Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-08, 07:04 AM   #1
tonyA4
Linux Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
Default TV output activation

How can I activate/control a TV S-Video output of NVidia GForce 6200 card?
In a "NVIDIA X Server Settings" program it is not such option.
tonyA4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-08, 03:17 AM   #2
tonyA4
Linux Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
Default Re: TV output activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyA4 View Post
How can I activate/control a TV S-Video output of NVidia GForce 6200 card?
In a "NVIDIA X Server Settings" program it is not such option.
I have reading the man pages of Nvidia driver and found options for tv output like:

nvidia-xconfig --tv-standard=PAL-G --tv-out-format=SVIDEO

after that:
init 3
init 5

but still tv output is not working.
Do anybody knows how to configure it?
Please help!
Where are software developers of the driver, how to reach some attention!!!
tonyA4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-08, 04:15 AM   #3
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: TV output activation

I think you misunderstood the purpose of the forum...
The forum is not intended to give the developers of the driver the burden of helping new users with configuration of their system.
Furthermore, new users are expected to read documentation and the sticky articles at the top of the forum list.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-08, 10:51 AM   #4
tonyA4
Linux Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
Default Re: TV output activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl View Post
I think you misunderstood the purpose of the forum...
The forum is not intended to give the developers of the driver the burden of helping new users with configuration of their system.
Furthermore, new users are expected to read documentation and the sticky articles at the top of the forum list.
You think that or You know that ?
Because first I did was to read docs, second to play with options, after that I called customer support of NVidia and they was so kind to suggest me to write to this forum.
I still believe that exists another one person who is using NVidia graphics adapter with Linux and uses TV output in whole world!
tonyA4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-08, 11:57 AM   #5
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: TV output activation

Strange that nvidia personnel recommend you to write to this forum...
After all, this forum is not run by nvidia. There are a few developers that read and post here.
But in general, the first thing that is done when an "I have a problem" article is posted without the bugreport file, is to point to the "If you have a problem, read this first" article in the list of sticky topics on the forum.
It is also possible to use the Search option of the forum to see if others have the same problem.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-08, 06:45 AM   #6
tonyA4
Linux Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
Default Update: TV output activation

I tried to configure TV as a display - but it is impossible to do
it and I found why?
Today I moved the computer near to TV and have connected it directly.
After that TV is displaying second desktop and nvidia-setting program
recognized it as second screen - now it is possible to configure it and
all is OK.
The problem is when computer is connected to TV not directly, but via
wireless transmitter/receiver and I need it this way.

The problem is that some auto detection technique is preventing from
S-Video output to work when driver do not recognize the TV.
The question is how to force it to work anyway?

By the way - S-Video quality (when directly connected) is very poor
(there are some waves on brightness, colors are not clear) , even a
portable DVD player gives much better picture - now it is possible to
improve it?

About the that nvidia personnel recommend me to write to this forum...I am attaching copy of there answer to my question ...

What are advises ?
Best Regards,
Tony Arie Kolev,
Linux Professional Institute LPIC-1 Certified System Administrator.
Attached Files
File Type: txt customer_support_answer.txt (3.3 KB, 115 views)
tonyA4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-08, 07:04 AM   #7
memeyou
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 74
Thumbs down Re: TV output activation

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl View Post
I think you misunderstood the purpose of the forum...
The forum is not intended to give the developers of the driver the burden of helping new users with configuration of their system.
Furthermore, new users are expected to read documentation and the sticky articles at the top of the forum list.
I think you need to not post ignorant flames like this, ever. There is absolutely nothing wrong with asking support questions in this forum.
memeyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-08, 03:24 PM   #8
tonyA4
Linux Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
Default Re: TV output activation

The case is closed now.
After a help from Roland Hui <rohui@nvidia.com> and manual xorg.conf customization TV works fine as a second screen via wireless connection!
Thanks for a help, after all the power of Linux is when non standard configurations exists it is always possible to change system text configuration files and to reach needed targets.
tonyA4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-07-08, 12:57 AM   #9
weltall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 115
Default Re: TV output activation

-sorry wrong thread- can someone delete this post?
weltall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding CineFX - MUCH more than the R300 Uttar Rumor Mill 68 10-02-02 01:02 AM
NVNET device not present, delaying activation robothefan NVIDIA Linux 4 10-01-02 09:43 PM
Can I use 3-D acceleration in the framebuffer coredumped NVIDIA Linux 3 08-24-02 01:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.