Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-08, 11:03 PM   #13
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Nice! have you had to up the NB voltage at all?
not yet. I just left it on Auto. I'll play around with it sometime in the future. for now, it's fine.

Anyway, she's playing on it right now, and it hasn't glitched once, so this could be a keeper!
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 06:26 AM   #14
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Don't be afraid of a little voltage. I've been running my E6750 at 1.5v @ 3.6Ghz for around 16 months and its rock solid.
I hope to get similar results as you, just got my new kingston pc 8500 1066mhz ram in my hand. Gonna install when I get home from work.

Installed now is kingston value 800mhz with Fsb at 420 and 8 multi (3.36ghz) but can't go higher on that ram it seems.

I'm also using the CNPS9700 cooler.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 06:58 AM   #15
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Don't be afraid of a little voltage. I've been running my E6750 at 1.5v @ 3.6Ghz for around 16 months and its rock solid.
Yes, but he has an E8400 which is penryn based. The starting voltage is lower on them than the E6750.

E8400 should be max of 1.3625.
E6750 is 1.5V max.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 07:06 AM   #16
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Don't be afraid of a little voltage. I've been running my E6750 at 1.5v @ 3.6Ghz for around 16 months and its rock solid.
Yup as long as you have the means to keep the temps down go higher!
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 09:22 AM   #17
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

why are you trying to keep it under 50c ???

Even 70 is a fine core temp (load) for an E8400

Ehh, thats bad wording - not fine, but will induce no harm I guess.
__________________
P6T Deluxe V2 ||| Core i7 920 D0 4.0Ghz||| 3x2Gb DDR3-1800 ||| 2x EVGA GTX 260 SLI ||| Corsair HX850w ||| 2x640gb HD
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-08, 03:49 AM   #18
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Got the pc 8500 ram installed and hit 3.6ghz without problems
vcore on my E6750 is set to 1.45, it drops to 1.42-1.43 during load according to HWMonitor

I wonder if it's possible to go higher with the e6750?
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-08, 09:51 AM   #19
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
not yet. I just left it on Auto. I'll play around with it sometime in the future. for now, it's fine.

Anyway, she's playing on it right now, and it hasn't glitched once, so this could be a keeper!
If it starts getting flaky like mine did drop it to 3.6 and run the memory 1:1 for best possible memory bandwidth.Rock solid cpu's these are.
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-08, 11:53 AM   #20
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,058
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
Up to 3.6Ghz now. Amazingly enough, the settings are still exactly the same!

Opening up the case shows that the northbridge is pretty warm to the touch, but the HD4870 is still by far the hottest thing in this case.

Max temperature on the CPU is still 44C.
Memory is at 800Mhz 4-4-4-12 2T 2.0V
CPU is at 3.6Ghz, 1.25 Vcore (9x400mhz)

I'm starting to really love this CPU!

I wish my E6600 could do this...

Perfect 24/7 setup dude. BTW I wouldn't push a 45nm cpu past 1.4vcore IMO.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-25-08, 11:59 AM   #21
Quick420
Registered User
 
Quick420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London,Canada
Posts: 1,445
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
Perfect 24/7 setup dude. BTW I wouldn't push a 45nm cpu past 1.4vcore IMO.
Over 1.4 is asking for trouble,mine started acting up(even though temps were fine) so I backed off to 3.6 It seems intel should have released these as 3.6 cpu's since they will do it easily and are rock solid at that freequency,good luck have fun with the new toy:P

MERRY CHRISTMAS ALL
__________________
:Gaming Rig:
Asus P5N-D SLi E8400 Wolfdale@3.6ghz/TTBig TyphoonCooler 51c Orthos 3hrs
Galaxy GTX560ti-GC 296.10 Forceware 950/1900/2200,1100mv,Gts250/Physx
2x2gb Ddr2 1066mhz 4-4-4-12 1T
3xWD WD5000AAKS 500gb/sata300/ 1xSeagate 320gb Ide(tuuunz)
X-fi Fatality Pro*ASUS VH242H 24"LCD*:::Windoze 7-64bit:::
Sony DvD/Ram-Drive
Logitech G25
3dmark06 17,898 Vantage 12,851



If the light is GREEN the trap is clean
Quick420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-08, 06:51 AM   #22
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

I was wondering about swapping my q6700 for E8400 or something. 4.0+ Ghz clock speed on dual core is better then 3.6Ghz clock speed on quad...for gaming and that's what i do most.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-08, 07:53 AM   #23
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,058
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

no
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-08, 12:31 PM   #24
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: The trek to 3.8 Ghz+ on E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
no
Might want to tone it down a bit there mullet. This is a family oriented site.














Back OT, I'll shoot for 3.8 or more on my E8400 after I get better ram. As far as upgrading goes, my E8400 handles everything I hit it with just fine, no upgrade needed.

Doesn't mean I won't want to upgrade soon.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: Voyager News Archived News Items 0 05-26-12 06:00 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: Deep Space Nine News Archived News Items 0 05-19-12 11:20 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Star Trek: The Next Generation News Archived News Items 0 05-12-12 12:00 PM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.