Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-08, 05:30 AM   #205
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

I get 100% scaling in Crysis. Or at least I did with my GT's. Not tested the GTX's.

Running one GT



Running GT's in SLI (more than double FPS!)

Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-08, 05:35 AM   #206
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

Just noticed you've got two different cards. It shouldn't make a difference, but it's something to look in to. I would try flashing them with the same BIOS. I assume you've tried different drivers!?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-08, 05:39 AM   #207
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

Can you test using the timedemo at a non-GPU limited situation? 1680x1050, DX9, High with single and dual cards? It might be that my CPU can't handle the extra overload of syncing the cards...

I have tried different drivers. The thing is, it actually scales when I force AA or try Very High. The thing that I find weird is the performance drop when it doesn't. Also, this happens in Crysis only. In other games, it scales great...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-08, 05:52 AM   #208
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

I ran the GPU test a few weeks ago and it all seemed to be scaling and running fine. I'll do another test tonight with and without SLI enabled. I'm at work ATM.

Just something to test... Try swapping the cards round in the slots.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-08, 07:59 AM   #209
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

Mate, I don't see the reason. I mean the cards scale in other games and in Very High Crysis, so I don't think they have any problems or anything. My only question is the overhead SLI introduces. If you can at least reproduce my results at the specific resolution, then it's pretty obvious we're talking about crappy scaling with the SLI overhead making it worse.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-08, 09:34 AM   #210
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

Been doing some testing. Apparently I am very CPU limited! Go figure, at 3Ghz with a Quad Core... I dropped Shadows from High to Low and I got somewhat better scaling. Regarding SLI, it was enabled at a map where I was receiveing minimums that where determined by my CPU. Enabling SLI overloaded my CPU to frames below 20 making the game unplayable... Looks like I will have to settle for medium shadows for SLI...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-08, 10:07 AM   #211
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Crysis SLi Performance Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
You're only running an FX-60 though. You might be experiencing a CPU bottleneck. I'm wondering what somebody with a Core2 at 3.4GHz+ would get if using SLi... hopefully better results.
It runs ok now but still low min fps,maybe 2gb's more ram would help?????
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-08, 10:42 AM   #212
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Crysis SLi Performance Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaxly24 View Post
It runs ok now but still low min fps,maybe 2gb's more ram would help?????
I would say so. With 2Gb of ram I noticed stutters in open areas when looking around, due to the textures loading. When I went to 4Gb the stutters pretty much went away, because the game could keep more textures loaded, therefore there was no waiting for the HD's to load em up. Also, the more physical ram you have, the less the PC needs to use the (slow ass) page file memory.

So, yes. More ram should help loads with your minimum FPS .

EDIT: It's even more of an issue in Vista because the OS chews up more of your ram.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-08, 11:26 PM   #213
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

Moving from 2 to 4 gigs of memory made a major difference for me as well with Crysis
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-08, 07:29 AM   #214
Skinner
Registered User
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,128
Default Re: Crysis SLi Performance Feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaxly24 View Post
It runs ok now but still low min fps,maybe 2gb's more ram would help?????
Where did you get that wallpaper?
__________________
*Intel i7@3,8gHz*Asus P6T Deluxe* 2x Sapphire HD7970 3GB Crossfire *6 GB Corsair Dominator 1600C8*OCZ Vertex 120 GB SSD*adaptec 19160U160*Intel X25 80 GB Quantum Atlas 15KII SCSI U160 147Gig* WD Raptor 300 GB*Apple 24" LED Cinema *X-Fi Titanium*Logitech Z5500*Coolmaster RP 1000W*W7 64 Home *
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-08, 09:58 PM   #215
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

My new rig plays Crysis Warhead beautifully.

Crysis runs great as well, though I get some sound pops from time to time.

I think my video card needs more RAM. I'll upgrade when a DirectX 11 card is out.

Woops...didn't see SLI in the title. I'm referring to a single card.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-08, 01:18 PM   #216
lapino
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 194
Default Re: Crysis SLI Performance Feedback

And not texture popping, bad or no AF etc? Seems somethings wrong with Ati?
lapino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 04:34 AM
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.