Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-08, 10:14 PM   #49
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
The problem is between keyboard and chair in your case.
And in your case, from head to toe. Here, let me help you out:

http://www.quizrocket.com/dumb-test/...n=DumbTestRev4
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-08, 11:01 PM   #50
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2 View Post
And in your case, from head to toe. Here, let me help you out:

http://www.quizrocket.com/dumb-test/...n=DumbTestRev4
BLAH
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 02:03 AM   #51
3777
Registered User
 
3777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 199
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

I'll take VIA & AGP which runs both Nvidia 7950 GT & now AMD 512mb HD 3850 FLAWLESSLY thank you very much.
3777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 09:10 AM   #52
Heinz68
Registered User
 
Heinz68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Toronto-CAN, Hamburg-DE, Prague-CZ
Posts: 1,893
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post

I'm not buying x58 and Nehalem, cause i don't want to pay ****ing $300 for excluse Intel right on it. My next CPU purchase is going to be AMD along with Nvidia card.
Sure you're buying AMD. Some good stuff you must be smoking.
Do you remember what you posted just few days ago?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
AMD is going to be now two companies, meaning they are dead. AMD is just dying. Hopefully somebody will save ATI from AMD sinking ship. Intel should go and buy ATI from AMD or Nvidia or whoever. I hope Intel says well no x86 license for AMD anymore cause you just suck and now you're sellling yourself to some Arabian company...AMD deserves big **** YOU. LINK
With AMD dead it's going to be hard to buy one but I can sell you mine Athlon x2 4200+ at premium price (no Arabian connection).


Now about the SLI and X58:
Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227
So, everybody will be forced to buy x58 so i guess Intel decided to make chipset for their CPU only and nobody else. That's fine as long as they don't ****ing ask for SLI and Crossfire for almost free.
AMD and Nvidia should step on Intel and say you know **** you, you wont see SLI and Crossfire on your boards.
Last post on this thread was June 6, 2008 before it was forwarded and apparently the above is no longer true.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2008/08...-qpi-license/1
http://www.digitimes.com/mobos/a20080828VL200.html
Or Google more.

It was NVIDIA own fault they wanted the SLI on they chipset only since it could easy be done by software without any cost. They should have reached the agreement with Intel much sooner. ATI crossfire was open for Intel to use.
__________________
Stop The Meter On Your Internet Use

------------------------------------------------------------
Core i7 980X EE @ 4316 MHz 1.35V - Corsair Hydro Series H50
ASUS Rampage II Extreme - Corsair Dominator 1600MHz 12GB Triple-Channel
Sapphire HD 6990 - ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe
Intel X25-M 160GB 34nm G2 SSD - Seagate Barracuda 1TB 32mb
Cosmos S Case - Corsair HX1000W PSU
Pioner Blu-ray Burner 6X BD-R - Westinghouse LVM-37w3, 37inch 1080p
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel - Logitech Cordless RumblePad 2
Sennheiser RS 180 - Windows 7 64-bit Pro
Heinz68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 10:46 AM   #53
XMAN52373
Registered User
 
XMAN52373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 534
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3777 View Post
I'll take VIA & AGP which runs both Nvidia 7950 GT & now AMD 512mb HD 3850 FLAWLESSLY thank you very much.
Just dont turn on any AGP related features, you'll start getting BSODs from crappy VIA hard/software backward engineering.
__________________
C2Q6600@3.3
ASUS GTX570
eVGA 780i SLi AR
8GB DDR2 PC8500
Windows 7 U x64
XMAN52373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 11:00 AM   #54
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Looks to me like Intel is trying to break further and further away from Nvidia. In a couple of posts people have mentioned that Nvidia might go into CPU's. Even if they do...do you really think they can compete with Intel or AMD for that matter ? Also lets not forget what Intel has on the horizon......Larrabee !
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 11:36 AM   #55
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by centurionmaster View Post
So I take it you FaILED teh test?
Pretty much. Got only two right
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-08, 11:38 AM   #56
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heinz68 View Post
Sure you're buing AMD. Some good stuff you must be smoking.
Do you remember what you posted just few days ago?
With AMD dead it's going to be hard to buy one but I can sell you mine Athlon x2 4200+ at premium price (no Arabian connection).


Now about the SLI and X58:

Last post on this thread was June 6, 2008 before it was forwarded and apparently the above is no longer true.
http://www.bit-tech.net/news/2008/08...-qpi-license/1
http://www.digitimes.com/mobos/a20080828VL200.html
Or Google more.

It was NVIDIA own fault they wanted the SLI on they chipset only since it could easy be done by software without any cost. They should have reached the agreement with Intel much sooner. ATI crossfire was open for Intel to use.
I love AMD. Nothing wrong with their CPU line. My next upgrade is going to be AMD.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-15-08, 11:41 AM   #57
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrixteH View Post
Looks to me like Intel is trying to break further and further away from Nvidia. In a couple of posts people have mentioned that Nvidia might go into CPU's. Even if they do...do you really think they can compete with Intel or AMD for that matter ? Also lets not forget what Intel has on the horizon......Larrabee !
No matter what Intel does with Larrabee, Nvidia will do it better. Nvidia should start making CPUs. I think Nvidia should offer good deal to Microsoft for next console and work with them closely to make future Windows not only x86 based. You don't need x86 license to make CPU. Nvidia can make their own, all they need is Microsoft agreement that they will support it. I bet Nvidia can make CPU to simply piss on any Intel solution in term of performance. Nvidia is missing only one piece of puzzle there, CPU. They can make motherboards, chipset, video cards, name it. Now Nvidia might ask IBM for deal too. I believe IBM has x86 license, if not they have their CPUs. It's all about to get Microsoft to support new CPUs with next Windows release.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 10:33 AM   #58
GTVAPSAMTIK
Registered User
 
GTVAPSAMTIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 96
Send a message via MSN to GTVAPSAMTIK
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

INTEL HAVE done a great job since day one. Id rather purchase radon 4870 X2 then Geforce 280 just bcuz nVIDIA Nforce CHIPSET SUXXXXXXXX.
__________________
__________________
TX-9000 ARMOR LCS II
EVGA NFORCE 780i SLI
4GB OCZ DDR3
Intel Core2Quad E6600 OC to 4.2Ghz
EVGA 2x Geforce 8800 ULTRA SLI
2 x 1TB Western Digital RAID0
SB X-Fi Music;
Belkin n52te
Vista Ultimate 64

www.apoclaypse.com
GTVAPSAMTIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-08, 11:55 AM   #59
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Intel won't let Nvidia make Nehalem chipsets

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer0 View Post
does this hold true still? the news was taken last june...
I am curious as well, haven't seen any nvidia nehalem boards?
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
[BUG] intel VT-d and Nvidia drivers wodor NVIDIA Linux 5 06-12-12 08:02 AM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.