Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-08, 07:38 PM   #25
XxDeadlyxX
STALKER!!!!!!!!
 
XxDeadlyxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Just installed, everything is the same as before it seems, except my mem usage seems to have gont slightly up
__________________
Main PC [Core i7 980X @ 4.3GHz] [Gigabyte X58A-UD7] [7TB of HDDs] [2x Inno3D GTX 480 SLI @ stock] [12GB Team Xtreem 7-7-7-24 @ 1500mhz] [Antec 1200] [Alienware AW2310 (general use/3D Vision) and Samsung 46B650 @ 1080p24] [X-Fi Forte] [Pioneer Blu-ray BDC-S02] [Silverstone Strider 1500W] [Creative Gigaworks S750 7.1] [Windows 7 x64] 3DMark Vantage - 38010
XxDeadlyxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 10:36 PM   #26
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

If you are going to post info about a download why can't you put a link to it somewhere??
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 10:38 PM   #27
malachi1313
Registered User
 
malachi1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SMASHVILLE,TN
Posts: 818
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

The links can be found here:http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/w.../dd262148.aspx
malachi1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 10:47 PM   #28
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Quote:
Originally Posted by malachi1313 View Post
If you are going to post info about a download why can't you put a link to it somewhere??
Way to read. See the 3rd post.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-08, 11:30 PM   #29
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 12:17 AM   #30
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

malachi1313 fails at reading
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 04:40 AM   #31
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Quote:
Originally Posted by malachi1313 View Post
If you are going to post info about a download why can't you put a link to it somewhere??
woah ease off the lube...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 06:47 AM   #32
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Don't you mean. Use more lube? Something is obviously causing irritation.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-06-08, 10:31 AM   #33
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

I can has lube?

Installed SP2, doesn't seem to have done much for me. I already had Vista pretty tweaked out though and already running on 400MB memory @ idle.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 12:21 PM   #34
JaxMacFL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 474
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Vista X64 SP2 beta download/install went without a hitch (the 612MB). As yet the only thing I've had to update was the Auslogics Registry Defrag to the 5.0 free version. From the time I push the start button to the time the desktop is fully loaded is about 90 seconds. All seems to be running well. My G15 kb shows 25% of my ram being utilized at idle. So far have ran FC2 and TDU with no problems. Can't complain.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz (1.40v) w/NH-D14 - P8P67 WS B3 rev (BIOS 2105) - G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3-1600 16GB (7-8-7-24-2T) - Sapphire 7970 Crossfire w/Xtreme 7970 coolers - OCZ Agility 3 240GB - Dell 3008FPW - SB X-Fi Tit Fatal1ty Pro - Seasonic X-1250W - CM HAF X RC942 - Win 7 HP x64 SP1
JaxMacFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 12:42 PM   #35
sMull
Registered User
 
sMull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 308
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
I can has lube?

Installed SP2, doesn't seem to have done much for me. I already had Vista pretty tweaked out though and already running on 400MB memory @ idle.
Can you share what you did to get that low? Mine is ~1GB at idle.
sMull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-08, 01:16 PM   #36
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Vista SP2 Public Beta out

Quote:
Originally Posted by sMull View Post
Can you share what you did to get that low? Mine is ~1GB at idle.
He probably just turned all the "frills" off... Aero, Sidebar, etc. Shouldn't be too difficult.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
No Guild Wars 2 beta this weekend News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 09:10 AM
Oi, Diablo: Torchlight II Beta Stress Test This Weekend News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 10:30 PM
Panel: HP Cloud Services Opens Public Beta News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.