Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-08, 11:37 PM   #13
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

don't tell me you have a huge ass VHF antenna on your roof
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-08, 11:48 PM   #14
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

I have a outdoor VHF/UHF antenna on my roof and was using it to pick up all my local digital channels but Directv finally got my locals in via MPEG4 and they look just as good as the OTA signals. Since Directv went to MPEG4 their HD channels look great.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-08, 06:11 PM   #15
evilchris
 
evilchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,411
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by LORD-eX-Bu View Post
don't tell me you have a huge ass VHF antenna on your roof
evilchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-08, 06:13 PM   #16
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

VHF is the only way we can get HD here. Capital cities get FoxtelHD, but i assume it's like what EChris says. Not as good as OTA.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-08, 07:02 PM   #17
Blackcat
Registered User
 
Blackcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maine
Posts: 244
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygerwoody View Post
I found some DirecT TV HDTV receivers on ebay going for pretty cheap. I wonder if they would work fine for what I want? All i need is the DirectTV card, which most of them include.

Sound good?
yes, that will work. Had Dish for a while and they did not have CBS in HD, so I hooked up an antenna and it worked great
__________________
Gateway P-6860FX laptop, Core2 Duo X7800 @3.00 ghz, Nvidia 8800M GTS 512MB, Windows Vista 64, 320 GB hard drive, 4 GB DDR2
Blackcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-08, 10:23 PM   #18
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

The thing is that Tyger does not have Directv, he is just wanting to use one of their receiver to pick up OTA signals.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-08, 10:52 AM   #19
Blackcat
Registered User
 
Blackcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maine
Posts: 244
Default Re: Digital Converter box for HDTV

yes, I know, and it will work for this
__________________
Gateway P-6860FX laptop, Core2 Duo X7800 @3.00 ghz, Nvidia 8800M GTS 512MB, Windows Vista 64, 320 GB hard drive, 4 GB DDR2
Blackcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizio's Co-Star: $99 Google TV box with OnLive gaming support News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 11:40 AM
Future U: Rise of the digital humanities News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 08:40 PM
How Starbucks is turning itself into a tech company News Archived News Items 0 06-12-12 07:30 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:30 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.