Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-08, 10:22 PM   #1
quarg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?

hello all, i was wondering if i can get compiz on my old gateway, w/ my nVidia Riva tnt2 pro card, running ubuntu 8.04 right now, it won't load any desktop effects, which use the compiz engine, so i havent bothered downloading it yet, does anyone know if this graphics card will even support desktop effects? it has 16 MB memory. my specs for the rest of the computer are: 1GHZ PIII CPU, 512MB RAM.
quarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-08, 12:41 AM   #2
biAji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?

Sadly , I don't think you can do that thing...
biAji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-08, 10:03 AM   #3
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?

First compiz requires the GLX extension 'GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap' which isn't supported on the TNT drivers. Even if it was supported compiz requires a fast videocard and PC to run well. If you want this you need to upgrade. As you are still using a p3 1.0GHz I would upgrade as it isn't that expensive (even if the prices of new hardware are high, even a second hand p4 or a64 would be a nice boost already)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-08, 11:10 AM   #4
joffe
Registered User
 
joffe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 171
Default Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?

Compiz runs pretty well with my Geforce4 420 Go which came with my notebook (celebrating five years this september and it has only 32MB of dedicated graphics memory!) As Thunderbird said you should be able to get some really cheap, relatively old graphics card and still be capable of running compiz.
__________________
GA-MA790GP-DS4H, ATI Radeon HD3300, AMD Phenom X4 9850, 4GB PC8500 [Ubuntu 8.10]
Toshiba 2450-201, GeForce4 420 Go 32MB, Pentium4 2.4GHz, 512 MB PC2700 [Ubuntu 8.10]
joffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-08, 04:16 AM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?

Just a videocard is not enough. Your pc offers more than twice the performance of his old p3. He should invest in a new motherboard + cpu + gpu + mem. Even an integrated one would already be a huge improvement. I think that for about 150 euro you can have a nice combination.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-08, 08:40 PM   #6
evil_core
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: nVidia Riva TNT2 pro and Compiz?

If I remember good I was running beryl on 466MHz and TNT2 with XGL. I am not shure about if it was working and performance. I only remember that RENDER composite was too slow on this card to be usable, but it were old times when nvidia introduced composite(not GL one).
evil_core is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.