Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-08, 03:09 AM   #109
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Man, I'm really torn with this game...

I'm hearing a lot of comments about it not having any replay value once you've done it all once, but then I hear about all sorts of cool things that you can do and I'd like to try it.

I don't generally buy full priced games, especially ones that are known for having little replay value... but this sounds like its really enjoyable at least the first time through.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 03:18 AM   #110
Phillychuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I was thinking it would have replay value since everything you do in the early stages changes the outcome later on? I'm getting it mainly because I'll probably play it a bit, and my girlfriend might enjoy it. I need a game to keep her happy because I hate having Sims2 on my machine!
__________________
Phenom II x4 965 | Asus M4A79XTD EVO | Corsair 4GB DDR3-1600mhz | Diamond ATI 5770 | WD Black 1TB | BFG 550w
Phillychuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 04:05 AM   #111
Nza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phillychuck View Post
I was thinking it would have replay value since everything you do in the early stages changes the outcome later on? I'm getting it mainly because I'll probably play it a bit, and my girlfriend might enjoy it. I need a game to keep her happy because I hate having Sims2 on my machine!
Not really. You'll have different planets, plants, creatures etc the next time through, but everything you actually do will just about be the same. The same stages, the same actions and activities. When you get to the space stage it's just a daily grind - collect spice, sell spice, attend to pirate or enemy invasions, colonize planets, rinse and repeat many times over. It doesn't really matter what your creature looks like doing it, the gameplay itself is pretty repetitive and pattern driven.

Spore is awesome but it has plenty of room to expand into a much deeper game.
Nza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 04:10 AM   #112
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I'm hoping they can make it deeper with an add on or two. I wouldn't mind picking it up with a few extra bits later on if it meant the game would be more enjoyable overall.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 09:03 AM   #113
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

So has anyone from the US gotten it yet?
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 09:09 AM   #114
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

When you get to the tribal stage do all of your creatures look identical or do they have slight variations?

BTW, the vehicle editor looks sweet. That's the first I've seen of it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 09:17 AM   #115
Gorion
Papahs Pleez
 
Gorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 715
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
So has anyone from the US gotten it yet?
I have it preloaded. Waiting for unlock at 10am pacific.
__________________
The Bird is the Word.
Gorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 09:33 AM   #116
Phillychuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I'm trying to decide to go hunting for it at target or walmart but not sure it'll be on the shelves since in my experience the big retailers don't really care about release dates.

The smaller Gamestop / EBgames look like you like your an alien if you don't pre-order and try to grab a copy on release day.

I want to buy it from Direct2Drive but am wondering if you get a backupable download or that craptastic EA downloader thing.

Oh, and noticed this... Direct2Drive charges sales tax, but steam and EA don't. If I got to pay tax I'll go to target lol.
__________________
Phenom II x4 965 | Asus M4A79XTD EVO | Corsair 4GB DDR3-1600mhz | Diamond ATI 5770 | WD Black 1TB | BFG 550w
Phillychuck is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-07-08, 10:04 AM   #117
Gorion
Papahs Pleez
 
Gorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 715
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

I used teh craptastic ea downloader thing.
__________________
The Bird is the Word.
Gorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 12:11 PM   #118
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Crap I forgot it was available this morning, just started my download now...pretty slow from D2D at 150kbps, that's pretty weak.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 02:09 PM   #119
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

i picked up spore this morning at BB, good game so far
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 04:34 PM   #120
Phillychuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Spore? Where's yours?

Walmart had plenty of them in stock, girlfriend seems to like it, I'm still on cell stage :-)
__________________
Phenom II x4 965 | Asus M4A79XTD EVO | Corsair 4GB DDR3-1600mhz | Diamond ATI 5770 | WD Black 1TB | BFG 550w
Phillychuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Spore Complete and Darkspore, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.