Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-08, 02:19 PM   #1
Pixelsmack
Registered User
 
Pixelsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 194
Unhappy Please help! E P I C F A I L

So I bought this decent Gigabyte motherboard and Q9300 quad Core a while back. Without having to spend lots of cash I was hoping to squeeze some more love out of it to help the latest games. I recently upgraded my 8800GT to a GTX260-216, love it!

The motherboard box has big logos on it; how easy it is to overclock. And most websites have revealed taking Core 2 Quads up 500mhz is no big deal even on stock cooling. (I'd like to see 3ghz from my 2.5ghz)

So where am I going wrong? Even using the mboards on-board "OC-for-Dummys" it just locks even at small OC ammounts; won't post. Is it my ram? I bought good DDR2-800 Corsair ram. Do I need to buy ram that is clocked for my desired destination overclock? Like 1200mhz DDR2?

Any help is appreciated. My sig has my specs but my mboard is a Gigabyte EP-35C-DSR.
__________________
Back Seat Racing

Coolermaster 690 case, i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, 2xEVGA GTX260-216 SC in SLI, EVGA X58 SLI, Tagan 700w PSU, 2TB RAID0 Seagate SATAIIs, Win7 Ult. 64bit.
Pixelsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-08, 08:44 PM   #2
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Have you grabbed the newest BIOS? My sisters Gigabyte was an terrible mess until I grabbed the latest BIOS and it's been rock solid since.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-08, 08:50 PM   #3
Pixelsmack
Registered User
 
Pixelsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 194
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Yes, it's all up to date.
__________________
Back Seat Racing

Coolermaster 690 case, i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, 2xEVGA GTX260-216 SC in SLI, EVGA X58 SLI, Tagan 700w PSU, 2TB RAID0 Seagate SATAIIs, Win7 Ult. 64bit.
Pixelsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-08, 11:26 PM   #4
iflop
Registered User
 
iflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 52
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Maybe your ram timings are too tight. Did you set them manually?
__________________

Intel Q9550 | MSI GTX 460 | 4gb mushkin ram | Gigabyte ep45-ud3l | Seasonic energy+ 650w PSU
iflop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 01:55 AM   #5
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Take a look here; http://forums.tweaktown.com/f69/

Also, make sure your updated BIOS isn't a Beta version.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 02:25 AM   #6
Pixelsmack
Registered User
 
Pixelsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 194
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

I'll check this out, thanks. But do I need to get faster ram? I want to make sure that's not the issue. I have 800mhz CORSAIR DDR2...and am thinking in order to OC I need to haver faster ram.
__________________
Back Seat Racing

Coolermaster 690 case, i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, 2xEVGA GTX260-216 SC in SLI, EVGA X58 SLI, Tagan 700w PSU, 2TB RAID0 Seagate SATAIIs, Win7 Ult. 64bit.
Pixelsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 05:51 AM   #7
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Remember you have 4GB, loosen timings alot at first.

Also downclock the modules alot at first.

Then keep pushing till you reach a sweetspot.
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 06:28 AM   #8
bacon12
Registered User
 
bacon12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,532
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

I had stability issues with that board and my e8400, never could get decent stable clocks from the cpu with it. My asus however will take the same cpu to 4ghz.
bacon12 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-01-08, 06:48 AM   #9
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

i have a little question
i have a Gigabyte Ga-EX38 DS4 no bios update as of yet bought it together with my Q9450 adn HD4870 well you know.

so is this motherboard a hard case as well if i am to ever OC?

if i do i might get the scythe zipang as it is a very good cooler and fits in my P190 i canīt fit the true since the giant fan inside the side plate

so are all gigabyte motherboards har d to deal with compared to asus?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 07:09 AM   #10
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Taking a quad to 500 Mhz isn't easy. I've never had one that liked going much over 450Mhz. The Q9300 is not a great clocker because the multiplier is so low.

Also, Gigabyte boards have more vdroop than most boards I've ever used, I stick with ASUS due to the Load Line Calibration feature - and easy pencil mod for vdroop. This eliminates the droop (or drop in vcore) during load which is a huge reason for instability.

You also didn't mention your cooling. I'm using high end custom water and the still one of hardest parts of overclocking a quad is controlling the heat. You might have seen some of the skilled quad overclocking reviews that put forth a misconception that it's easier than it really is. Hitting 500Mhz FSB is no easy feat though.
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 07:28 AM   #11
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

well i guess overklocking a dual core is way easier than a quad?

so a E8600+some P45 ASUS board si the better option to OC?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-08, 07:30 AM   #12
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASUSEN7900GTX View Post
well i guess overklocking a dual core is way easier than a quad?

so a E8600+some P45 ASUS board si the better option to OC?
I had an E0 8600 @ 4.6Ghz, but my Quad @ 3.7Ghz was faster in games that took advantage of more cores, which are alot now. And with GTA IV coming I wasn't about to sacrifice any performance. Rockstar is suggesting a quad for GTA 4. Quad is a better all around CPU, but a dual will let you OC further. Do you want to be better off in the future or just have a bigger e-peen now to flaunt? I opted to go back to the better choice all around than the 4.6Ghz e-peen.

If you are looking for a cheap option to OC that quad...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813131182R
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.