Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-08, 06:53 PM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Question GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Hi all, ive been testing some overclocks with my card a little, im using the evga precision tool v1.3.2 now ive tested at my current overclocks(see sig)with furmark and all went fine 84c max ... i cant get the shader any higher because i get artifacts & i don't really want to push the memory any higher just to be on the safe side.

The thing is with evga precision tool i cant pass 702MHz on the clock core! ... even if i set it to 703MHz and click apply the clock core just sets back to 702MHz as soon as i click apply! why is this?(i have the shader clock & clock core set to unlinked)
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 07:37 PM   #2
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

I usually find my max shader clock then unlink and push up my core to its max. If your core is at its max and your shaders are not, try moving them up a tad. I use Riva Tuner to OC here.

Subzeros have a very good card and I wouldn't expect those clocks on all 260s. I can briefly do his core and shader clock with the fan @ 100%, and not for any extended period of time. If Thermalright release their new heatsink for the GTX soon I'll try it. I am fairly confident I may be able to do 750|1544 reliably with it. Now I am running 730|1532 2600.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-08, 11:02 PM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

It is because you are unlinked, you can only push the core clock so high with an unlinked shader.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 03:49 AM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp View Post
It is because you are unlinked, you can only push the core clock so high with an unlinked shader.
I reached 740 no probs. The only thing stopping me going further was RivaTuner's 740 limit.

TBH Ato, I went back to 700 anyhow. Most of the gains to be had are with the shader and memory OC .
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 08:45 AM   #5
parasiteeve
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp View Post
It is because you are unlinked, you can only push the core clock so high with an unlinked shader.
I have a heavily overclocked GTX 260 and thats not true, unlinked is actually better as linked will have you hitting a wall much sooner with the shader before you ever find your max core.

The best way to find your max OC with the GTX 260 is to unlink the shader/core and then find the max shader clock first, after finding the max shader go for your max core.

Example my shader topped out at 1536mhz and this allowed me to find my max core of 760mhz. If I keep a linked ratio it puts my shader at 1636 which is way to high.
parasiteeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 08:49 AM   #6
parasiteeve
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
I reached 740 no probs. The only thing stopping me going further was RivaTuner's 740 limit.
I dont have a limit with Rivatuner, what are you talking about? I have had my core as high as 780 using Riva Tuner but of course it was not stable. I use 760core for every day use though as its stable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
TBH Ato, I went back to 700 anyhow. Most of the gains to be had are with the shader and memory OC .

Memory OC does very very little, shader helps some but Core gives the biggest gains from what I have found. It really depends on the game that you are testing.
parasiteeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 10:12 AM   #7
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by parasiteeve View Post
I dont have a limit with Rivatuner, what are you talking about? I have had my core as high as 780 using Riva Tuner but of course it was not stable. I use 760core for every day use though as its stable.
When I set mine over 740, saved it, closed RT and opened it again, it said 740. Anything over 740 would reset to 740 after reopening. It might be different with a newer version though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by parasiteeve View Post
Memory OC does very very little, shader helps some but Core gives the biggest gains from what I have found. It really depends on the game that you are testing.
I just use Crysis to judge my overclocks seeing as it's the only game that actually requires an overclock.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 10:54 AM   #8
parasiteeve
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
When I set mine over 740, saved it, closed RT and opened it again, it said 740. Anything over 740 would reset to 740 after reopening. It might be different with a newer version though.
Its not Riva Tuner thats limiting your core OC, its your shaders. You need to bump up the shaders a little more and then try to OC the core past 740 again, if it bumps you back down then move the shaders up a tad bit more and try again.

The previouse Gen cards G80's and G92's were not dependent on the shader for the max core overclock, its a bit different with the GTX 260 and 280.
parasiteeve is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-06-08, 12:56 PM   #9
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Where do i stand with the memory on these things? Is it just safe to overclock the memory until i get artifacts, back the memory down a little until its stable and leave it at that? its just i remember with the 8800 GT 512MB there was a "rumor" going around that clocking the memory on the 8800 GT's past 2000MHz for long periods will damage the card a lot quicker?

Is that the case with the GTX 260's?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 01:22 PM   #10
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Update:

Just unlocked the clock core/sharers to see how high i could get the the shader clock, right now its at 1404MHz, any higher and i get artifacts in furmark it also knocks my load temp from 84c that i get now to 91c with the shader clock at 1458MHz! .... looks like im stuck at 702/1404/1125.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-08, 01:35 PM   #11
parasiteeve
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Update:

Just unlocked the clock core/sharers to see how high i could get the the shader clock, right now its at 1404MHz, any higher and i get artifacts in furmark it also knocks my load temp from 84c that i get now to 91c with the shader clock at 1458MHz! .... looks like im stuck at 702/1404/1125.
91c? ouch! my 260 doesnt even get that high with my card at 260core 1534shader with the fan set at auto.

Try increasing your fan speed to around 75% using Riva Tuner. Also I would worry more about games artifacting than future mark, future mark will heat up your card and cause artififacts that you will never get in games.
parasiteeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-08, 01:49 AM   #12
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: GTX 260 wont clock past 702MHz clock core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by parasiteeve View Post
I have a heavily overclocked GTX 260 and thats not true, unlinked is actually better as linked will have you hitting a wall much sooner with the shader before you ever find your max core.

The best way to find your max OC with the GTX 260 is to unlink the shader/core and then find the max shader clock first, after finding the max shader go for your max core.

Example my shader topped out at 1536mhz and this allowed me to find my max core of 760mhz. If I keep a linked ratio it puts my shader at 1636 which is way to high.
Yes, what I mean is you have to keep a specific CORE:SHADER ratio to go any higher on core.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA GTX 680 Classified reached 2GHz core clock AthlonXP1800 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 0 06-20-12 03:02 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.