Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-08, 11:33 PM   #1
SeriTonin
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,349
Default Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

This would be with 4gb of ram and a e8500, I currently have a 9800gt and am thinking about moving to a 260gtx, not looking for aa/af

Right now I can get 1024x768 on my rig in dx, vista kills performance with this game, in XP I was able to do 1280. I figure with gta4, legend, mirrors edge, etc, it's time for a modest upgrade anyway, just wanted to know if this would be enough for crysis and warhead?

Thanks.
SeriTonin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:33 AM   #2
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

No... It won't be enough unfortunately.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:40 AM   #3
DarkOneX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 327
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

I beg to differ, I play Crysis and Crysis Warhead just fine @ max details (no aa) @ 1600x1200. Sure it gets down to low 20's alot but overall it's a great experience.
__________________

Desktop - {i7-960 3.2Ghz} {Asus P6X58D-E} {24GB Corsair DDR3} {EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB} {Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD} {(3X) WD Black 1TB HDDs} {Seagate 750GB HDD} {WD 4TB external} {WD 2TB external} {20X DVD-RW} {X-Fi} {Corsair HX850 PSU} {CM690 II case} {24" Dell U2410 LCD} {20" Dell 2007FP LCD} {Logitech G500} {Logitech G710+} {Windows 7 64bit} {CP1500PFCLCD UPS

Laptop 1 - {Lenovo Ideapad Y400} {i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {GeForce GT750M 2GB} {1TB HDD + 16GB SSD} {14" Anti-Glare (1366x768)} {Windows 8 64bit

Laptop 2 - {HP DM4-3090se Beats Edition} {i5-2430M 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {Intel 3000 HD graphics} {500GB HDD} {14" LED Display (1366 x 768)} {Windows 8 64bit
DarkOneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:46 AM   #4
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkOneX View Post
I beg to differ, I play Crysis and Crysis Warhead just fine @ max details (no aa) @ 1600x1200. Sure it gets down to low 20's alot but overall it's a great experience.
Really? How come nobody can play it with a single GTX280, barely with 2x280s and you can play it with one 260? Is your 260 magic?

Oh, please use the Crysis benchmark tool and provide proof of the Harbor/Assault timedemo on max details please, which is actual gameplay. Thank you...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:50 AM   #5
DarkOneX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 327
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Really? How come nobody can play it with a single GTX280, barely with 2x280s and you can play it with one 260? Is your 260 magic?
No, I'm positive you are over exagerrating, go look at the benches, come on, barely playable with 280's in SLI lol. One thing to note that I notice alot of people that have a 260, 280, or 2 of them have LCD's that run at a higher res than mine which is @ 1600x1200 so I can imagine it running slower for them. I know unplayable, and that was definitely when I tried playing it even on High settings on my 8800GTS 320MB, now that was unplayable. Then I replaced that with the 8800GTS 512MB and stepped up to High @ 1600x1200 and played through the entire game and it was overall a smooth experience except the winter stage where I had to drop it down. The GTX 260 is a hell of a card, my framerate went up significantly over the 8800GTS and I stepped it up to Very High and played through smoothly. Multiplayer is even smoother too.
__________________

Desktop - {i7-960 3.2Ghz} {Asus P6X58D-E} {24GB Corsair DDR3} {EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB} {Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD} {(3X) WD Black 1TB HDDs} {Seagate 750GB HDD} {WD 4TB external} {WD 2TB external} {20X DVD-RW} {X-Fi} {Corsair HX850 PSU} {CM690 II case} {24" Dell U2410 LCD} {20" Dell 2007FP LCD} {Logitech G500} {Logitech G710+} {Windows 7 64bit} {CP1500PFCLCD UPS

Laptop 1 - {Lenovo Ideapad Y400} {i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {GeForce GT750M 2GB} {1TB HDD + 16GB SSD} {14" Anti-Glare (1366x768)} {Windows 8 64bit

