Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-08, 09:22 PM   #73
wrathofgod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 364
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

GPU Benchmark:
Min.: 13
Max.: 45
Average: 34

CPU Benchmark:
Min.: 13
Max.: 39
Average: 32

Nvidia Control Panel Settings:
16x AF
2x AA
High Quality
Transparency AA: Multisampling
Gamma Correction: On

Crysis Settings:
Extreme Quality Config
No PostProcessing
1920x1200 resolution
DX10

Specs:
Windows Vista Ultimate (64 bit)
Thermaltake Armor Black Case
EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1
Intel Q6600 Quad Core @ 3.7 ghz
Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme Heatsink w/ Silverstone FM122 120mm Fan
2x EVGA 8800 GTX @ 655/1060
Creative X-Fi (Fatality)
4 Corsair Dominator PC8500 (2x TWIN2X2048-8500C5D) Memory
WD 36 gb, 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Hard Drive
WD 300 gb, 7,200 RPM SATA Hard Drive
BFG 800 watt PS
Logitech Z-5500; 500 watt; 5.1 Speakers
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard
Razer Lachesis Mouse
Belkin Nostromo N52te Speedpad

Last edited by wrathofgod; 08-06-08 at 09:35 PM. Reason: Update
wrathofgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 10:30 PM   #74
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,981
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

You know forcing 2xAA and transpacency AA via the control panel doesn't do crap to crysis. U have to set the AA level ingame and to get real TSAA you need to first force it in the CP then add 4 or more times of AA in the ingame settings then select the pistol ingame. And what do you you mean by "extreme quality config" and "no PostProcessing" ? What config are you using and do you have Postprocessing on low?

Please be a bit more specified so we get a clue on what settings you do your benchmark test on... Cheers!
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 11:40 PM   #75
wrathofgod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 364
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soetdjuret View Post
You know forcing 2xAA and transpacency AA via the control panel doesn't do crap to crysis. U have to set the AA level ingame and to get real TSAA you need to first force it in the CP then add 4 or more times of AA in the ingame settings then select the pistol ingame. And what do you you mean by "extreme quality config" and "no PostProcessing" ? What config are you using and do you have Postprocessing on low?

Please be a bit more specified so we get a clue on what settings you do your benchmark test on... Cheers!
Those Nvidia control panel settings are just what I run as normal settings for all games. I was only giving the info. to give a clear picture of my settings.

I'm using THIS config and by "no postprocessing", I mean that I disabled motion blur via the config.
wrathofgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 02:42 PM   #76
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,981
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathofgod View Post
Those Nvidia control panel settings are just what I run as normal settings for all games. I was only giving the info. to give a clear picture of my settings.

I'm using THIS config and by "no postprocessing", I mean that I disabled motion blur via the config.
For your information those control panel settings wont work in crysis. But most other games it will. AF works, so does TSAA if you do it correct.

So you run the game not on veryhigh, without AA and without TSAA. in 1920x1200. That makes the matter lol...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 04:07 PM   #77
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

OK OFF THE SUBJECT. THE CIRCUIT CITY ADD ON EVERY PAGBEYOND ANNOTING!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 05:16 PM   #78
wrathofgod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 364
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soetdjuret View Post
For your information those control panel settings wont work in crysis. But most other games it will. AF works, so does TSAA if you do it correct.

So you run the game not on veryhigh, without AA and without TSAA. in 1920x1200. That makes the matter lol...
Why do I need AA at 1920x1200?

I'll remove the config. and set everything on very high to satisfy Soetdjuret.

