Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-26-08, 07:42 AM   #1
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Thoughts on Supersampling

I'm always reading reviews showing that SLI is only utilised to its fullest at 2560x1600... people like jAkUP and me who have SLI systems but only Dell 24" monitors, you'd think we're missing out?

So it makes you think what's the solution to getting older games in particular to utilise SLI to the max in cases where SLI doesnt improve performance at all? For me the best solution seems to be to use SS 2x2 (or 3x3 if it can handle it) using nHancer... effectively blowing up my 1920x1200 resolution to 3840x2400.

Does everyone agree this is the best way to use SLI? Seems to be for me.

Especially in games like UT3 where forcing normal AA doesn't really work properly... 2x2 SSAA gives me really good results and awesome PQ in UT3

Anyone else with SLI use SSAA for everything that can handle it? Seems to me to be the ideal solution.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 11:51 AM   #2
gstanford
Registered User
 
gstanford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 799
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

That is certainly one way.

Don't forget that you can also make use of the combined AA modes (8xS, 8xSQ,16xS, 32xS) and the SLI AntiAliasing modes(SLI 8x, 16x, 32xQ, 64xS), all of which utilize some level of supersampling.

On top of that you can use transparency SuperSampling if you still haven't had your fill.

If you can't see any/many of the above options, then you need to install and use nHancer (you should be using it anyhow).
__________________

Primary rig:
CPU: Intel i7 2600K
Cooler: Cooler MAster Hyper 212+
Motherboard Asrock z68 Extreme 4
Memory: 8gb Corsair DDR-3 1333
Video: 2x Galaxy GTX 670 reference 2gb
PhysX: Gainward GTX 460 SE 1gb
Video Capture: Compro E-700 DVB-T PCI-e
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W
Monitor: Samsung 305T 30"
Case: Coolermaster stacker 830
Hard drives: 5x 500gb seagate SATA (non raid)
Burner: Samsung SH-S18L
OS: Vista Ultimate 64 bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
MS Sidewinder Joystick
Logitech G25 wheel
Logitech 5.1 speaker system
gstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 01:51 PM   #3
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

Holy crap, they have 64xS AA?
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 01:58 PM   #4
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

Under OpenGL yes.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 05:13 PM   #5
tweaked
Crazed Crack Head
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 277
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

your sig makes it impossible to take you seriously in any capacity.
tweaked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-08, 07:57 PM   #6
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX View Post
I'm always reading reviews showing that SLI is only utilised to its fullest at 2560x1600... people like jAkUP and me who have SLI systems but only Dell 24" monitors, you'd think we're missing out?

So it makes you think what's the solution to getting older games in particular to utilise SLI to the max in cases where SLI doesnt improve performance at all? For me the best solution seems to be to use SS 2x2 (or 3x3 if it can handle it) using nHancer... effectively blowing up my 1920x1200 resolution to 3840x2400.

Does everyone agree this is the best way to use SLI? Seems to be for me.

Especially in games like UT3 where forcing normal AA doesn't really work properly... 2x2 SSAA gives me really good results and awesome PQ in UT3

Anyone else with SLI use SSAA for everything that can handle it? Seems to me to be the ideal solution.
It depends upon what you are doing. If you can run extra eye candy and be happy with performance then by all means go for it.

Here is my logic with SLI. You don't always have to have the cards loaded down. As long as you have good fps, say 60fps average it is better to leave a little room for times when the game becomes even more intense. This helps smooth out gameplay because the SLI setup will be able to handle the extra work where a single gpu would already be running at 100%. If your not even touching the second card then by all means turn on more options to increase LOD.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 03:26 AM   #7
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

Quote:
Originally Posted by XxDeadlyxX View Post
I'm always reading reviews showing that SLI is only utilised to its fullest at 2560x1600... people like jAkUP and me who have SLI systems but only Dell 24" monitors, you'd think we're missing out?

So it makes you think what's the solution to getting older games in particular to utilise SLI to the max in cases where SLI doesnt improve performance at all? For me the best solution seems to be to use SS 2x2 (or 3x3 if it can handle it) using nHancer... effectively blowing up my 1920x1200 resolution to 3840x2400.

Does everyone agree this is the best way to use SLI? Seems to be for me.

Especially in games like UT3 where forcing normal AA doesn't really work properly... 2x2 SSAA gives me really good results and awesome PQ in UT3

Anyone else with SLI use SSAA for everything that can handle it? Seems to me to be the ideal solution.
ssaa looks great but causes mouse lag for me despite the fps often being over 100
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 03:55 AM   #8
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
ssaa looks great but causes mouse lag for me despite the fps often being over 100
SLI for me causes very slight lag in games like UT3 when SLI is enabled whether SSAA is enabled or not. I've got used to it and aren't getting lower frags online really, but it is not quite as ultra-snappy as with SLI disabled. Offline play though I wouldn't even notice it, you have to be really sensitive to notice.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-08, 04:01 AM   #9
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

sli itself doesnt give me any mouse lag thankfully
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 04:06 AM   #10
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
sli itself doesnt give me any mouse lag thankfully
For me it isn't limited to mouse either, double tapping left and right to dodge in UT3 isn't as good as with SLI disabled.
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 07:31 AM   #11
Shocky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 986
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

It's a waste of performance, 4xAA is more then enough on a 24" screen, I'm guessing the main reason for wanting to use obscene amounts of AA is so can wave your e-penis around on forums and justify your SLI/Crossfire setups.

Only time I use higher levels of AA is when games are stuck at low resolutions, maybe when SSAA provides a hit as small as 4xMSAA and doesnt lag may mouse to ****e then i'll use it, this the kind of thoughts you were looking for?
Shocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-08, 07:42 AM   #12
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Thoughts on Supersampling

i agree that going above 4 samples for msaa at 1920x1200 on a 24 incher is basically a waste of power as the difference is extremely small. the only higher forms of aa with a worthwhile difference currently available are ssaa but we need much more power and no mouse lag.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bored, impressed, and giddy: Our final thoughts on E3 2012 (with photos) News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 06:00 AM
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM
Looking for a good 21"/22" Monitor...any thoughts? Guuts General Hardware 13 09-22-02 11:04 AM
Thoughts on the command line as an interface. lunix Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 10 09-12-02 08:44 PM
GTA Thoughts? Typedef Enum Gaming Central 5 09-03-02 04:51 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.