Laptop 2 - {HP DM4-3090se Beats Edition} {i5-2430M 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {Intel 3000 HD graphics} {500GB HDD} {14" LED Display (1366 x 768)} {Windows 8 64bit
DarkOneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:54 AM   #6
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Man, that's not even possible. The frame rate dips to the mid 10s with a 280... Its worse with a 260... I'm sorry but the whole INTERNETS say one thing and I also have personal experience. And you claim another... Over at HardOCP they played Crysis on High with some settings on Medium for a 260... And you play with everything on V.High... Sure...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:56 AM   #7
DarkOneX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 327
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Man, that's not even possible. The frame rate dips to the mid 10s with a 280... Its worse with a 260...
I don't think it'd get that low. Lowest I recall seeing on my 260 was in Crysis Warhead on the very opening scene it got down to 15.
__________________

Desktop - {i7-960 3.2Ghz} {Asus P6X58D-E} {24GB Corsair DDR3} {EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB} {Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD} {(3X) WD Black 1TB HDDs} {Seagate 750GB HDD} {WD 4TB external} {WD 2TB external} {20X DVD-RW} {X-Fi} {Corsair HX850 PSU} {CM690 II case} {24" Dell U2410 LCD} {20" Dell 2007FP LCD} {Logitech G500} {Logitech G710+} {Windows 7 64bit} {CP1500PFCLCD UPS

Laptop 1 - {Lenovo Ideapad Y400} {i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {GeForce GT750M 2GB} {1TB HDD + 16GB SSD} {14" Anti-Glare (1366x768)} {Windows 8 64bit

Laptop 2 - {HP DM4-3090se Beats Edition} {i5-2430M 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {Intel 3000 HD graphics} {500GB HDD} {14" LED Display (1366 x 768)} {Windows 8 64bit
DarkOneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 01:58 AM   #8
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Yes a GTX 260 is good enough to run Crysis and Crysis Warhead, here is a review with 14 graphics cards included 9800GT and GTX 260 ran Crysis Warhead on DirectX 10 at settings from Enthusiast to Mainstream Quality without AA/AF. GTX 260 is as fast as 4870X2 and faster than 9800GT.

http://en.hardspell.com/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=4134
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-26-08, 01:59 AM   #9
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Please run the Harbor timedemo...
http://www.fileplanet.com/182784/180...chmarking-Tool
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 02:00 AM   #10
DarkOneX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 327
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Maybe tomorrow, going to bed now, gotta wake up early for work.
__________________

Desktop - {i7-960 3.2Ghz} {Asus P6X58D-E} {24GB Corsair DDR3} {EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB} {Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD} {(3X) WD Black 1TB HDDs} {Seagate 750GB HDD} {WD 4TB external} {WD 2TB external} {20X DVD-RW} {X-Fi} {Corsair HX850 PSU} {CM690 II case} {24" Dell U2410 LCD} {20" Dell 2007FP LCD} {Logitech G500} {Logitech G710+} {Windows 7 64bit} {CP1500PFCLCD UPS

Laptop 1 - {Lenovo Ideapad Y400} {i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {GeForce GT750M 2GB} {1TB HDD + 16GB SSD} {14" Anti-Glare (1366x768)} {Windows 8 64bit

Laptop 2 - {HP DM4-3090se Beats Edition} {i5-2430M 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {Intel 3000 HD graphics} {500GB HDD} {14" LED Display (1366 x 768)} {Windows 8 64bit
DarkOneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 02:01 AM   #11
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800 View Post
Yes a GTX 260 is good enough to run Crysis and Crysis Warhead, here is a review with 14 graphics cards included 9800GT and GTX 260 ran Crysis Warhead on DirectX 10 at settings from Enthusiast to Mainstream Quality without AA/AF. GTX 260 is as fast as 4870X2 and faster than 9800GT.

http://en.hardspell.com/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=4134
MINIMUMS.... NOT AVERAGE.... Show me minimums...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 02:02 AM   #12
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkOneX View Post
Maybe tomorrow, going to bed now, gotta wake up early for work.
I'm sure you will, sure...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 08:20 AM
What resolution do you all run Unreal2003 retail version at with all details on max.? imtim83 Gaming Central 9 10-04-02 11:17 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.