Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-17-08, 06:55 AM   #1
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default I change my mind about the GTX280

I kept saying that my two 9800GTx running in SLI was better and faster then my one BFG GTX280 OCX.I ran my two 9800GTx in SLI for about a month and it would get 16,350 in 3DMark06 running at 780/1900/2200 and running Crysis at very high settings at 1920x1200 would get 37FPS ,plus it was a few frames higher in other games.But I decided to put my BFG GTX 280 OCX back in and see if I could tell that if it is any better.It maybe just my eyes but even 2D look better.Running 3DMark06 I would get 16,006 and in Crysis I would get 35FPS ,but it look so much more sharper and in Crysis my lows did'nt dip as low as it did with my two 9800GTx running in SLI.It may be a placebo effect but ever game I ran just looked so much better.So I will be sending my two ASUS EN9800GT ULTIMATE/HTDP/512M back to newegg.com,I got lucky and they are not going to charge me the 15% restocking fee.But I can't make up my mind if I want to get another GTX 280 or wait or buy something else.I would like to get a Q9550 but then I would have to get a new mother board.I thought about buying another Q6600 since I would more then likely get a GO and be able to overclock a little more.I have a B3 that I run all the time at 3240gigs at 1.37v.I just don't know if getting another GTX 280 running at 1920x1200 would be worth it without a faster CPU.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 08:57 AM   #2
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

You have 2 9800 GTX's AND a GTX 280?!?!?

Overkill much?

To answer your question, a faster CPU would probably be a wise investment if you're thinking about going SLI GTX 280's.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:15 AM   #3
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

What else is new mate? This has been reported by a lot of users with 9800GX2 cards after upgrading to a single 280. Average FPS never offer the real picture. SLIed cards always suffer lower minimums versus a slower on average single card that is faster than a single of the 2 SLIed cards... It has been said time and again, 2 cards does not equal double the frame rate. That's why I said in another post, that if you are faced with a choice between two solutions of the same speed, but one is a single card and the other is two cards together (even if the two cards are slightly faster), the single card will always offer a better experience, in terms of less problems and better gameplay...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:22 AM   #4
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Lfctony do you have two GTX 280's running in SLI on the Q6600 running at 3.2gigs and if you do how much does running two help.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:35 AM   #5
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Well, its less smooth than one card. There's severe stuttering from time to time. The motherboard does make a difference in smoothness etc. The CPU takes a hit from SLI, 200-300mhz I'd say for syncing the cards... Also, you only notice a difference where you are GPU limited. In CPU limited scenarios, your system is slower because of the extra burden on your CPU. If I had a choice to get 500e back and return one of these cards I would. I prefer a single card experience with lower details...

Say Crysis(Crysis scales quite bad, suffers from stuttering due to the load it places on the cards and your system in general) on High looks good and plays good.Add a second card and run on High, performance is actually lower (at 1680x1050 with one 280 the game is CPU limited).Take it up to Very High, the game looks better, plays better than with one 280, but still, it doesn't play as smooth or as fast as I would like. Warhead would dip to 19fps in DX9 from time to time, it would have been worse with DX10...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 06:15 PM   #6
aceflier
Bringer of teh Welt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Well, its less smooth than one card. There's severe stuttering from time to time. The motherboard does make a difference in smoothness etc. The CPU takes a hit from SLI, 200-300mhz I'd say for syncing the cards... Also, you only notice a difference where you are GPU limited. In CPU limited scenarios, your system is slower because of the extra burden on your CPU. If I had a choice to get 500e back and return one of these cards I would. I prefer a single card experience with lower details...

Say Crysis(Crysis scales quite bad, suffers from stuttering due to the load it places on the cards and your system in general) on High looks good and plays good.Add a second card and run on High, performance is actually lower (at 1680x1050 with one 280 the game is CPU limited).Take it up to Very High, the game looks better, plays better than with one 280, but still, it doesn't play as smooth or as fast as I would like. Warhead would dip to 19fps in DX9 from time to time, it would have been worse with DX10...
Say you are getting dips to 19fps in warhead at 1680x1050? Something is wrong with that man my 260's smoke warhead especialy in dx9 at 1920x1080 I never saw below 34fps in the final battle with the boss. Id say this is the most demanding spot in the game?
__________________
2600K 4.9ghz 1.38v
2X Palit gtx560ti 2gb 1000/2000
8gb 1600mhz Kingston HyperX
128gb Crusial Real SSD
750gb WD Black
Buggy wife RMA next week
Vantage P43697 3DMarks
3D Mark 11 P10008
aceflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:10 PM   #7
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Actually I'd bet it's more due to your RAM limitations on the 9800GTX cards versus the GTX 280. In 3dmark it's not going to touch your ram, where Crysis turned up the way you have it will likely tank because of the 512MB vram.

