Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-08, 07:53 AM   #13
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

no not really i am no whre near a decnet overklocker so i´d probaby just fry it.

it works fine with my HD4870 in fallout 3 FC2 and other new games now i know fallout 3 FC2 COD WAW isn´t all that optimized but i am certain some pathces can help that

so i am quite happy with the performance of this "´beast" at stock speeds and so

but i do have thought of Ocíng if it comes to that i guess i´ll have to get me that true copper and 2 good 120mm fans to attatch
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-08, 10:58 AM   #14
Wolken007
Registered User
 
Wolken007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 309
Send a message via AIM to Wolken007 Send a message via MSN to Wolken007
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

I have both ASUS and Gigabyte boards. My Gigabyte P35 boards work great on 65nm chips (Q6600, E6750). However, before picking up my ASUS P5Q-E P45 board, I had my Q9450 in the EP35C-DS3R. It was a struggle to get to 3.3ghz. As soon as I dropped it in the ASUS board, I was able to get it to 3.75ghz. I cannot speak to the P45 Gigabyte boards, but in my experience, the ASUS was much easier to overclock with.

That being said, my P35 Gigabyte boards have been fantastic overclockers with the 65nm chips. I was able to push my Q6600 to 3.6ghz without a hitch. Has been rock stable an runs wonderfully.
__________________
Intel Core i7 980x @ 4.4ghz \ Asus P6T Deluxe V2 \ 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 \ 2X EVGA GTX480
Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.2ghz \ Asus P6T \ 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 \ EVGA GTX470
Wolken007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-08, 08:42 PM   #15
mythy
Single Male
 
mythy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,118
Default Re: Please help! E P I C F A I L

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pixelsmack View Post
I'll check this out, thanks. But do I need to get faster ram? I want to make sure that's not the issue. I have 800mhz CORSAIR DDR2...and am thinking in order to OC I need to haver faster ram.
well what ratio are you setting for the strap? You can drop the ram speeds as you raise the FSB for the CPU and still be under 800mhz...
__________________

---Q6600 @3.45 430FSB - P5K Deluxe---
---1066 5-4-4-12 PL6! - 257 GTX OCed---
---ASUS Xonar DX - Dell 2407 24 LCD---
mythy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.