Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-08, 10:27 PM   #1
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

I have a XFX GTX 260, had it since July 8th, kept getting

Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding


updated my drivers problems seemed to be fixed, but now things are getting worst, everytime I try to launch any 3d game, after about 5 minutes I will blue screen and or the game will freeze and will get that message


I tried running furmark and about 2 minutes in I started to see all sorts of particles on the screen and then app just crashed.

2D is just fine, but I guess the card is dead.

The weird thing is temps never got super high when all of this was happening, but I guess just bad card. Man this sucks.


anyone know how long it takes to get an RMA? from XFX?
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 03:55 AM   #2
offi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

It may not be your card, it could be your psu, nead just over 500w power for 260 and around 700w power for 280.



Also try new beta drivers. 177.98
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

Last edited by offi; 09-02-08 at 03:59 AM. Reason: just adding beta driver link
offi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 06:01 AM   #3
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

my psu should be more then enough corsair 750tx

and i have tried 3 different drivers already
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 06:21 AM   #4
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

what temps are you getting.

plus the nvlddmkm error most of the time is causes by software issues.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 06:31 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

Quote:
Originally Posted by offi View Post
Also try new beta drivers. 177.98
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us
177.98? where
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 08:11 AM   #6
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

i think he means 177.92
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 08:19 AM   #7
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
what temps are you getting.

plus the nvlddmkm error most of the time is causes by software issues.
rivatuner is telling me in hardware log around 70-80


it is happening on a consitent basis now i run any game 5 minutes in game boom it Blue screes and reboots


when i run furmark i start see artifacting and then the app crashes in 2 minutes



whenver i install new driver i make sure to uninstall, boot in safe mode, run driver cleaner, then reboot and install new driver,



i have tried several different drivers including newest drivers 177.92
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 08:28 AM   #8
offi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator View Post
i think he means 177.92
thanks yep i do ^^ was in a rush and misstyped ><
offi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-08, 08:31 AM   #9
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

yea i would assume the card is dead... hope the RMA service from XFX works well for you
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 08:31 AM   #10
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthunter View Post
rivatuner is telling me in hardware log around 70-80


it is happening on a consitent basis now i run any game 5 minutes in game boom it Blue screes and reboots


when i run furmark i start see artifacting and then the app crashes in 2 minutes



whenver i install new driver i make sure to uninstall, boot in safe mode, run driver cleaner, then reboot and install new driver,



i have tried several different drivers including newest drivers 177.92
I feel for ya,have you tried underclocking it to see if that cools enough to play? I'd still rma it if you feel confident it's not a software issue
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 08:42 AM   #11
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaxly24 View Post
I feel for ya,have you tried underclocking it to see if that cools enough to play? I'd still rma it if you feel confident it's not a software issue

no i have not tried to underclock, the card came overlocked

i guess i can try that to see if it works tonight

i have a ticket opened with XFX now via their ticket system lets see what they say

hopefully it dont take too long to get a replacement
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-08, 09:12 AM   #12
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Looks like my GTX260 needs to be RMA =(

just curious i saw this post

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...5&postcount=32

and someone said they lowered his memory and that fixed his issue

now i ran memtest overnight about a month ago and i am not overclocking my memory i am running what it says to run at


but do you think i should lower my memory settings?

I have OCZ 4 GB DDR2 1066 and I think it is set at 5-5-5-18 but not sure unless looking at it
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going on my third RMA with eVGA! DoinkyBottoms NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 09-13-02 07:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.