Also, I don't think a CPU upgrade is going to get you very far. Unless it's to a E8600 or something you can get to 4.0Ghz, it will probably be a moot point.

Far Cry 2 has already shown it likes 4 cores, so for future games you're already sitting pretty well.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 10:40 PM   #8
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceflier View Post
Say you are getting dips to 19fps in warhead at 1680x1050? Something is wrong with that man my 260's smoke warhead especialy in dx9 at 1920x1080 I never saw below 34fps in the final battle with the boss. Id say this is the most demanding spot in the game?
Well, my mate was playing yesterday (so my eyes were free), and during the game there was a lot of action at the beginning level and the frame rate would drop below 20fps at several points and stay there... It could have been a background program causing it though, don't remember what I had open at the time.

SLI is working fine, the cards are also fine as far as I can tell since they are working in all games as they should. My P Vantage score is above 20000. Warhead does utilise SLI somewhat, my average FPS are higher with two cards vs one. Can you run a couple of benches for me?

Download the Warhead Benchmark tool and run the Frost (plain) level and the Airfield Flythrough at Enthusiast DX9 1680x1050, let me know what it scores.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/Crysis-W...load-2072.html

Thanks,
Tony.
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-17-08, 11:04 PM   #9
aceflier
Bringer of teh Welt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Well, my mate was playing yesterday (so my eyes were free), and during the game there was a lot of action at the beginning level and the frame rate would drop below 20fps at several points and stay there... It could have been a background program causing it though, don't remember what I had open at the time.

SLI is working fine, the cards are also fine as far as I can tell since they are working in all games as they should. My P Vantage score is above 20000. Warhead does utilise SLI somewhat, my average FPS are higher with two cards vs one. Can you run a couple of benches for me?

Download the Warhead Benchmark tool and run the Frost (plain) level and the Airfield Flythrough at Enthusiast DX9 1680x1050, let me know what it scores.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/Crysis-W...load-2072.html

Thanks,
Tony.
ENTHUSIAST SETTINGS

Frost

!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 38.38s, Average FPS: 49.03
Min FPS: 15.77 at frame 62, Max FPS: 59.46 at frame 180
Average Tri/Sec: 28846766, Tri/Frame: 588349
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -0.32
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Run Performed)

Airfield Flythrough

!TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
Play Time: 39.93s, Average FPS: 50.09
Min FPS: 19.88 at frame 90, Max FPS: 81.37 at frame 1457
Average Tri/Sec: -40817188, Tri/Frame: -814832
Recorded/Played Tris ratio: 1.21
TimeDemo Play Ended, (1 Run Performed)

I would say the min. FPS is caused from loading all the textures into memory as its in the first 100frames each time more along the lines as 28-30fps lows.

Guess i should add i normaly run my shadows on gamer as they are the system killers.
__________________
2600K 4.9ghz 1.38v
2X Palit gtx560ti 2gb 1000/2000
8gb 1600mhz Kingston HyperX
128gb Crusial Real SSD
750gb WD Black
Buggy wife RMA next week
Vantage P43697 3DMarks
3D Mark 11 P10008
aceflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 11:13 PM   #10
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

ONE CARD!!!!!

All dual card solutions, SLI, 9800GX2, 4870x2 have micro stutter which make good frames seem choppier, less smooth, etc. Stick with a single GPU, problem solved!!!
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 11:19 PM   #11
aceflier
Bringer of teh Welt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
ONE CARD!!!!!

All dual card solutions, SLI, 9800GX2, 4870x2 have micro stutter which make good frames seem choppier, less smooth, etc. Stick with a single GPU, problem solved!!!
Says you

I have not seen this myth on my system as of yet.
__________________
2600K 4.9ghz 1.38v
2X Palit gtx560ti 2gb 1000/2000
8gb 1600mhz Kingston HyperX
128gb Crusial Real SSD
750gb WD Black
Buggy wife RMA next week
Vantage P43697 3DMarks
3D Mark 11 P10008
aceflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-08, 11:49 PM   #12
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: I change my mind about the GTX280

Quote:
Originally Posted by aceflier View Post
Says you

I have not seen this myth on my system as of yet.
Neither have I, but that won't keep the single GPU fanboys from shouting it from rooftops constantly.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU fan always at 100%, can not change the thermal settings legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 26 05-04-13 06:56 AM
Nvclock able to change fanspeed Nvidia-Settings not. jcdole NVIDIA Linux 14 05-05-12 05:51 PM
Change 9700 to AGP4x pelly Other Desktop Graphics Cards 22 10-18-02 08:34 PM
NV30 Design Change??? Stavros Rumor Mill 7 09-01-02 08:32 PM
change depth snot NVIDIA Linux 3 08-25-02 04:51 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.