Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-20-08, 06:55 AM   #61
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
I think I'm gonna wait another week to order my case since I'm still not 100% decided on one yet.

Yeah, I've always heard that Codec packs aren't the best way to go. I used the K-Lite pack for the longest time, but when it comes to VMC, AVIs won't play.
that is because k-lite has no x64 support and vista media center is pure x64
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 07:30 AM   #62
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

I tried PureVideo again but for some reason it's just too dang choppy for MPEG-2 M2TS streams go figure that a software solution (Mainconcept) is more smooth lol!

Finally got Black Hawk Down encoded the way I want (first try it didn't detect the video as progressive > and dropped my framerate from 23.976 to 19!!! Ugh chop-city - this is the reason I'm back to using DGIndex to verify that it's progressive), 39GB's down to 11.5GB's (AC3 only tho, no LPCM *tear*), now that's how you save space! Visually I could not tell the difference between the BR original and my re-encode. I <3 this. All I need now is a dual harpertown encoder box and I'll be in heaven hehe, using my main machine atm is teh sux.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
normally i would agree, stay away from stuff like klite codec packs. but Vista Cocec Pack is very basic.

FFDSHOW 32bit/64bit
Halli Media Splitter
AC3Config
Gabest
XVID + 64bit extension
RealMedia Support

that is pretty much all, it has every component that i would normally install. Just in one simple pack.
I've actually started shying away from FFDShow at least for the time being. Really my only use for FFDShow at this time would be to attempt to enhance a DVD-level res video and even then you've gotta go in and tinker on a per-DVD basis. I don't mind doing such things once on a re-encode, I would rather not do it on a viewing basis as I would be changing settings more then actually watching movies hehe.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 07:36 AM   #63
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

i use gabest for mpeg2, had few issues with mainconcept in the past.

about the progressive thing, that is a common problem when converting HD-DVD to BR. Especially with VC1 and H264 steams. It is easier to fix on VC1 thanks to VC1conv utility that removes the pulldown.

on H264 sometimes can be abit more tricky sometimes.

i also see no difference when re-encoding huge movies. if done properly there really is little to no difference.

about the re-encoding, I have quad core phenon server/media server that i use for encoding. around 30-40% then my intel machine, but atleast the intel system is free to other things.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:22 AM   #64
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
that is because k-lite has no x64 support and vista media center is pure x64
K-Lite's 64-bit pack isn't really 64-bit?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:25 AM   #65
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

apparently it isn't, other wise it would work.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:27 AM   #66
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
i use gabest for mpeg2, had few issues with mainconcept in the past.
I did initially but after setting merits/blocks in MPC's external filters all is well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
about the progressive thing, that is a common problem when converting HD-DVD to BR. Especially with VC1 and H264 steams. It is easier to fix on VC1 thanks to VC1conv utility that removes the pulldown.

on H264 sometimes can be abit more tricky sometimes.
Pulldown's are a pain in the *bleep*.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
i also see no difference when re-encoding huge movies. if done properly there really is little to no difference.
Tru dat, the only cruddy part with BR are the subtitles, the whole idea of "image" based subtitles was a bad idea IMHO. SupRip's OCR is less-then reliable most of the time so I've pretty much given up hope on some BR subtitles (especially ones where they differ from DVD).

I'm all BR -> 264 MKV atm as I don't have any HD-DVD's, once I get caught up on my BR's I will start re-doing some of my older DVD's that have yet to make it to BR, I'm shying away from buying any HD-DVD since the format is dead.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
about the re-encoding, I have quad core phenon server/media server that i use for encoding. around 30-40% then my intel machine, but atleast the intel system is free to other things.
I've got an encoder machine lined up on NewEgg, but I'm kinda worried especially with the x264 folks talkin about the newer FPGA-based PCI-e cards coming out in the $200-$400 range that will just blow away even CUDA on h.264 encoding. Perhaps if I wait long enuff I can simply parts out my current Gaming box for an encoder box, till then I shall bide my time and just run my re-encodes overnight heh.

Ran into a nice little problem with DGIndex last night w/Ocean's Thirteen (VC-1), found out it can't do VC-1 at all. Luckily the analyze in AVISynth detected all progressive (as I suspected it would). I hadn't watched my BR copy of Ocean's 13 until I started working on the re-encode...wow now I realize why it was so low rated on Blu-Ray.com...HORRIBLE PQ.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:33 AM   #67
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

about VC1

Quote:
vc1conv VC-1 Elementary Stream Converter
Converts HD DVD 29.97 fps streams with pulldown flags to 23.976 fps progressive


http://www.w6rz.net/vc1conv.zip

very simple to use, demux the video to video.vc1 and run CMD and type

vc1conv video.vc1 fixed.vc1

program name then source and then target.

that is all, all pulldown will be removed.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:34 AM   #68
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

i believe ripbot and eac3to also use vc1conv for their functions.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-20-08, 08:36 AM   #69
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monolyth View Post
I did initially but after setting merits/blocks in MPC's external filters all is well.
MPC? media player classic? are those merits system wide?

I use WMP11 for all playback, PowerDVD Ultra8 for BD on Disc.

I play/set merits with gspot
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:46 AM   #70
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
MPC? media player classic? are those merits system wide?

I use WMP11 for all playback, PowerDVD Ultra8 for BD on Disc.

I play/set merits with gspot
Yah their system-wide, verified w/GSpot.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:51 AM   #71
Monolyth
Meow Mix Kills
 
Monolyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: END OF DAYS
Posts: 1,228
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
about VC1



http://www.w6rz.net/vc1conv.zip

very simple to use, demux the video to video.vc1 and run CMD and type

vc1conv video.vc1 fixed.vc1

program name then source and then target.

that is all, all pulldown will be removed.
I prefer TSMuxer for such operations.
__________________
Gaming 5.0
Asus R4 Extreme | Core i7 3930K @ 4.8Ghz Corsair H100 | 16GB G.Skill@1866Mhz | EVGA GTX TITAN Superclocked | Sammy 40" LCD
Asus Essence One | OCZ Revo 3 120GB, Revo 3 X2 240GB | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX1200 | Windows 8.1 Pro


Storage 2.0
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD | Core i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz NH-D14 | 16GB G.Skill@1600Mhz | Areca 1880ix-16 RAID HBA
Temp Storage - 1.8TB (4x450GB Hitachi 15k RPM SAS) | 18TB (12x3TB Hitachi RAID10) | HSPC Tech Station | Corsair HX620 | Windows 7 x64
Monolyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-08, 08:58 AM   #72
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Building Another HTPC

i use txmuxer all the time for demux'ing and remuxing but when ever i tried it to remove pulldown from vc1(HD-DVD) it never worked correctly.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building Cloud Infrastructure with Windows Server 2012 and System Center 2012 SP1 News Archived News Items 0 05-27-12 03:00 PM
Kizuna Update: In Japan, Building a New Kids' Sports Field News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 08:00 AM
nvidia: LEGO used CUDA and GPU computing as building blocks to help them build... blo News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 09:00 PM
Exercises in democracy: building a digital public library News Archived News Items 0 05-06-12 06:50 PM
Building new computer, need help. LORD-eX-Bu General Hardware 5 09-10-02 05:11 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.