GPU Benchmark:
Min.: 20
Max.: 33
Average: 28

CPU Benchmark:
Min.: 20
Max.: 40
Average: 30

Crysis Settings:
EVERYTHING on Very High @ 1920x1200 in DX10

Nvidia Control Panel:
16x AF
2x AA
High Quality
Transparency AA: Multisampling
Gamma Correction: On
wrathofgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-08, 04:55 PM   #79
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,981
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

You need AA even at 1920x1200 if you use a LCD monitor, because its using a native resolution. Its not like using that resolution on a CRT monitor, witch will give you an natural better quality and anti-aliasing. With LCD's it has to use a higher resolution because the monitor is bigger, with CRT u can use whatever res you want, the higher the better quality the game will have. 1920x1200 on a 24" LCD is about the same as a 1280x1024 on a 19" LCD in terms of quality and aliasing.

Thanks for the benchmark, however when you post benchmark results for crysis its uneccesary to tell what AA and TSAA settings you have via the control panel, cuz it wont do sh*t.

I'll repair my other 88gtx soon and then run the GPU benchmark to see what i get.
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 11:47 AM   #80
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

crt ftmfw
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-08, 03:14 PM   #81
Vanzagar
Bring me Amberlamps
 
Vanzagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,167
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soetdjuret View Post
...1920x1200 on a 24" LCD is about the same as a 1280x1024 on a 19" LCD in terms of quality and aliasing.
Where'd you come up with that?? more info please...
Vanzagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 04:14 PM   #82
FearMeAll
 
FearMeAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 827
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanzagar View Post
Where'd you come up with that?? more info please...
pixels are the same size. The screen gets bigger and the resolution higher but the pixels stay the same size...I've only seen smaller pixels on laptop screens like mine. On it FSAA is almost not needed.
__________________
Consoles: Xbox Elite with HDDVD drive and PS3.
Screen:
Panasonic AX200U Widescreen Projector (1280x720), 160" HighPower Screen, AND A BIG COUCH.
[FONT="Courier New"] HTPC: Intel Wolfdale 3ghz, 4 gigs DDR2 800 ram, 500gig HDD, Craptastic 7600GS, Windows 7 32bit, XBMC installed [/FONT] :D
[B]My Video Encoding/Office rig:[/B] [I] Intel QX9650 @ 3ghz, 1333mhz FSB, 4gigs Patriot Extreme DDR3 @ 1333mhz, XFX 790i 3-way Sli mobo, Xf-Fi Extreme Gamer, 400watt Fanless Power Supply, 9500GT 64-bit bus(ouch!), 8.750TB HDD, Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate. [B][FONT="Arial Narrow"]Everything at stock and completely boring..[/FONT][/B][/I] :type:
FearMeAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-08, 09:52 AM   #83
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,716
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanzagar View Post
Where'd you come up with that?? more info please...
methinks he meant 19"CRT

LCD's show up very blocky and require more AA like he said

I tried a low resolution LCD once ,I gave it away.

LCD needs a very high native resolution without AA.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-08, 11:06 AM   #84
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,981
Default Re: Crysis CPU/GPU benchmarks, post your's

FearMeAll is right. The pixels doesn't get compressed as it does on CRT monitors when you raise the resolution. The difference between 1024x768 and 1600x1200 is phenomenal on my 21" CRT in games like crysis. And at maxres 2048x1340 it looks amazing, very sharp and detailed, no need for AA, but the performance hit is huge.


Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
methinks he meant 19"CRT

LCD's show up very blocky and require more AA like he said

I tried a low resolution LCD once ,I gave it away.

LCD needs a very high native resolution without AA.
No i mean LCD... The pixels stay the same size but as the screen is bigger you need more pixels to fill out the native resolution. In both cases you dont compress the pixels as you do with CRT monitors when you up the res.

And even big LCD's like 24" and 30" needs AA at their native res. IT doesn't get better only because the monitor is bigger. If you could run at 1920x1200 at a 20 or 22" sized LCD it would be kickass, but LCD's doesn't work that way.


Edit, i found a 22" LCD that does support 1920x1200. Its the Lenovo L220X! Awesome
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Better Benchmarks for Big Data ' This Week on inside* Publications News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-05-12 02:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.