Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-08, 02:59 PM   #1
bibilefou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default [solved] 9500-GT with 173.14.12, TV out ?

I've got a Zotac 9500-GT (with fan) and can not get the TV output working.
TV is well detected (Windows XP or Linux with latest NVidia official drivers) but I got a black screen !

Please, can someone tell me what to do to have TV output working ??

My TV is a CRT plugged with a Composite/SVideo adapter on Svideo of the Component output cable. It was working very good with my (dead) MSI 8600-GT, with the same type of cable.

Last edited by bibilefou; 09-20-08 at 05:12 PM.
bibilefou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-08, 10:43 AM   #2
bibilefou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: 9500-GT with 173.14.12, TV out ?

So :
Code:
Number of GPUs: 1

GPU #0:
  Name      : GeForce 9500 GT
  PCI BusID : PCI:1:0:0

  Number of Display Devices: 2

  Display Device 0 (TV-0):
     No EDID information available.

  Display Device 1 (DFP-0):
     EDID Name             : ViewSonic VX2025wm
     Minimum HorizSync     : 30.000 kHz
     Maximum HorizSync     : 82.000 kHz
     Minimum VertRefresh   : 50 Hz
     Maximum VertRefresh   : 75 Hz
     Maximum PixelClock    : 170.000 MHz
     Maximum Width         : 1680 pixels
     Maximum Height        : 1050 pixels
     Preferred Width       : 1680 pixels
     Preferred Height      : 1050 pixels
     Preferred VertRefresh : 60 Hz
     Physical Width        : 430 mm
     Physical Height       : 270 mm
Or, less than 10 seconds later :

Code:
Number of GPUs: 1

GPU #0:
  Name      : GeForce 9500 GT
  PCI BusID : PCI:1:0:0

  Number of Display Devices: 1

  Display Device 0 (DFP-0):
     EDID Name             : ViewSonic VX2025wm
     Minimum HorizSync     : 30.000 kHz
     Maximum HorizSync     : 82.000 kHz
     Minimum VertRefresh   : 50 Hz
     Maximum VertRefresh   : 75 Hz
     Maximum PixelClock    : 170.000 MHz
     Maximum Width         : 1680 pixels
     Maximum Height        : 1050 pixels
     Preferred Width       : 1680 pixels
     Preferred Height      : 1050 pixels
     Preferred VertRefresh : 60 Hz
     Physical Width        : 430 mm
     Physical Height       : 270 mm
bibilefou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-08, 05:12 PM   #3
bibilefou
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: 9500-GT with 173.14.12, TV out ?

Ok, I've found the trick !!!!!!

Just plug a tiny and very slim wire into two pins used by S-VIDEO, on HDTV output of the graphic card.

Plug the wire into pins 3 and 4.
Plug you HDTV component/svideo cable to the card.
Plug your composite cable into the blue female of component.
Enjoy.

I have just tried with Twinview, it works.
bibilefou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-10, 01:15 PM   #4
3togo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: [bug] 9500-GT with 173.14.12, TV out ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bibilefou View Post
I've got a Zotac 9500-GT (with fan) and can not get the TV output working.
TV is well detected (Windows XP or Linux with latest NVidia official drivers) but I got a black screen !

Please, can someone tell me what to do to have TV output working ??

My TV is a CRT plugged with a Composite/SVideo adapter on Svideo of the Component output cable. It was working very good with my (dead) MSI 8600-GT, with the same type of cable.
I am using Galaxy 9500-GT and neither can I get TV-output working. I find that nvidia-settings cannot detect any TV connected.

Using the same cable and xorg.conf, my 6200 work perfectly. Any help?
3togo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-10, 10:15 AM   #5
3togo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: 9500-GT with 173.14.12, TV out ?

I confirm that the following method works for 6200 but not for galaxy 9500gt


Quote:
Originally Posted by bibilefou View Post
Ok, I've found the trick !!!!!!

Just plug a tiny and very slim wire into two pins used by S-VIDEO, on HDTV output of the graphic card.

Plug the wire into pins 3 and 4.
Plug you HDTV component/svideo cable to the card.
Plug your composite cable into the blue female of component.
Enjoy.

I have just tried with Twinview, it works.
3togo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.