Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-03, 02:13 PM   #37
henrik_se
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
[i] Btw., is there *ANYBODY* out there having a running 8RDA (non-plus) w/ GNU/Linux and a Geforce card?

Please, say something! :-)

Greetz, Blaz [/b]
Yeah I have it running with the 3123 drivers and it works pretty well except that I can't change resolution with Ctrl++--
That is the only reason I want the newer drivers, everything else works fine.
henrik_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-03, 02:04 PM   #38
henrik_se
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Has anyone had any luck with the new drivers/BIOS yet?
henrik_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-03, 02:55 PM   #39
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hello henrik_se,

Nope, still no luck. The new BIOS image almost corrupted my active one (do not know if it was my guilt, but did the same one month before w/ the same board and according to the FAQs).

The new driver still behaves exactly the same.
Perhaps, if i can find out the resource, i will try my luck using the 2.5.x patch and use it against the 2.6x Linux series.

Perhaps system resource management behaves different in 2.6, cos this seems to be the cause w/ the 8RDA (although named tricks did not work for me, u know, disabling IRQs above 11, reserving 10 for MIDI etc....).


Seeyou,

Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-03, 04:44 PM   #40
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default

Hello together,

Still me and still not working :-(
I tried the patch against 2.6test2. Most probably my guilt, but when applying the patch, the make rules disappeared.
So, the 2.6 Linux runs okay, but could not test the patch (that was one week ago, dunno if there are new versions, though).

Had anyone luck in the meantime???

Another strange effect: when starting X (nv) w/ 2.6 kernel, my complete environment is away in console: loaded modules seem to be away, when reloading, QM_QUERY or so comes up. This error came also in naked console when used older modutils. But i have upgraded them. Perhaps this was a Debian (sid) issue, having two separate versions of modutils installed (the new version did not came via apt...).

Seeya, Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-03, 04:15 PM   #41
blazko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 19
Default 8RDA running now!!!

Woooooooooow!

Finally, after three months i got my 8RDA running. I tried nothing new but used the 2.4.22 Linux from today! However, I had to re-set some options in the BIOS:

- *enabled* APIC (but still not compiled in into kernel)
- *enabled* ACPI (also kernel modules do fine)
- disabled MIDI + parport support
- gave free IRQs 10-13 (autom. IRQ handling)
- enabled AGP 8x

compiled kernel w/o framebuffer support and agpgart.
Using actual nVidia 4496 and pre-actual EPoX BIOS (that one before July 16th.
Re-enabled X11/nVidia option Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV".

So, i tried the same combinations before, except that i now use the up to date kernel.


HAPPY greetings, Timo
__________________
EPoX 8RDA
Athlon XP 2600
blazko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-03, 11:30 AM   #42
blakeyez
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vernon, BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Default Not on an Epox board, but same problem fixed!

Hi all

I was having the same problems as you guys (garbled screen, or blank screen if I use my GF2MX400 instead of integrated graphics), though using my Shuttle SN41G2. Not the same mobo, but same problems!

Here's what fixed it for me, after DAYS of trying different combinations:

In kernel config:
- Enable AGPGART in kernel, NOT as module, with nvidia nforce2 agpgart patch
- Enable MTRR
- APM as module
- Disable ACPI
- Enable VGA Console and vidmode selection
- Disable framebuffer
- Disable local APIC
- Disable DRI/DRM

In XF86Config:
- Only option used is "NvAgp" "2"

I will check my bios options later if asked for, but the one thing that I *know* I have set is ACPI is enabled, because in the FN41 mobo BIOS there is no option to disable it!

Hope that helps someone!
Dave
blakeyez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHEL 5.6 .nvidia-settings-rc settings un-applied on screen lock bluziff NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:12 AM
NVS3100 (Thinkpad T410) blank screen on resume NvFuchs NVIDIA Linux 2 05-15-12 01:02 PM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.