Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-08, 03:24 AM   #25
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

The first time in ages I receive a game one day before official launch date, my respect for the Spanish mail system.

Game is really beautiful, runs at constant 60fps with 4xAA and vsync at 1920x1200 and looks gorgeous, I love the new art style. Just like all my third person games with no need to aim, I use the 360 gamepad and for me it's perfect.

I like the humor of the game, it's quite funny and voice acting in Spanish is brilliant. Sound effects are on par too, with perfect 5.1 support. I love how fluid the game is, no slowdowns at all. I have finished tutorial and headed to the first area, fights are impressive.

However I don't like that you can't die at all, if you miss a jump Elika will "save" you automagically. No sands power, no rewind, she will take you to the last "safe" spot, but I haven't seen any "checkpoint" messages.

Not sure if the game will end being tedious or repetitive like Assassin's Creed, but for now I'm loving the new Prince of Persia. BTW why the game is named 'Prince of Persia' only?. That's the name of the original game, just like they did with Alone in the Dark. This naming scheme shouldn't be allowed
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 03:40 AM   #26
NaitoSan
Student @ DigiPen
 
NaitoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4,069
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

The latest Prince of Persia is re-telling the story with different image. Basically it's a reboot like Batman Begins for Batman movie. So they wanted to just name it Prince of Persia. I don't have problem with that.

About PS3 version, I thought it looked a bit washed up and a little blurry to cover jaggies. I got it for 360 instead.

http://www.videogamer.com/videos/pri...omparison.html

PC screenshots looks beautiful as usual. I really like the art style. I was slightly worried after hearing they were going for cel shading but boy, I was wrong. They did a great job.
__________________
17-inch MacBook Pro: Unibody | Intel Core 2 T9800 @ 2.93GHz | Nvidia 9400M GT / 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 | 320GB 7200RPM SATA | 4GB DDR3 PC1066 | Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard | Windows 7 Professional x64

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz | ASUS P5K Deluxe/WiFi-AP | 4GB G.Skill F2-6400PHU1 @ 800MHz 4-4-3-5 | EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB | Western Digital Raptor X 150GB | Samsung 32" HDTV | Windows 7 Professional x64

Note: English is my second language so please bear with my grammar!
NaitoSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 06:57 AM   #27
Dayoflayo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Hello, i've got a problem with the fps. The problem is that they are not constant. I've got just 60fps or 30fps. So when i play i've got 60fps then few seconds later 30fps then 60fps then 30fps and so on. It's very annoying. Does Someone know why ?

I'm playing with a nvidia 8800gts 320mb, 1680x1050 no AA

Thanks
Dayoflayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 07:36 AM   #28
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NaitoSan View Post
About PS3 version, I thought it looked a bit washed up and a little blurry to cover jaggies. I got it for 360 instead.

http://www.videogamer.com/videos/pri...omparison.html
What a load, The colors on my TV are nice and vibrant and theres no blur that I can see.

From IGN (can't see your vid since im at work)
Quote:
The 360 version looks very slightly jaggy when examining items closely. The PS3 version looks to be smoothed out somewhat with better anti-aliasing effects

Color wise, you'll see differences between each version, but no detail is lost with these slight variations of contrast so there's no winner in this regard.
The difference is because of how the systems differ in color output, if you set your settings good then it will look just as nice (PS3 games usually have a higher brightness and lower contrast by default).
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 08:55 AM   #29
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Rented this on the PS3 and it looks and plays great. Though it is now getting very tedious because there is no challenge cause there is no penalty for just going for it and dying like the past PoP games. She just saves you from everything. You can sit there and not fight the monsters and she will save you every time.

From the screens, I think the PC looks a better than the PS3, but not enough to make me want to buy it on the PC. I was thinking about buying this on the PC but I am so glad I just rented it because of the gameplay. I'll end up probably finishing the game then returning it to gamefly.

Is the Guy's voice actor the one who plays Drake from Uncharted? It sounds a lot like Drake when he yells for help when I miss a jump .
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 09:39 AM   #30
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rafarataneneces View Post
Hello

The game is running on 640x480, SLI is not supported
the game looks cool

My question is, where do you change the resolution?

I modified FIFA 09 when I was 18 years old, so I DO KNOW about Video Games

I even studied at the Arts Institute of California where they have video gaming program, but decided to go with Web Design

So PLEASE do not treat me bad, in Display, all I can see is brightness!!

My game is running at 640x480

I have Windows Vista 64bit, 2xGTX 260 Core 216 (SLI), so I have more than enough power to run this baby to the max
Open up Games Explorer in Vista, launch the game from there and you should see "settings" there you can see all the graphics options.

Can anyone else confirm that SLI is broken in this game?

I'm getting my copy today in the mail (hopefully).
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 09:49 AM   #31
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerLito View Post
Is the Guy's voice actor the one who plays Drake from Uncharted? It sounds a lot like Drake when he yells for help when I miss a jump .
Yup, same dude.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 10:35 AM   #32
Mickey Padge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dayoflayo View Post
Hello, i've got a problem with the fps. The problem is that they are not constant. I've got just 60fps or 30fps. So when i play i've got 60fps then few seconds later 30fps then 60fps then 30fps and so on. It's very annoying. Does Someone know why ?

I'm playing with a nvidia 8800gts 320mb, 1680x1050 no AA

Thanks
Me too, with 8800 ultras in SLI or not

Really annoying to say the least....
Mickey Padge is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-11-08, 10:57 AM   #33
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey Padge View Post
Me too, with 8800 ultras in SLI or not

Really annoying to say the least....
Vsync. If vsync can't hit 60 it will cut the FPS in half over in over.

I force triple buffering so I don't notice this issue.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 11:00 AM   #34
sMull
Registered User
 
sMull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 308
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

Yes, you have Vsync enabled. If it's set to 60 for example, but the current scene can only be rendered at 59, you FPS are cut in half. Try setting tripple buffering or just disable vsync.
sMull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 11:10 AM   #35
Sidric
Evil Clown Face
 
Sidric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 524
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

I completed the PS3 version last week. It was excellent. Very fluid, almost sublime platforming and the combat was surprising challenging. Art style was absolutely perfect for this game, and it looked gorgeous on my 40" Bravia. One thing that also surprised me was the quality of the voice acting. It really drew me in to the relationship between the Prince and Elika, though the way they implemented the dialogue kind of hurt the flow of the game a little bit.

Overall out of 10, I'd probably give this game a 9.5. Half a point being deducted because of no real challenge and the slightly out of place dialogue sequences. One of my favorite games this year.
__________________
[Mastermind]
[Case]Silverstone TJ10
[PSU] PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad
[CPU]Intel Q6600 w/ TR Ultra-120 Extreme @ 3GHz
[Mobo]EVGA nForce 680i
[Memory]OCZ PC2-8500 4GB
[GPU] BFG GTX 260
[Sound] ASUS Sonar Dx
[HDD]
--WD Raptor 150GBx2(Raid 0 Striped)--
--Seagate Barrucuda 300GB--
[OS]Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
[Monitor]Gateway FPD2485W

Live/Xfire/PSN: SidRic SteamID: 3_gh05t_3
Sidric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 01:48 PM   #36
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Prince of Persia (2008) Official Release Thread

you guys are really making me buy this game with all this comments.. i will check out steam tonight!! cant wait!!
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official GeForce GTX 670 Review and Discussion Thread MikeC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 23 10-28-12 10:19 AM
Metro Madness: Ars OpenForum installs Windows 8 Release Preview News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
Official nForce 2 Thread Matthyahuw CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 148 04-16-03 04:39 AM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.