Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-08, 01:11 PM   #1
slimPickens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Unhappy AMD Athlon can't do SSE i.e. SIMD for NVIDIA GeForce 6200

My NVIDIA GeForce 6200/AGP/3DNOW! works fine on FC5. But now I'm upgrading to FC9 and the new NVIDIA driver fails when launching ksmserver (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.12-pkg1.run). The provided legacy drivers also fail.

Further research shows that my legacy AMD Athlon can't do SSE, the SIMD instruction set extension that Intel ripped off from AMD. So AMD can do the same functions, just not the pirated incompatible version conjured up by Intel.

Possible solution: The .run decides it must compile my driver anyway. So, could I turn off a complier switch to force (probably a GNU complier) the compiler to generate no SSE...or, better, to generate the AMD equivalent?!?!?!?!

I need the NVIDIA driver to correctly operate my dual head display system...or should I just loose the NVIDIA card for an ATI? ...or run two video cards and let Xinerama handle it?
slimPickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 02:44 PM   #2
Big P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default Re: AMD Athlon can't do SSE i.e. SIMD for NVIDIA GeForce 6200

You dont bother to mention what fails, but here's a short list of your problems:

The last non-SSE required release of the nvidia drivers was the 96.* legacy release (iirc).
You cannot use Fedora 9 with the legacy Nvidia drivers because it shipped with a pre-release version of xorg with an unsupported ABI.

The legacy drivers haven't been updated with support for it yet so you have to either downgrade xorg or use fedora 8 in the meantime. Or of course you could buy an ATI card and have no proprietary support for fedora 9 for any card.
Big P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 03:11 PM   #3
slimPickens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: AMD Athlon can't do SSE i.e. SIMD for NVIDIA GeForce 6200

ksmserver fails with a generic message. I relaunched it from a shell and got the SSE error message.

...but I get your message.

I'm thinking in the near term (about a month or two b4 buying new) that I'll either use one screen with non-proprietary nv driver or stick in a spare video card sitting around here and hope that nv can drive both through xinerama...one monitor per each card. xorg.conf seems to allow that in its script. I think its another similar nvidia card. Anyone know if that will blow up?
slimPickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 04:45 PM   #4
Big P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 180
Default Re: AMD Athlon can't do SSE i.e. SIMD for NVIDIA GeForce 6200

Just downgrade xorg, unless there's a reason you specifically need xorg-server 1.5? It's easy to do and there are tutorials on the fedora forums.
Big P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-08, 05:53 PM   #5
slimPickens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: AMD Athlon can't do SSE i.e. SIMD for NVIDIA GeForce 6200

er...golly...gee...I don't know how to do that one. Could you point me to such a tutorial???
I guess I'm gonna hafta think this through. downgrade xorg. What'zat mean???
So...my X11 will run as an earlier version that will run an earlier version of an nvidia driver.
Sounds good...um...what else is likely to be incompatible? I think I'll need to choose the legacy nvidia driver carefully.
What else?
slimPickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 09:08 PM   #6
slimPickens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Thumbs down Totally Broken Xorg awaits major surgery.

OK, I attempted to downgrade X11 down to 1.3 and bad things happened...to put it mildly.

I used the following commands from http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...06#post1003106
yum remove xorg-x11-drv-void xorg-x11-drv-mga xorg-x11-drv-fbdev xorg-x11-drv-vesa rhpxl xorg-x11-drv-keyboard xorg-x11-drv-cirrus xorg-x11-drv-vmware xorg-x11-drv-ati xorg-x11-drv-voodoo xorg-x11-drv-sis xorg-x11-drv-i128 xorg-x11-drv-dummy xorg-x11-drv-tdfx xorg-x11-drv-savage xorg-x11-drv-rendition xorg-x11-drv-neomagic xorg-x11-drv-mouse xorg-x11-drv-i810 linuxwacom mesa-libGL-devel

wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...7.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...6.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...0.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...1.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...5.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...2.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/d...4.fc8.i386.rpm
wget http://ftp.linux.org.uk/pub/distribu...2.fc8.i386.rpm

rpm -U --oldpackage mesa-libGL-7.0.1-7.fc8.i386.rpm
yum remove xorg-x11-server-common gdm
rpm -U --oldpackage xorg-x11-drv-evdev-1.1.2-5.fc8.i386.rpm xorg-x11-drv-keyboard-1.2.2-2.fc8.i386.rpm xorg-x11-drv-mouse-1.2.3-1.fc8.i386.rpm xorg-x11-drv-vesa-1.3.0-10.fc8.i386.rpm xorg-x11-drv-void-1.1.1-6.fc8.i386.rpm xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.3.0.0-44.fc8.i386.rpm synaptics-0.14.6-2.fc8.i386.rpm

The synaptics package isn't at the listed site anymore, so I grabbed elsewhere in .sk
The xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.3.0.0-44.fc8.i386.rpm cannot be found ANWHERE. The closest I could find was 1.3.0.0-47.fc8.i386.rpm, so I used that.

The first command erased 153 packages, but my readings and common sense suggested this would happen.

The rpm update of mesa-libGL failed with hundreds of conflicts. So I stuck in --force, but to no avail.
The huge number of conflicts are with mesa-dri-drivers.i386. I'm reluctant to erase that since that has MANY dependenciies.

I attempted the above using telinit 3. Now when I try to return to telinit 5, surprise, nothing happens. Xorg seems utterly broken, being part way between fc8 and fc9. I have not yet
attempted to load the nvidia-96* driver on top of this...abortion.

If I need to rebuild all FC9, it will not be a major loss since nothing lives there yet.

But the assistance of anyone would be greatly appreciated. I would love to actually use FC9. Meanwhile, my dual head fc5 still works.

EDIT: Maybe a couple groupInstalls can fix this?
EDIT: I'm thinking the first "yum remove" should have had a --nodeps.
EDIT: I have not yet tried to modify xorg.conf. That was origially set to "nv"...but may be set to nothing now if xorg.conf got replaced with something totally generic...I'll look.

Last edited by slimPickens; 09-21-08 at 09:28 PM. Reason: afterthoughts
slimPickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-08, 08:50 PM   #7
slimPickens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Angry trying to recover from failed X11 downgrade attempt

I'm still trying to revert to a stable X11 after a failed Xorg downgrad attempt.
I'd like to avoid rebuilding entire FC9. Everything else LOOKS ok.

I include here dmesg | nl >dmesg.dump and current xorg.conf.

I tried to revert X11 to current using simple yum update.
But now when X11 tries to launch, I get a single flash, then just text login prompt. No X11.

Could someone please help me.
Attached Files
File Type: txt dmesg.dump.txt (28.3 KB, 187 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (603 Bytes, 95 views)
slimPickens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
AMD 2400+ and 2600+ Benchmark Extrapolations savyj CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 2 08-17-02 09:32 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.