Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-08, 10:40 AM   #1
fldc
Registered User
 
fldc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Motala, Sweden
Posts: 39
Send a message via ICQ to fldc Send a message via MSN to fldc Send a message via Yahoo to fldc
Default Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

I get corruptions using the option PixmapCacheSize after a while, mostly in firefox, text dissappears and only lines are visible, this can be fixed temporarily by switching to terminal and back. This is with KDE 4.1 and a GeForce 7300 GS.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (110.3 KB, 92 views)
fldc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 10:59 AM   #2
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Do these artifacts similar to those reported in this thread: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118100?
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 04:10 PM   #3
fldc
Registered User
 
fldc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Motala, Sweden
Posts: 39
Send a message via ICQ to fldc Send a message via MSN to fldc Send a message via Yahoo to fldc
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

I don't know actually, here is a link to a screenshot.
http://www.sobril.net/snapshot8.png
fldc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 04:16 PM   #4
kernelOfTruth
Gentoo Linux addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
Posts: 202
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Quote:
Originally Posted by fldc View Post
I don't know actually, here is a link to a screenshot.
http://www.sobril.net/snapshot8.png

those corruptions rather resemble those experienced by pawels133,
unfortunately I can't find the picture posted by him right now ...
__________________
2.6.30-rc3-zen0+ w. compcache, reiser4 + ccreg40 (lzo-compression + checksumming)
gcc version 4.4.0-pre9999 built 20090425 (prerelease) rev. 146764 (Gentoo SVN)
gcc version 4.4.0 (Gentoo Hardened 4.4.0-r1, espf-0.2.1)
Ubuntu Jaunty/9.04 x86_64 Dell XPS M1330
kernelOfTruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 05:29 PM   #5
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander View Post
Do these artifacts similar to those reported in this thread: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=118100?
No its a differnt one I can reproduce the it (same as the screenshot) using 177.68 which should have fixed the one you linked to.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-08, 05:47 PM   #6
Cimi
Registered User
 
Cimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Padua, Italy
Posts: 96
Send a message via ICQ to Cimi Send a message via AIM to Cimi Send a message via MSN to Cimi Send a message via Yahoo to Cimi
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

I have reproduced the bug, mainly in two situations:
1) inside gnome with compiz, pasting some text into gnome-terminal
2) running firefox with kde4 (using kwin with opengl)

Nvidia 6800GT
__________________
/\ndr3a
http://www.cimitan.com
ItalianUser
Cimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-08, 02:04 AM   #7
pawels133
Registered User
 
pawels133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Quote:
Originally Posted by kernelOfTruth View Post
those corruptions rather resemble those experienced by pawels133,
unfortunately I can't find the picture posted by him right now ...
Here it is:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...8&postcount=67

Geforce 6800XT, IPP=2. With IPP=1 those artifacts aren't present, but scrolling and some animations are slower.
__________________
Not everybody can smoke and drink... xd
pawels133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-08, 07:29 AM   #8
fldc
Registered User
 
fldc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Motala, Sweden
Posts: 39
Send a message via ICQ to fldc Send a message via MSN to fldc Send a message via Yahoo to fldc
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cimi View Post
I have reproduced the bug, mainly in two situations:
1) inside gnome with compiz, pasting some text into gnome-terminal
2) running firefox with kde4 (using kwin with opengl)

Nvidia 6800GT
Yeah, this is also with kde4 using compositing and firefox.
fldc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-08, 03:51 AM   #9
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Thank you for reporting that issue. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to reproduce the problem yet.
A few questions which answers may help me pinpoint the issue and fix it:
  • When using firefox with KDE4 OpenGL compositing, approximately how long does the problem take to reproduce?
  • Does turning off the PixmapCacheSize X configuration option completely prevent it from happening?
  • Does setting PixmapCacheSize to an extremely low value (100) affect the reproduction rate of the issue?
  • What version of firefox are you running?
  • Does the problem reproduce with KDE4.0 as well? (if you have it handy somewhere)
  • Are you using sub-pixel hinting? Does the problem go away if you change your text anti-aliasing settings?
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 03:59 AM   #10
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Quote:
Unfortunately, I haven't been able to reproduce the problem yet.
Please try with a GF7 GPU with IPP set to 2.
Quote:
When using firefox with KDE4 OpenGL compositing, approximately how long does the problem take to reproduce?
I don't use KDE but GNOME + compiz and it happens here too.
It shows up almost immediately.
Just open some pages in firefox and try to scroll.
Quote:
Does turning off the PixmapCacheSize X configuration option completely prevent it from happening?
No, the only thing that triggers it is IPP=2 setting IPP=1 fixes it.
Quote:
Does setting PixmapCacheSize to an extremely low value (100) affect the reproduction rate of the issue?
See above its unrelated to this.
Quote:
What version of firefox are you running?
3.0.1
Quote:
Does the problem reproduce with KDE4.0 as well? (if you have it handy somewhere)
See above it happens for me without using KDE at all.
I also successfully reproduced it without compiz (plain GNOME + metacity).
Quote:
Are you using sub-pixel hinting? Does the problem go away if you change your text anti-aliasing settings?
No, I am not.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 04:50 AM   #11
Cimi
Registered User
 
Cimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Padua, Italy
Posts: 96
Send a message via ICQ to Cimi Send a message via AIM to Cimi Send a message via MSN to Cimi Send a message via Yahoo to Cimi
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

both kde4 and gnome, with gnome it seems to appear in every gnome-terminal window I open, under kde4 just opening firefox (firefox works fine with compiz)
__________________
/\ndr3a
http://www.cimitan.com
ItalianUser
Cimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-08, 05:11 AM   #12
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: Corruptions using PixmapCacheSize

Thanks to your information I was able to get a reliable reproduction of this text corruption issue; the next BETA release from the 177 series should include a fix for this problem.
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.