Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-08, 02:52 AM   #13
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

I find it a bit strange that it is made so hard to determine how much memory there really is on the card.
E.g. on my system an "lspci -v" says:
Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
I presume this means that there physically is 256M on the card.
But the X server logs only show:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes
This is also what is prominently shown on the box and the manufacturer website. 512MB videocard.

So, it seems a bit smelly. Something is being covered up, some specification is inflated to look better than the competition, hiding the truth as much as possible.
It would be more honest to report the physcal video card memory separately from the total amount including TurboCache.

Is the 256MB TurboCache memory in the above example permanently allocated from system memory? Or is this only allocated at the time it is required for the rendering job being done?
Is there some way to specify that you value the system memory more than the increased rendering speed, and want the card to use only its own memory?
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 03:24 AM   #14
Fackamato
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 366
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

I've no idea but could it be the aperture size?
Fackamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-08, 03:52 AM   #15
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fackamato View Post
I've no idea but could it be the aperture size?
Maybe... it is really difficult to tell what is the true memory size and what is the turbocache size... this is something that could be improved in the logfile.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-08, 08:30 AM   #16
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronP View Post
Yes, but accessing system memory from the GPU is still faster than running out of GPU-accessible memory and performing the rendering in software.
Is this done automagically by the driver ? I mean, if the driver finds out that the GPU runs out of accessible texture memory then will it start rendering in CPU SW ? Is it it the driver layer or the OpenGL (or DirectX) layer that does this ?

Then the user would only see a performance drop with no obvious reason. Actually there would be 2 performance drops:
  1. when the GPU's on-board GDDR is filled up
  2. and when the GPU-available main memory is filled up.

...provided that my speculation is right
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-08, 10:40 AM   #17
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

The memory manager is very complicated and I don't know the details about how it works, sorry.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-08, 03:49 PM   #18
dickeywang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

My Quadro FX 570M (only 128MB vram, Lenovo removed half of it on the 14" model of T61p ) is showing 512MB VRAM in nvidia-settings. Not sure if it's normal since this card is not in the list of cards that support Turbo cache.
dickeywang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 07:36 AM   #19
Eltigre88
ASUS Lover!!!
 
Eltigre88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Essex Jct. Vermont
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

Riddle me this... Mine has more than 3 times the memory of the card allocated. I have seen it use 900 megs to run the CRYSIS benchmark. Is this still turbo cached? See pic.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth P67
Intel SB 2600K 4.4 GhZ
16 GB Gskill RipJaws DDR3 2133
MSI 680GTX Twin Frozr 4GD5/OC, Galaxy 680GTX 4GB GC SLI
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
ThermalTake ToughPower 850W PSU
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
16076 3dMark11 score

Last edited by Eltigre88; 10-20-12 at 07:35 AM.
Eltigre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-08, 12:13 PM   #20
lacrimstein
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: GeForce 8400M GS w/128MB is reported as 256MB

Same with my 256MB 8600MGT - 512MB are reported.
lacrimstein is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.