Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-08, 11:01 PM   #1
GaidinTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

The first time I hooked up my new Philips hdtv to my mythtv setup, everything worked fine. Then after installing a new hard drive, I hooked everything back up, and I get no picture on the TV. Everything was working before I installed the hard drive, but not after.

I can ssh and vnc into the box, and I get the 1920x1080 vnc image, but not on the tv. The tv screen starts out black with little flashing green lines at the top, then eventually goes to the "no signal" blue.

Searching through these forums I've seen a lot of xorg.conf options that I have no idea what they do, all I know is that it was working fine before without me having to mess with anything, and now after doing nothing but unhooking all the cables from the back of the computer, and hooking them back up, I lose my picture on the tv.

Attached is my nvidia-bug-report.log file. Any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks,
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (90.7 KB, 197 views)

Last edited by GaidinTS; 09-14-08 at 09:31 PM. Reason: typo
GaidinTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-08, 08:28 PM   #2
GaidinTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

Where can I get older versions of the nvidia drivers. I'm not talking about the legacy ones for the older hardware, but the versions right before the 173.14.12. I'd like to go back and try each previous version to see if I can get my display back. The only think I can think of is that an update ran that gave me a newer driver, and my myth box just hadn't been restarted since.
GaidinTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-08, 11:37 AM   #3
GaidinTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

It probably doesn't change anything, but my TV is actually the 47 inch version, not the 42 inch.

The exact model is: 47PFL5603D.
GaidinTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 03:46 AM   #4
GaidinTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

It appears I'm the only one replying to this thread, so I suppose I better update it with where I am. I still have no picture. There is a green line at the top of the screen that shows up when the mythbox starts, then the tv goes blue, because it can get a signal.

Attached is my startx --verbose 6 Xorg.0.log file if anyone wants to see it.

The first thing that caught my eye was this:
Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Frequency information for Philips (DFP-0):
(II) NVIDIA(0):   HorizSync   : 31.000-80.000 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):   VertRefresh : 47.000-85.000 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):     (HorizSync from EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0):     (VertRefresh from EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): 
(II) NVIDIA(0): --- Building ModePool for Philips (DFP-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(0):   Validating Mode "1920x1080":
(II) NVIDIA(0):     1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):     For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 148.50 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1920, 2008
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2052, 2200
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1084
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1088, 1125
(II) NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : -/-
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     Mode is rejected: PixelClock (148.5 MHz) too high for
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     Display Device (Max: 135.0 MHz).
And doing some research I found this option:
Option “ModeValidation” “NoMaxPClkCheck”

with the comment that
Quote:
The FX5200/5500 cards incroeectly report the pixel clock at 135.0.
. I have a FX5200, so that sounded promising, but still no change.

Farther down in my log, you'll see that the highest resolution mode that is valid is:

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0):   Validating Mode "1360x768":
(II) NVIDIA(0):     1360 x 768 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):     For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 85.50 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1360, 1424
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1536, 1792
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart :  768,  771
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal :  778,  795
(II) NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : -/-
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode is valid.
So just to test out the theory that valid modes should work, I wiped my xorg file clean, started up the nvidia settings manager, and set my screen to that specific mode. I saved the settings to my xorg.conf file, and rebooted the machine.

Still nothing. I'm started to think that it wasn't a driver issue, but maybe some weird issue with my tv, so I downloaded a firmware update for my tv and installed it. Wiped my xorg, and reset it with nvidia-xconfig, and still nothing.

I'm not quite sure what else to try, so I'm really hoping someone actually looks at this post. Ignore the fact that it used to work, how can I get it working now? I've been working on this on and off for that past couple weeks, and I'm getting really frustrated.

Note I couldn't attach the log file, because it was too big. Check it out here instead.
http://docs.google.com/Doc?id=ddjgs48j_18d3zr8ghh

thanks

Last edited by GaidinTS; 09-21-08 at 03:54 AM. Reason: couldnt' attach log file
GaidinTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 03:17 PM   #5
_john_i_
gtx260/8200M G/DIY Linux
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 137
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

Hi,

I have the exact same TV you have! I've been meaning to get a DVI->HDMI cable to do the same thing, and will let you know my results when I do. I am using a 6600GT, and am currently using the component video, which works great.

I know HDMI will give a clearer picture, but I can't complain about the component output with my card. I am using 1920x1080, and honestly when playing video I doubt I will be able to tell the difference. If component is on option on your card, you should give it a try. My results are quite crisp and clear.

john
_john_i_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-08, 03:44 PM   #6
MaXThReAT
GTX to the MaX
 
MaXThReAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: EARTH
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

I sometimes have to toggle from 1080 to 720 and back in the NVCP to get it to come on. Hope that helps.
__________________
Asrock z77 Extreme3 Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Gigabyte GTX660 OC 2GB
DDR3-1600 / 8Gig Ripjaw
SB X-Fi FPS / Z-5500 + Buttkicker!
"Don't mind the posts, I've been around longer than most know."
MaXThReAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-08, 07:00 AM   #7
GaidinTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

yeah switching back and forth between 720 and 1080 isn't working, and I don't have composite out on my video card, so I'm stuck with dvi right now.

I'm thinking of swapping the video card in my mythbox with my main computer (a Geforce 6800), and see if that helps.
GaidinTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-08, 06:58 AM   #8
GaidinTS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No picture on Philips 42" - DVI to HDMI connection

After swapping out my fx5200 with my 6800 in my main desktop everything worked fine.
GaidinTS is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.