Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-03, 05:09 PM   #1
Mojo
Suck my balls
 
Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 62
Default [Rant] Whoever invented Windows Product Activation will SUFFER!!!

Hi y'all, i just wanted to blow off some steam, i dont give a .... whether you read this or not.

I was just trying out those new NForce drivers, and guess what? Now i have to go ask Mr. Microsoft whether im allowed to use my computer anymore? Fair enough - i dont mind clickin a couple o' buttons and getting it done again. (it is a legitimate copy of XP Pro afterall..)

oh wait... "According to our records, the number of times you can activate Windows with this product key has been exceded."

true, i have had to reinstall a fair few times - 9 times out of 10 because Windows gave up the ghost and died, and the rest of the times were due to that god-damned IBM 60GXP which also died routinely every month forcing a reinstall (with a low-level format just to revive it!) In other words, they're asking me to buy a whole new copy of XP, simply because it fcuks up so much i have to re-install?

at least they gave me 3 days to do it this time instead of instantly locking me out of my machine
so, next thing i try is giving them a call and ask very nicely if they will let me carry on using my computer.

they're closed. (out of hours) - then i try the toll number. the number isnt recognised. Don't you think that if they build in a feature that screws people over 24/7, then they should at least offer support for that product 24/7 too?

Okay, rant over. Has anybody else here had any equally infuriating experiences with WPA? Care to share?

Mojo
Mojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-03, 05:54 PM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: [Rant] Whoever invented Windows Product Activation will SUFFER!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Mojo
Okay, rant over. Has anybody else here had any equally infuriating experiences with WPA? Care to share?
Nope. But I gots me a university/corporate copy of XP that requires no activation. Thank you University of Indiana!
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-03, 03:23 PM   #3
Jon
Registered User
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 560
Default

Yep, activating windows is a pain and their "activation servers" always seem to be down whenever I need to reactivate it. Although I have to say that whenever I have called them, they have always given me a code to reactivate it with no questions asked. You have to appreciate the irony though that the only person this type of security hinders is the legimate customers who buy their products, the pirates have no such problems.

My advice is to give them a call, you have the right to reinstall it as many times as you like. I have had to call them about 3 times so far. The last time, I gave away XP Home to my friend to use when I bought XP Pro. I called to reactivate XP Home on his computer and they didn't ask anything, just gave me a number to type.

Good luck!
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-03, 11:01 AM   #4
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default

That definetely sucks. Their trying to stop the people who actually buy the OS instead of the illegal users.
__________________
Pentium 4 2.4ghz @ 3.6ghz
ABIT IC7
Maxtor 200gb IDE
2GB OCZ PC3200 EL platinum.
ATI X800XL
SB Audigy gamer
NEC 2500a 8x8x32
Liteon 52x24x52
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-03, 01:56 AM   #5
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Re: [Rant] Whoever invented Windows Product Activation will SUFFER!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by saturnotaku
Nope. But I gots me a university/corporate copy of XP that requires no activation. Thank you University of Indiana!
Heh, I have one of those too..... but I havnt been to a university in years.. wierd huh?.... oh well
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-03, 09:42 PM   #6
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Ahh, just do what I do, and use their service. Call them at 1am in the morning when you've finally got your PC fixed and activate it by free phone call. Although the phone is answered by a polite person in a 3rd world country on the other side of the world.

Oh, and one little reminder, if you don't want to phone them every day after reformatting a corrupted HDD, when you have a faulty motherboard like I did..... Set the date in the BIOS *BEFORE* you install windows, or else your 2 weeks of grace period is up immediately. And you either have to reinstall again, or make the call.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-03, 11:25 PM   #7
noko
noko
 
noko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 735
Default

I think I am going to stick with W2K as long as possible. I could see me having a rough time with my hardware and then having to talk to who knows who over the phone. Yeah, I probably end up saying a few choice words or two and end up with no OS at all .
__________________
Gigabit DSL, Q6600 @ 3.4ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , PowerColor HD 5870. 24" Acer LCD, 1TB hd with Vista 64 Home Premium.

Foxconn 780G, Athlon64 X2 5600 @ 3ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , eVga 260 GTX. 17" MagAcer LCD, 120gb Vista 32
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-03, 01:44 PM   #8
Dark Jedi
In the TARDIS
 
Dark Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 129
Post WPA seems flawed to me...

Example: I change hardware almost as often as I change my socks. Now up until recently, every time I re-installed XP and went through the online activation, everything was OK. Then, just last week, after yet another re-install, I get the message about exceeding my quota and that I'd have to phone to activate... no problem, phoned on the toll free no, entered the code, away I went. Now... 2 days ago, I was faced with another re-install (yep, I just LOVE re-installing XP... ) so away I went. Got to the online activation... went to activate... expecting the message I got last time... when all of a sudden it activated...

I also have a friend who has run into the same problem... this system seems very strange and annoying to me.
__________________
"It's the end... but the moment has been prepared for"

Moderator - Elite Bastards


Folding for Team nV News
Dark Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-20-03, 11:18 PM   #9
WarheadMM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 170
Default

im not sure....but if you got the pro verison of windows and use a corp key it wont ask to activate. When you call microsoft ask them for a corp key
__________________
A7N8X Deluxe REV 1.04
AMD 2500+
Asylum 5900 (480/980)
1 GB PC 3200
Windows XP Pro SP1
WarheadMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
$15 Windows 8 upgrades available from Microsoft through January 2013 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.