Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-08, 05:06 AM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
hmm i am gonna try that ress captn...i wonder if my monitor can do 85hz on that..

oh what...cant add custom resolutions in ati ccc..haha -.-.
I added it to the nv_disp.inf manually before installation since most 4:3 resolutions have been removed (since obviously everyone on the entire planet is using an LCD now... ).
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-08, 04:02 PM   #14
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Doesn't it completely change the gameplay though?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 04:40 AM   #15
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Well I just got to the end. I guess.

Apparently I didn't play the game correctly because I got a pretty lame ending...

Nice to know that now.

Question for those who have finished (highlight):
Is there any way to effect what happens at the end without redoing the whole game? I got the "I want to be rich" ending, which needless to say, sucks.

Also, this game is badly in need of English subtitles. It would have been nice to know what the wish granter was saying to me.

I also never found "door to the secret lab" and it was never marked on my map. The whole last part from Pripyat to the end seemed sort of rushed so I don't really know what happened.


EDIT: Nevermind... see my next post.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 06:24 AM   #16
asd
Registered User
 
asd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 196
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Anyone know how to join freedom in OL? I completed all the major mission for them, now the Duty just hate me and shot when they see me, so I have no choice but to clean out the whole Duty base, now I really need to know how to join the freedom.?
asd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-08, 06:36 AM   #17
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

OK, I went back and found the place I was SUPPOSED to go. At least it was right in the last level.

Final thoughts (spoilers):
I tried the ending where I join C-Consciousness. Didn't seem like the right choice. So I tried again with the other one.

The whole ending level with the portals and stuff seemed reaaaallllly sloppy and completely unnecessary. Especially since the ending video seemed to pick up right where the conversation with C-Consciousness left off. I actually got stuck in a few areas that seemed unfinished but had items in them. I thought it was the right way so I quicksaved and then I found I was stuck and had to reload from the beginning of that scene. Very annoying. And the earthquake thing was pretty frustrating when trying to out shoot a sniper.

Still, the "good" ending video seemed pretty good. I love the CG style they used for the videos in this game. Very realistic looking, yet stylish. I like what they did with the story too. It came together pretty well considering the rough translation.


The ending portion from Pripyat on felt a lot more rough and unpolished than the rest of the game, so that kinda sucked, but overall I give the game an 8 with mods. Its an awesome game, it just has a LOT of flaws. If the translation had been better, there were english subtitles for the Russian speech, the last few areas were more solid and the whole roof-top portal level was completely cut I'd give it an easy 9. The gameplay is very fresh and it doesn't play like any other game. Hopefully clear-sky keeps the same gameplay style and just polishes everything better.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 01:48 PM   #18
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0 View Post
my cordon at night video...

this is just a short video but the difference is very noticable on all aspects. this mod truly polished the game.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSnEaJ5oApA
that's entirely too dark. they must have forgotten that even on a moonless night, your eyes will adjust and you'll still see SOMETHING. I've spent many nights outside away from the city and not once has it been pitch black.

And the fact that the moon is out on the game in that video you recorded tells me that yeah it needs to be dark becuase it's at night but that there needs to be some moonlight illuminating the environment.

They get an A for effort but D- in execution.

And to top it off, a camp fire should light up a LOT more than a little 8 foot radius around it. Double fail.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 01:54 PM   #19
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

i drove a Moskvich before
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-08, 01:56 PM   #20
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
that's entirely too dark. they must have forgotten that even on a moonless night, your eyes will adjust and you'll still see SOMETHING. I've spent many nights outside away from the city and not once has it been pitch black.

And the fact that the moon is out on the game in that video you recorded tells me that yeah it needs to be dark becuase it's at night but that there needs to be some moonlight illuminating the environment.

They get an A for effort but D- in execution.

And to top it off, a camp fire should light up a LOT more than a little 8 foot radius around it. Double fail.
If you make the vid fullscreen your eyes will adjust and its really not that dark. It only looks pitch black because its on a white background.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-08-08, 06:11 PM   #21
Melfranks
 
Melfranks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unstable_Hero View Post
with nvidia 8800 AA works in vista native. Xp needs nhancer aa modes. Performance takes big hit.
XP does not need nHancer, AA works from the NVIDIA control panel.

Mel
Melfranks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-08, 04:52 PM   #22
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Take you riding in my car, car. Take you riding in my car, car. I'll take you riding in my car.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-08, 05:40 PM   #23
Noriega
你妈妈喜欢的阴茎
 
Noriega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 波兰
Posts: 2,176
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Take you riding in my car, car. Take you riding in my car, car. I'll take you riding in my car.
Click clack, open up the door, boys front door, back door, clickety clack
__________________
Noriega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-08, 10:30 PM   #24
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Ok..playing STALKER on new GPU...Mods?

just re-installed, patched, installed float32, weather overhaul 2 and oblivion lost. Very fun. I never really played it at all before.. maybe 10 minutes, got bored and went to something else. this is about the only game I've yet to actually give a fair shake so I'm glad I went back to it.

I'll go ahead and say that the first encounter with the invisible mutant... holy ish.. I about pissed myself. I had killed all the soldiers down in that sewer type place with the green radiation bubbles after I rescued the mole but I heard something...not human and couldn't see anything so I assumed it was the developers way of messing with me. I hit a dead end and backtracked back through the section and then heard it again and it was like right behind me so I turned around and boom there it was.

Then that other one that sent a bunch of rats at me and then does that wierd camera zoom trick attack... man.. this stuff is pretty freaky.


Oh one thing. I don't know if I'm stuck or not but the mole and a few other good guys are all next to the entrance to the underground sewer I went into. I came out near an army base, snagged the documents and it says to get the mole to safety but he's not showing up on my map?? The green target on the map is loacted I guess where I'm supposed to take him but I don't know where he went or how to get him to follow me or anything.

halp!
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:40 PM
GTC Poster Session Shows Breadth of GPU Research News Archived News Items 0 05-15-12 01:50 AM
GPU Tech Conference Off to a Fast Start in San Jose News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 05:00 PM
Can we all be honest about STALKER jkmetal Gaming Central 53 05-10-12 09:32 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.