Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-08, 11:38 PM   #61
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xizorz View Post
Yeah it is. I'd also see if you can get higher on that memory.
I went ahead and copied Revs overclock of 700/1400/1200 and just went through a high 3DMark Vantage without any issues, temps stayed low with 60% fan... H12863. It looks like it's been my shader that's been keeping me down all along.

I did notice that Precision on my G15 was reporting a core speed of 301 instead of 700 during load, though. It was obvious that was wrong, but wonder if anyone else has seen that happen?

Edit: Okay, it seems to show 301Mhz Core when the Core/Shader is unlocked, but when locked displays just fine. Memory and Shader clocks are listed correctly. I'm guessing that the core must be going faster than 301 to provide a Vantage score like listed.

Did some game playing, no checkerboard artifacts at the above listed speeds. Looks like they're keepers.

Edit: Second edit. Found that Precision (for me at least) screwed up the core speed display once the clocks are too far apart, so at 684Mhz Core/1400 Shader it reads correctly, but at 685Mhz Core it reads 341Mhz Core. Checked with GPU-Z, though, and it reports the correct core speed. Anyone else seeing this?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 09:46 AM   #62
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

I've been up to 760 on the core and unfortunately, I can't hold it. Better cooling might help.

Currently, I'm topping @ 749|2600 1532 unlinked. I've been using Riva Tuner to OC.

BTW if you're having trouble with Riva Tuner under Vista x64 install nTune first and accept the end user agreement in the nVidia CP, then OC with RT. I was crashing with RT before I did that.

I use RT over nTune because I unlink my shader and core so I can OC the core higher when the shader hits max.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 09:51 AM   #63
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
I've been up to 760 on the core and unfortunately, I can't hold it. Better cooling might help.
I would do some testing while just altering your core clock. I found very little gains over 700mhz. There's no point in needlessly stressing your GPU .
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 09:52 AM   #64
dookika
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 48
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
I've been up to 760 on the core and unfortunately, I can't hold it. Better cooling might help.

Currently, I'm topping @ 749|2600 1532 unlinked. I've been using Riva Tuner to OC.

BTW if you're having trouble with Riva Tuner under Vista x64 install nTune first and accept the end user agreement in the nVidia CP, then OC with RT. I was crashing with RT before I did that.

I use RT over nTune because I unlink my shader and core so I can OC the core higher when the shader hits max.
Mine is hitting 760core no problem and my shader and mem are just like yours. I wonder if we will ever be able to push the core higher without having to up the shader? I did not have this issue with my 9800GTX, I could overclock the core regardless of what speed the shader was set to.
dookika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 09:53 AM   #65
dookika
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 48
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
I would do some testing while just altering your core clock. I found very little gains over 700mhz. There's no point in needlessly stressing your GPU .
Of course there are gains over 700mhz core, its not like the GPU will not benefit from anything faster than 700mhz as that makes no sense.

I get a few more FPS with my core at 760mhz vs 700 and I can tell you my GPU is not stressed at all, card runs very very cool.
dookika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 10:01 AM   #66
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by dookika View Post
Of course there are gains over 700mhz core, its not like the GPU will not benefit from anything faster than 700mhz as that makes no sense.

I get a few more FPS with my core at 760mhz vs 700 and I can tell you my GPU is not stressed at all, card runs very very cool.
I didn't say no gains, I said very little. And I'm not just guessing here, I did extencive testing . The main gain was from the shader OC, then the memory, then the core. I'm not one for very high 24/7 OC's, I want my cards to last a good year or so.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 07:05 PM   #67
Melfranks
 
Melfranks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Here's what I run my BFG 260 at.
I can push it farther but I'm pretty happy just leaving it where it is.
The screen shot is after running Doom 3 with 16xS AA, 16x AF, Vsync enabled, Ultra quality, never drops below 60fps.
Ya, not exactly a cutting edge game but it's a fun mindless diversion.

Mel

Melfranks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-08, 11:10 PM   #68
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
Found that Precision (for me at least) screwed up the core speed display once the clocks are too far apart, so at 684Mhz Core/1400 Shader it reads correctly, but at 685Mhz Core it reads 341Mhz Core. Checked with GPU-Z, though, and it reports the correct core speed. Anyone else seeing this?
In case anyone else noticed this bug with Precision, it's been fixed with version 1.3.2 which was released today: Precision
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-18-08, 08:13 AM   #69
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

will OC my card today
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-08, 01:53 PM   #70
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

So far:




I haven't done much individual clock testing, I am getting to that to find my absolute max
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-08, 10:36 AM   #71
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

did a small OC so far

648 core (evga SSC)
1404 shader (evga SSC)
1200 memory

temps only went up by 3-4 degrees so far good
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-08, 11:03 AM   #72
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: GTX280/260 Overclocking Results

Max temps for me are 70c, but i can still only hit 700/1400/2050 on the ram not bad for a vanilla 260.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 09:16 PM
where is the overclocking tab. demonized NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-20-02 01:40 PM
Memory Efficiency results, Please contribute. Switch CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 09-11-02 03:19 PM
P4 overclocking - how do you do it? saturnotaku CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 08-15-02 09:52 AM
Does overclocking reduce the life of a graphics card? Cool Barn NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 08-06-02 12:06 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.