Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-08, 07:30 PM   #37
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

If the GTX 260 is as fast as X2 in a given title I am of the opinion said title does not have a proper working Crossfire profile yet in the driver. Ie the card may perform roughly like a single HD 4870 or worse in some cases. The X2 is only 2FPS faster than the HD 4870 in Warhead. That should speak for itself.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 07:57 PM   #38
SeriTonin
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

I would have never guessed it ran so poorly on a 260GTX.

To those that suggested it, yes, I would have looked at review sites, but they tend to be biased to a certain product or game, etc. So I like to get the users exp.

Thanks for the input, I do have a few mods installed that help my current rig with frames, so I would imagine it should help, just surprised @ the minimum frames this game still has, mid teens on a $500 buck 280 seems silly to me.
SeriTonin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 10:04 PM   #39
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,200
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeriTonin View Post
This would be with 4gb of ram and a e8500, I currently have a 9800gt and am thinking about moving to a 260gtx, not looking for aa/af

Right now I can get 1024x768 on my rig in dx, vista kills performance with this game, in XP I was able to do 1280. I figure with gta4, legend, mirrors edge, etc, it's time for a modest upgrade anyway, just wanted to know if this would be enough for crysis and warhead?

Thanks.
Have been testing Crysis with EVGA's GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 Superclocked with the same CPU/4GB memory and received 35/27 fps at 1280x800 in the first level (based on gameplay). Very High (all settings) under DX10/Vista. Have saved games from all levels available to test. Playable for me, but may not be for others...
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 10:32 PM   #40
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,200
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
This is proof:
2x280s, Q6600@3.2Ghz - 1600x1200 - Very High
Run #1- DX10 1600x1200 AA=No AA, 32 bit test, Quality: VeryHigh ~~ Last Average FPS: 35.38
!TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
Play Time: 115.89s, Average FPS: 35.38
Min FPS: 18.84 at frame 3902, Max FPS: 60.33 at frame 2077

Waiting on your magic GTX260 benchmarks that can run this game maxed out...
Would be interested to see a frame rate by second graph for these results. I would like to know how often (percentage-wise, based on all frames rendered) that the frame rate approached the 18.84 minimim.
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 11:36 PM   #41
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
Would be interested to see a frame rate by second graph for these results. I would like to know how often (percentage-wise, based on all frames rendered) that the frame rate approached the 18.84 minimim.
Can I do that with Fraps Mike? I will give it go. Cheers...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-08, 11:56 PM   #42
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

The best I can do Mike. As you can see it doesn't record exactly how much my FPS are at those low points, you can pretty much tell from the graph.

Tony.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CrysisHarbor.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	33287  
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 01:16 AM   #43
aceflier
Bringer of teh Welt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

just turn the shadows down a tick or 2 and you will be fine. Very high Shadows kill the framerate most and do little for the overall look of the game. IMHO
__________________
2600K 4.9ghz 1.38v
2X Palit gtx560ti 2gb 1000/2000
8gb 1600mhz Kingston HyperX
128gb Crusial Real SSD
750gb WD Black
Buggy wife RMA next week
Vantage P43697 3DMarks
3D Mark 11 P10008
aceflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 01:21 AM   #44
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Well, I noticed that taking down the water and shadows to medium takes my minimum in those 2 points to 22fps. The two given points include a vast water view which could be what's causing the dips. Shadows, I never cared much for them. As long as they're not blobs, they look fine to me.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-08, 03:26 AM   #45
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

I used a Cvar file I found, one of the early ones that just replace High with Very High. I then dropped shadows and water to medium and ran the game in DX9. It plays better than DX10 V.High while it looks almost as good. Another option is running the tweaked configs found around, HP 1.3.1 or CCC 2.1. Those tend to change various settings though.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 04:22 AM   #46
Vasot02
Crazy Greek guy
 
Vasot02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Athens\Greece
Posts: 411
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post


------------------------------

Make a guess again pal...
The 4870 X2 is only better in maximum resolutions according to Techspot.
And by the way according to their tests a single 260GTX runs better from a single 4870
...






------------------------------------


AND THIS WHICH SHOWS THAT A SINGLE GTX260 IS BEING CLEARLY FASTER FROM A 4870 WITH HIGHER AA AND AF
(Just for the hype of the 4870 which some love to spread around...)

__________________
Vasot02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-08, 09:11 AM   #47
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,200
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
The best I can do Mike. As you can see it doesn't record exactly how much my FPS are at those low points, you can pretty much tell from the graph.

Tony.
Thanks for the report! The frame rate per second graph adds so much more value to this type of analysis. From what I can see there were a few rough spots in that level, but for the most part gameplay performance seems to be pretty solid.
MikeC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 01:54 AM   #48
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Will a single 260GTX run Crysis @ 1280x1024 dx10 max?

I playing on a BFG GTX 280 OCX and it was smooth playing with fraps it stays at 35fps most of the time with some action I seen it go to 26 ,but if I did'nt have a Frame rate showing me what is was I would have thought is was higher because it was smooth playing at 1600x1200 0 AA ,it was nothing like the slide show I got with my two 8800GTS 640mb in SLI.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
What resolution do you all run Unreal2003 retail version at with all details on max.? imtim83 Gaming Central 9 10-04-02 10:17 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.