Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-08, 08:11 AM   #1
FallenWizard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Default Render corruption if KDE4 and Wine is running

I had the problems since I am using KDE4, so I dont know if it is a regression or not:


If Wine is running (in this case: Steam), I get render corruption with KDE4. Sometimes, Plasma is not showing plasmoids until I move the mouse cursor to the affected plasmoid, sometimes plasma is showing artifacts.


screenshot:
http://omploader.org/vdDY2

This happens often too, especially with Konsole.


It happens with all IPP settings, so I think it is something else.


nvidia-bug-report.log is attached
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (98.9 KB, 92 views)
FallenWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-08, 08:59 AM   #2
spectred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Render corruption if KDE4 and Wine is running

Did you try without compositing enabled?
spectred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-08, 09:02 AM   #3
FallenWizard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Render corruption if KDE4 and Wine is running

same without compositing
FallenWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-08, 09:38 AM   #4
Neuro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: Render corruption if KDE4 and Wine is running

This is the same issue as: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...ght=openoffice

I also encounter problems with wine. A simple test case is to open notepad in wine and watch the whole plasma go wild. I also encounter the same problems with openoffice and eclipse. To reduce the severity of the problem one can disable the blinking cursor in GTK, but it's only damage limitation, not a fix.
Neuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-08, 09:56 AM   #5
FallenWizard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Render corruption if KDE4 and Wine is running

phew, I thought my gfx card is damaged. Thanks Neuro for telling that I am not the only one with the problem.


I hope the driver devs are fixing the problem asap, because it is very annoying.
FallenWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.