second GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
It does? Really?

A single GTX280 CANT run V.High Crysis... Heck, 2 GTX280s can barely run it, and that's without any AA/AF... I imagine if they hadn't optimized the cards, as you claim...
I suppose he meant optimizing it to run as fast as possible & faster than its rival (i.e. the 4870).
whatever way you look at it , the GTX280 is the single GPU card that can run Crysis at best performance possible today.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.