Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-08, 10:15 AM   #49
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,681
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

I'm experiencing this issue with a GeForce GTX 260 and 177.92 driver under Windows Vista, but not Windows XP.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-08, 11:02 AM   #50
DHP
Graph-X-Freak
 
DHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 347
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCKator View Post
I use Rivatuner(RT) to force lower clocks when not in 3D on my 8800gtx. It sounds like the gtx280 is supposed to do the same thing automatically but, if that fails, shouldn't I be able to do the same thing w/ RT?
I always use Rivatuner @ startup to set 2D and 3D clocks.

Well i've only seen it once. If I have the problem again i'll try to find out what the problem was.

-I hope it doesn't happen again though. It kinda sucks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
I'm experiencing this issue with a GeForce GTX 260 and 177.92 driver under Windows Vista, but not Windows XP.
Heyyy , I previously had XP installed since I have the cards. But I installed Vista last week, so the problem could be indeed "Vista based".
__________________
Lian Li PC-A71A | ASUS P6T Deluxe | Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz 1,25V | Thermalright Ultra 120 + Scythe S-Flex 1200
HD5870 1GB Crossfire | 3 x 2GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
2x Intel X25M 80GB @ RAID0 | 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB RAID0 | 1 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB | 1x Western Digital Caviar GP 1TB
Cooler Master Real Power M1000 | Samsung 245B 24" Widescreen LCD
DHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-08, 11:39 AM   #51
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

It doesn't happen on my vista install. I had an issue with source games before, but the beta drivers work well.

I think its a power savings setting os side thou, or it would happen to everyone on vista.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-08, 10:29 PM   #52
particleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Anyone know if this still happens with the 178.XX drivers? I have stuck with 177.66 because of this annoying bug.
particleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-08, 08:34 AM   #53
LitHiuM
It is I!
 
LitHiuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 177
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

They no longer stick at 3D clocks on a dual display setup, but still ramp up when a TV tuner is opened. So something has been fixed at least
That was my main problem with the clock speeds - dual display ramp up- and now it is gone
__________________
Asus P6TD Deluxe - i7 920 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 XMP - Leadtek GTX 280 - 2x Supertalent 64GB GX SSD RAID 1 - 2x Intel X-25M 160GB SSD RAID 1 - 1TB WD Green NCQ 32MB - PCP&C Quad 750 - Silverstone TJ07BW - Samsung T240
LitHiuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-08, 09:01 AM   #54
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

I have this problem with my eVGA GTX 260 alos sometimes it does drop but most of the time it stays at the same speed.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-08, 09:05 AM   #55
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC View Post
I'm experiencing this issue with a GeForce GTX 260 and 177.92 driver under Windows Vista, but not Windows XP.
I think it's because the underclocking issue was Vista-specific. So they only made the 3D detection ultra-sensitive only for Vista... Thus several applications keep the cards in 3D.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 04:25 PM   #56
DHP
Graph-X-Freak
 
DHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Holland
Posts: 347
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

I installed XP this week and guess what: the problem occurs in XP too... 187.13 driver... Exiting games makes the clocks stuck @ 3D in 2D.

Pretty annoying. I hope nV fixes this soon.

Edit: installed 177.92. Let's see what happens. If it happens again i'll try installing the newest chipsetdrivers.
__________________
Lian Li PC-A71A | ASUS P6T Deluxe | Intel Core i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz 1,25V | Thermalright Ultra 120 + Scythe S-Flex 1200
HD5870 1GB Crossfire | 3 x 2GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
2x Intel X25M 80GB @ RAID0 | 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500GB RAID0 | 1 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB | 1x Western Digital Caviar GP 1TB
Cooler Master Real Power M1000 | Samsung 245B 24" Widescreen LCD
DHP is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-08, 10:26 PM   #57
particleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 370
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Just tried 180.10 Vista x64 and it still has the throttling bug.

Beginning to lose hope.
particleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 03:53 AM   #58
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by particleman View Post
Just tried 180.10 Vista x64 and it still has the throttling bug.

Beginning to lose hope.
Either it's a hardware issue or nvidia just don't care enough, took them almost 18 months to get scalling working again on my 8800GTX under XP after breaking it, I think this will be the same.
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:44 AM   #59
namuk
Registered User
 
namuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 780
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by particleman View Post
Just tried 180.10 Vista x64 and it still has the throttling bug.

Beginning to lose hope.

180.10 ?? were is that
__________________
Onkyo SR-875BK. BD30. XE1. Tannoy rC. Monolith-DF. AE Aegis One. AE Aegis Three

PC connected to above sound system- GA-X58A-UD7,Intel i7 920 D0,Corsair 1600 6GB. 480GTX .prelude xfi. 1TB RE3,1TB Black,RE2 500GB,2X Raptors, Enermax Galaxy 1000w.Alphacool External LCD.Coolermaster Stacker 830 Evolution 'nVidia' Special Edition
namuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:51 AM   #60
LitHiuM
It is I!
 
LitHiuM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Over Here
Posts: 177
Default Re: GTX280 stuck at 3d speeds even at desktop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by namuk View Post
180.10 ?? were is that
Have a look in Vista Forceware drivers section
__________________
Asus P6TD Deluxe - i7 920 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 XMP - Leadtek GTX 280 - 2x Supertalent 64GB GX SSD RAID 1 - 2x Intel X-25M 160GB SSD RAID 1 - 1TB WD Green NCQ 32MB - PCP&C Quad 750 - Silverstone TJ07BW - Samsung T240
LitHiuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Best Virtual Desktop: NVIDIA VGX & Windows RemoteFX News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 10:30 AM
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 07:09 PM
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 10:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.