Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-03, 04:08 AM   #1
jj00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default RH9 NForce Question

I purchased a "Shuttle Sn41g2", and installed Red Hat 9 on it. In case you were wondering, the Shuttle uses the NVidia NForce chipset.

The video and sound seem to be working fine, however, I cannot get any response from the network card.

I went to the NVidia's website and downloaded both rpm files for RH9, but neither one seem to do anything for me. I tried to add network devices, using the nvidia link, but it doesn't ever seem to detect the card.

I'm sorry I do not have any config files available yet. I had to write this message on one of my other computers. I was just wondering if there was anything obvious that I was missing, or if anyone else encountered these issues and had any suggestions.

At this point, I'm definately open to suggestions
jj00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-03, 04:32 AM   #2
jj00
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 5
Default additional information

It's a bit late here, but I thought I would add in some useful information.

On the NVidia website, in the NForce drivers (for Linux) section, there are 2 different rpm files to download, one ends in a 6, the other a 9 (I'll refer to them like this from now on). The 9 has a note that it is for Kernel Upgrade.

I tried installing the 6 and then eventually the 9. I get further with the 6 installation.

Here are my steps:

- Open the Internet Config Wizard
- Choose Ethernet
- Choose "nvnet (etho0)"
- Keep settings the same (Automatically find IP address, etc)

After I finish this, it sends me into the Network Configuration dialog, the device has a status of "inactive". I try to activate it, and I get this message: "nvnet device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initilazation".

I never get any further than this. Any suggestions? Thanks for your time!
jj00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-03, 08:44 PM   #3
jamescastle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default

i'm having the same problem with redhat 9 (2.4.20-20.9) on an hp a220n (athlon xp). did you ever solve the problem?

fyi, i loaded the binary version for 2.4.20-9 and didn't try to recompile yet.
jamescastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-03, 11:30 PM   #4
jamescastle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default

i read something from matthewchin (one of the earlier posts). his suggestion worked:

Please d/l and install from the tar ball instead:
NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar

Install steps
---------------
tar -xvzf NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar
cd nforce
make
make install

nvnet.o should be created successfully.
Now seems eth0 can be recognised even at startup.

i think the src.rpm version is no good (doesn't seem to deploy the objects). hope this helps.
jamescastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 03:20 AM
Nforce AGP & unreal 2003 nichos NVIDIA Linux 1 10-18-02 06:21 PM
Keep K7S5A or Upgrade To Nforce MB? Grechie CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 10-06-02 03:28 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-08-02 12:46 AM
tv-out on nForce mobos token NVIDIA Linux 3 08-14-02 12:27 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.