Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-08, 11:33 AM   #1
MaxFX
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 580
Default NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

"Quote!
This card features Volterra multiphase power regulation (no more Nvidia squealing, yes!), 14 memory chips (instead of standard seven) and 55nm GT200-103-B2 chip. 14 memory chips leaves room for cards with 1.5 GB of GDDR3 memory, and if dual-bank is used, GTX260 can support 3GB memory on the single card.
"End of Quote!

http://theovalich.wordpress.com/2008...-gb-of-memory/

Woow if this is true, if so im glad I waited for the next card as GTA4 should fly with this card on hightextures
MaxFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 03:44 PM   #2
Amaury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

wow. more reason to wait for these cards. patience grasshoppers. Mirrror's Edge in January with Nvidia PhysX, the hope of running GTA4 faster with FSAA, and FEAR 2 in Feb.
Amaury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 03:49 PM   #3
Amaury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

I wonder how overclockable those 55nm cores are going to be? Over 800mhz?
Amaury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 05:14 PM   #4
Feyy
Registered User
 
Feyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Meh, im waiting for new architecture.
__________________
________________________________
| CPU: Intel Q6600 B3 @ 3Ghz
| Cooler: Zalman CNPS9700 LED
| Mobo: Intel D975XBX2
| GFX: Inno 3D 8800 GTS 640MB
| PhysX: EVGA 8400 GS 256MB
| Memory: 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 PC6400
| PSU: OCZ StealthXtreme 600W PSU
| Monitor: Acer G24
| HDD: 320GB Seagate Barracuda
| Case: NZXT Lexa Blackline [Blue]
| Mouse: Steelseries Xai
| Mouse mat: Steelseries 4HD
________________________________
Feyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 06:56 PM   #5
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

1,5Gb? Hmm gonna be interesting to see how ATi responds to this. Have the prices of gddr5 gone down at all or is this going to cost a fortune?
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 08:39 PM   #6
XMAN52373
Registered User
 
XMAN52373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 534
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxFX View Post
"Quote!
This card features Volterra multiphase power regulation (no more Nvidia squealing, yes!), 14 memory chips (instead of standard seven) and 55nm GT200-103-B2 chip. 14 memory chips leaves room for cards with 1.5 GB of GDDR3 memory, and if dual-bank is used, GTX260 can support 3GB memory on the single card.
"End of Quote!

http://theovalich.wordpress.com/2008...-gb-of-memory/

Woow if this is true, if so im glad I waited for the next card as GTA4 should fly with this card on hightextures

1. 280 and 260 cards memory on both sides, dont believe me, look again.
2. There are no spaces to add more memory, the backside to each memory chip has resistors(backside=opisite side of pcb from each memory chip), just where exactly are they going to put them?
__________________
C2Q6600@3.3
ASUS GTX570
eVGA 780i SLi AR
8GB DDR2 PC8500
Windows 7 U x64
XMAN52373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 08:47 PM   #7
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMAN52373 View Post
1. 280 and 260 cards memory on both sides, dont believe me, look again.
2. There are no spaces to add more memory, the backside to each memory chip has resistors(backside=opisite side of pcb from each memory chip), just where exactly are they going to put them?
that was my question. Also, what are you going to do with 1.5 GBs of vram? 1 is more then enough for 95% of games out there. the only thing I can think of that will use the extra ram is autocad. and 3 GBs? you"ll need 6+ GBs of ram to have decent system preformance with that huge frame buffer.
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 08:51 PM   #8
Amaury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage10 View Post
that was my question. Also, what are you going to do with 1.5 GBs of vram?
+ improved patch.
Amaury is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-09-08, 05:27 AM   #9
MaxFX
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 580
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Dont know if it's true about the ram but as I said it would be pretty good to have in GTA4 and for upcoming games so let's just hope it's true. this card seems like the card I will get. more power and more mem, thats exactly what I have been waiting for like forever now. bring it out nVidia
MaxFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-08, 04:33 PM   #10
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

As was said, this board layout changes all the ram chips to one side of the board. Nowhere do I see room for 3GB of memory. Standard GTX 260's already have 14 chips.
Yes, 1.8GB is possible on G200 based cards, they're already using double density chips in the latest 1.5GB Quadro cards. You will pay for these chips however, don't expect no $500 graphics cards using double density chips. Nor would I expect double density chips to clock as well, unless the move to GDDR5 finally happens.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-08, 04:52 PM   #11
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Nice. I'm still waiting for next line-up with new architecture. I'm still on ol 8800GTX.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-08, 04:58 PM   #12
nrdstrm
 
nrdstrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Staples Center
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: NVIDIA's 55nm-based GTX 260 to get 1.5GB memory!

Quote:
Originally Posted by NaitoSan View Post
Nice. I'm still waiting for next line-up with new architecture. I'm still on ol 8800GTX.
Same here. I was to busy to do PC gaming, but I got layed off yesterday, so I suppose I'll start gaming more again. Fortunately, I turned down a job last week and they hadn't filled the position yet. It's a much easier job, so I'll have more time. I still want to wait for new architecture though.
__________________


On Any Given Sunday!
nrdstrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
NVIDIA launches GeForce GTX 670, Zotac's AMP! Reviewed (PCGamer) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 10:11 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
MSI GeForce GTX 670 Reference and OC Edition Compared ' Overclocked Variants based News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.